We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 First Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #163 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Beaumont, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here for the Rock N Roll San Diego Marathon. Location was great, within easy walking distance to Little Italy, Gas Lamp District, Convention Center and Balboa Park. Hotel staff went above and beyond to make my stay very welcoming from check in to special orders in the cafe. Room was spacious and updated. The bed was very comfortable and love the assortment of pillows. Overall a great experience and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for your stay during the Rock N Roll San Diego Marathon. We are glad to hear our location, room and staff made your stay a great experience. We hope to see you again soon and for next year’s Rock N Roll Marathon!

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    79
    56
    22
    7
See reviews for
50
50
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. It was centrally located, close to the Gas Lamp District and Balboa Park. The staff was very accommodating, even when we showed up 5 hours before check in time! They immediately searched for an open room and got us right in. The parking garage was well worth the $17 a day charge, even if it was pretty tight turns. One night when we came back the lot was full, but they put us in a hotel use only spot, no problem. Room was clean, room service was great. They brought us towels very quickly and every staff member we interacted with was super nice. I am smoker and they have a small area outside with chairs and tables for that use. We didn't use the pool, but saw lots of people using it. All in all, a great hotel with superb staff.

Room Tip: We asked for a floor high up so we could get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having been to San Diego multiple times, I prefer to stay at the North end of town, near Little Italy. This hotel was in a bit of a weird location, near the highway entrance, but walking just a couple of blocks puts you right in the middle of Little Italy. The hotel building is older but it's been recently remodeled. For the price I paid, it was a good deal.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing us for your stay near Little Italy, as we know there are many options when traveling to San Diego. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband, 20 month old daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights last week. It is a circular building which makes the rooms small and the parking horrific. The parking situation alone would make us not stay here again. It's a very hard lot to park in. The room was ok, a bit old and tired. I found a couple of hairs in the tub when we arrived which makes me wonder how well they clean the rooms between guests. And the first morning my daughter had a diaper leak, I removed the blanket she stained from the the bed. I put a note of apology on the blanket and explained what happened. That night when getting into bed I realized they put the dirty blanket back on the bed. Yuck.

The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. One lady in particular went out of her way to help me with directions and give us bottles of water for my daughter.

The location isn't great for walking to the water and the gas lamp district. It's about a 20 minute walk. We knew this booking it, but I just wanted to mention it for others. I thought we'd be able to walk to balboa park but it was about a 35 min walk to the edge of the park, and not close to the museums. So we had to take the bus. Which was fairly easy and quite the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We regret to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with the staff to ensure the issues are corrected. We hope to have the opportunity to earn back your patronage during your next family trip, and show you the high level of service we strive for with all our guests. Please contact me if you have any questions or would like to discuss your stay further.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I normally stay here for business as per my company's decision. I wanted to stay there as I like the location and front desk staff. They have free shuttle service to and from the airport. The van driver, Francisco, was wonderful to us. My husband suffered a stroke over a year ago and is still paralyzed on the right side, walks with a cane and has mobility issues. Francisco recognized me and I introduced my husband. Immediately Francisco assessed the situation and went out of his way to make sure he got into the van safely and asked my husband of what else he could do to assist him. He went out of his way for us our entire stay and made sure we were taken of. The front desk staff was also very nice, helpful and knowledgeable. We were given a handicap room with a large window and a great view of the city. The room was great. Clean, quiet, and easy for him to maneuver around safely. There is a small area near the lobby where you can order food to eat there or to go. They sell beer and wine which is nice as well. We ate breakfast and dinner there during our stay and were quite surprised how good the food was. Location is great. Walking distance to Little Italy and the Harbor. We had to use taxi service most of the time so location kept fares low. We really like this hotel. This was the first time my husband traveled since his stroke. This memorable occasion was a great experience thanks to the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Rooms across from elevators tend to be a bit noisy as in all hotels. Ask for a view of the harbor. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments and review of your stay. We are delighted to hear we were able to accommodate your needs and provide a memorable experience. The staff and I look forward to your future stays with us and look forward to helping you and your husband continue to build more great memories. If I may ever assist with future reservations please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a great time at the Downtown San Diego Four Points! Beautiful room and views. Excellent service. The front desk was friendly and helpful. We booked our stay on priceline but due to unforeseen circumstances... flat tire in the middle of nowhere! we had to check-in a day later but couldn't be refunded. The manager made it up to us with discounts with our stay. Saved our vacation! We were given VIP passes to popular downtown restaurants when I asked about good food nearby. One night during our stay, we were so comfortable in our room that we ordered out and had the food delivered to our room! Great location too. We were minutes away from Sea World, the Zoo, and Chubasco 2 Fishing. Breakfast was good too, nothing fancy but honestly, we usually hit up local eats when we travel. Anyhow, I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for your stay at the Four Points San Diego Downtown. We always strive to exceed expectations with every stay, and are happy to hear we accomplished that goal during your vacation. We appreciate your business, as we know there are many options in San Diego, and will be happy to welcome you back again soon!

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. Close to the places to eat and also close to the Harbor. We really enjoyed our stay here. We had problems with our reservations due to Priceline, but Amanda at the front desk quickly made eveything right and went out of her way to make us comfortable. Thank you Amanda!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Four Points San Diego Downtown. I have shared your feedback with the staff and Amanda, and we are happy to hear you felt comfortable and Amanda was able to correct your reservation issue quickly. We strive to provide a high level of service to all our guests, and are happy to hear that goal was reached. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Address: 1617 First Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently-renovated Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown is located minutes away from Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, and Seaport Village. We also offer a free shuttle to/from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.