We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel. Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 First Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #169 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel. Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Taking into consideration that hotels in San Diego are quite expensive, sleeping in Four Points Downton was great. It is just 10 minutes walking to the harbour and 20 minutes away from the furthest point you will visit as a tourist. Just go down 1st avenue and you will be anywhere you want.

The only possible problem is that there are no restaurantes near de hotel (But you can buy something at the gas station just crossing the street)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear our central downtown location met all your San Diego travel needs. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    62
    51
    20
    4
See reviews for
44
42
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had some Starwood points to use up, so chose this hotel, whose circular shape had intrigued me for years. We paid extra points to have a room on the top floor with an extra large window, and the view of the bay, city, and airport was spectacular. We left the curtains open all night so when we woke we could see out. But besides this, the service at the desk when we checked in was slow and begrudging. We paid $17 to park, and at night the parking lot was full. Fortunately, we found someone who was leaving and waited 10 minutes while he maneuvered his large van out of the small spaces. The tiny deli did provide surprisingly good sandwiches. But I know we won't return here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colby, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was my first time in California and not knowing anyone we were greeted with open arms and friendly faces by all staff. We didn't drive so the young men who drove us to and from went out of their way to accommodate us. The front desk people were extremely helpful and polite. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and the restaurant crew and food was out of this would fabulous. One suggestion head over to MCRD and let them know about you. The closeness of the hotel to them and the airport and to several different places within walking distance, make no sense to stay anywhere but here. Watch the price because most of the people are coming to see their Marine money is tight. special prices will catch them every time! It is great to have your free shuttle, pool , restaurant/bar, and clean and beautiful rooms and your special little perks you gave us. Really your staff is wonderful. BE PROUD . I would stay here again if I could. Thanks Scot and Virginia Carver and PFC Brenn.

Room Tip: Ask for Amanda! She's great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Congratulations to your son for his graduation from MCRD Marine Corps! Thank you for your kind comments regarding our welcoming staff, and we are delighted to hear your first time in California was so memorable. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations with a friendly and helpful staff by providing the upmost in service. I have shared your comments with the staff and look forward to welcoming you back during your second trip to California.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A cylindrical hotel in a lovely downtown area near the most beautiful bay..... So how could it go wrong? The hotel is situated right next to a major highway/motorway and one of the off ramps wraps around the building. It's very hard to drive into and almost impossible to drive out without being forced down the highway/motorway on ramp. The room was tiny. No proper bathroom door, just a sliding screen. The cafe/coffeeshop was a strange and expensive place. The staff were uninterested. They tried to charge me for 3x the days for parking fee. Not really close enough to walk easily to any of the attractions, and there are some 'less than desirable' areas to walk through, due to its location. The pool is tiny, impossible to do laps. Just don't do it. So many other choices. Ruined our holiday. Yuck

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, as feedback is valuable in constantly improving our guest experience. I am sorry to hear we fell short of your expectations, as we strive to provide our guests with a great location and comfortable accommodation with every stay. I have addressed the issues you stated with the front desk and restaurant departments, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to earn back your patronage. Please contact me if you have any questions or would like to discuss your stay further.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the 2nd consecutive year prior to/at the beginning of Comic Con. The 2013 visit was for the Wednesday 7/17. My CC plans changed and I needed one additional night so this hotel fit the bill.

What i really appreciated is, having arrived very early (930 or so), being accommodated to a room as I totally would have understood if told to come back later. This was city #2 of a vacation and my only choice was early-morning arrival in order to do the CC preview night. Add that to that fact that i was recuperating from a broken foot (so taking it easy), the early checkin really helped.

Room was very comfy and quiet despite being on lower floor. As with last year, staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful from front desk to shuttle driver. My only feedback is that the communication regarding airport shuttle ETA needs to be more realistic (longer wait isnt cool when traveling for hours -- just be accurate, I appreciate the shuttle) -- then again a free shuttle is a great amenity. Specific to staff, kudos again to Bertha at the front desk who is absolutely wonderful and to your on-site manager who was personally greeting CC guests to make sure they were taken care of.

Would definitely stay here again and again. Great location as well...up the hill from Little Italy plus short walk from downtown core (bus line runs on 1st/2nd Aves if you're getting a pass anyhow). Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and your continued loyalty to the Four Points San Diego Downtown during your yearly Comic Con trip! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our comfortable and quiet rooms and were able to accommodate your early arrival needs. We look forward to welcoming you back during Comic Con 2014.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I recently traveled to San Diego for the weekend. It was my first trip to the city. I enjoyed my stay at Four Points. I loved that the hotel provided a free shuttle to and from the airport. Check-in was a bit on the slow side when we arrived, but Jennifer, our check-in rep was very attentive and helpful. It was late and we wanted to get a bite to eat and she was able to direct us to restaurants within walking distance.

The rooms aren't very large, but efficient and the beds are very comfortable. You'll find general amenities on site like access to a safe in your room, coffee (which is pretty good), free WiFi (a service I think all hotels should offer for free), fitness center (didn't use), outdoor pool, restaurant and more. Overnight parking is only $17.

It's downtown location puts you close to some popular San Diego sites. I liked that we were within walking distance to San Diego's Little Italy. Very good Italian and I recommend dining their one night while it town.

Four Points was a good value for the money and I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again in future travels,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your first trip to San Diego and were able to explore Little Italy with its close proximity to our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we look forward to welcoming you when your travels bring you back to sunny San Diego.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nv
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel was nice. It was a little confusing when registering. There were mostly handicap parking outfront. The registration area is small. The room was fine. The bed was comfortable. We really enjoyed the Bay View as you can see the bay and also see the airport. We also left Sea World early because we were able to see there fireworks from our hotel room. The location was great. We had no problem getting to where we needed to go. Con: The water pressure in the shower was not very strong and the parking at the location was a little scary. You really have to be careful when going up or down the ramps for the parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your stay at the Four Points San Diego Downtown. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our Bay View room and the location provided you with access to all the great San Diego attractions. I have shared your comments with the maintenance department and corrected the issue you encountered with the water pressure during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Address: 1617 First Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently-renovated Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown is located minutes away from Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, and Seaport Village. We also offer a free shuttle to/from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.