We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heck no” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 First Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #167 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Secret usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Heck no”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Price was good but the room was the size of a closet and I'm not talking about a walkin. The parking sucked and it was full so had to park on street until space came open (they said they would refund me 17.00 but I still haven't seen it) my room was still dirty when I checked in Luke the manager said he would move me but I was beyond tired to do that so I asked for a sheet to lay on which was given to me the front desk were wonderful I loved the lady that checked me in her and Luke and the Asian guy with glasses looked so cute up there like the three amigos but I'm still mad that he didn't discount or come look at the mess I was describing but I took pics and corporate will receive them shortly

Room Tip: If u like space and easy parking this isn't the place for u
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmediacoord, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review about your experiences at the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown. Your comments help us to constantly improve our hotel and exceed our guest’s expectations. I am so sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations and our offer to move you to another room was not a sufficient solution. I remember speaking with you at the front desk, as you spoke so highly of the service that you received at check-in. As to your parking charge issue, we did waive your parking as stated, so you were never charged. Thank you again for your feedback and if you find yourself in San Diego again, we hope to have the opportunity to ensure you have a great stay.

Luke Daehlin, Guest Relation Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    75
    55
    21
    7
See reviews for
49
48
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I just booked a reservation at the Four Points Sheraton San Diego Downtown and had to call to change a date. The associate "LUKE" was exceptional. A perfect reflection of outstanding customer service. I haven't arrived there yet for the the 6 night stay, but if my stay is anything close to the service I recieved over the phone with "LUKE", I am sure my stay will be magical. I have been a supervisor at a Westin property and a Sheraton property and I hope all my associates can be the mirror of "LUKE" - Thank you Four Points for having such a great agent. Looking forward to my stay.

Room Tip: I arrive tomorrow but can't wait
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmediacoord, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review about the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown. Your incredibly positive comments are a shining example of the quality of service that we provide here. It was a pleasure speaking with you on the phone and you were a delight to help. I know that you and your daughter thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and that we took every opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations. Please visit us again soon!

Luke Daehlin, Guest Relation Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Taking into consideration that hotels in San Diego are quite expensive, sleeping in Four Points Downton was great. It is just 10 minutes walking to the harbour and 20 minutes away from the furthest point you will visit as a tourist. Just go down 1st avenue and you will be anywhere you want.

The only possible problem is that there are no restaurantes near de hotel (But you can buy something at the gas station just crossing the street)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear our central downtown location met all your San Diego travel needs. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had some Starwood points to use up, so chose this hotel, whose circular shape had intrigued me for years. We paid extra points to have a room on the top floor with an extra large window, and the view of the bay, city, and airport was spectacular. We left the curtains open all night so when we woke we could see out. But besides this, the service at the desk when we checked in was slow and begrudging. We paid $17 to park, and at night the parking lot was full. Fortunately, we found someone who was leaving and waited 10 minutes while he maneuvered his large van out of the small spaces. The tiny deli did provide surprisingly good sandwiches. But I know we won't return here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colby, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was my first time in California and not knowing anyone we were greeted with open arms and friendly faces by all staff. We didn't drive so the young men who drove us to and from went out of their way to accommodate us. The front desk people were extremely helpful and polite. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and the restaurant crew and food was out of this would fabulous. One suggestion head over to MCRD and let them know about you. The closeness of the hotel to them and the airport and to several different places within walking distance, make no sense to stay anywhere but here. Watch the price because most of the people are coming to see their Marine money is tight. special prices will catch them every time! It is great to have your free shuttle, pool , restaurant/bar, and clean and beautiful rooms and your special little perks you gave us. Really your staff is wonderful. BE PROUD . I would stay here again if I could. Thanks Scot and Virginia Carver and PFC Brenn.

Room Tip: Ask for Amanda! She's great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Congratulations to your son for his graduation from MCRD Marine Corps! Thank you for your kind comments regarding our welcoming staff, and we are delighted to hear your first time in California was so memorable. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations with a friendly and helpful staff by providing the upmost in service. I have shared your comments with the staff and look forward to welcoming you back during your second trip to California.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A cylindrical hotel in a lovely downtown area near the most beautiful bay..... So how could it go wrong? The hotel is situated right next to a major highway/motorway and one of the off ramps wraps around the building. It's very hard to drive into and almost impossible to drive out without being forced down the highway/motorway on ramp. The room was tiny. No proper bathroom door, just a sliding screen. The cafe/coffeeshop was a strange and expensive place. The staff were uninterested. They tried to charge me for 3x the days for parking fee. Not really close enough to walk easily to any of the attractions, and there are some 'less than desirable' areas to walk through, due to its location. The pool is tiny, impossible to do laps. Just don't do it. So many other choices. Ruined our holiday. Yuck

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, as feedback is valuable in constantly improving our guest experience. I am sorry to hear we fell short of your expectations, as we strive to provide our guests with a great location and comfortable accommodation with every stay. I have addressed the issues you stated with the front desk and restaurant departments, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to earn back your patronage. Please contact me if you have any questions or would like to discuss your stay further.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the 2nd consecutive year prior to/at the beginning of Comic Con. The 2013 visit was for the Wednesday 7/17. My CC plans changed and I needed one additional night so this hotel fit the bill.

What i really appreciated is, having arrived very early (930 or so), being accommodated to a room as I totally would have understood if told to come back later. This was city #2 of a vacation and my only choice was early-morning arrival in order to do the CC preview night. Add that to that fact that i was recuperating from a broken foot (so taking it easy), the early checkin really helped.

Room was very comfy and quiet despite being on lower floor. As with last year, staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful from front desk to shuttle driver. My only feedback is that the communication regarding airport shuttle ETA needs to be more realistic (longer wait isnt cool when traveling for hours -- just be accurate, I appreciate the shuttle) -- then again a free shuttle is a great amenity. Specific to staff, kudos again to Bertha at the front desk who is absolutely wonderful and to your on-site manager who was personally greeting CC guests to make sure they were taken care of.

Would definitely stay here again and again. Great location as well...up the hill from Little Italy plus short walk from downtown core (bus line runs on 1st/2nd Aves if you're getting a pass anyhow). Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and your continued loyalty to the Four Points San Diego Downtown during your yearly Comic Con trip! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our comfortable and quiet rooms and were able to accommodate your early arrival needs. We look forward to welcoming you back during Comic Con 2014.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Address: 1617 First Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently-renovated Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown is located minutes away from Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, and Seaport Village. We also offer a free shuttle to/from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.