We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel location a bit wierd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 First Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #170 of 269 hotels in San Diego
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel location a bit wierd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

this was a good hotel, a bit outdated in terms of style had the basics of everything, free wifi.
location was a bit odd it was like being on a roundabout not much around, however if you had a car then it was fine near freeway entrance. it is a business hotel it doesn't have a great swimming pool it doest have a gym with great access so if you are looking to chill at the hotel this is not the hotel to go for however if you want somewhere nice to sleep then its fine.

We only parked one day in their car park but they charged us for the total stay and I had to ring them to get that sorted.

their shampoo and shower gel dispensers didn't work. I had my own but still some people use them

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, regarding your stay at the Four Points San Diego Downtown. We sincerely apologize for the issue you experienced with the parking, and for the inconvenience this caused you. We are happy to hear we were able to resolve the issue and hope you will allow us the opportunity to earn back your patronage, as your feedback has allowed us to take the proper steps in ensuring this does not happen in the future. Please contact me if you have any questions or would like to discuss your stay further.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    67
    54
    20
    5
See reviews for
47
43
9
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NASHVILLE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a perfectly good hotel but not as chic as some Starwood hotels I've stayed in. I have stayed at Starwood hotels that blew this one away. That being said, I can't remember what the price difference was but I'm guessing plenty. The bed is comfortable and the room is clean. There's a convenient place to get breakfast & dinner (including mixed drinks) in the lobby which you can't beat. The food prices were typically ridiculous, but normal for So. Cal. stop and shop type items (banana, juice, oatmeal, eggs). The front desk girls were a bit ditzy in my experience, giving me the longest answers for simple questions (directions, late checkout, etc.). Could've been just the gal (she said "it's early" at 8am), but don't look for concierge service here. Nothing to complain about - didn't have to park - and the location is quite decent. We walked everywhere we went around town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear we were able to provide you with convenient food options at our First Avenue Grill, along with a clean comfortable room. I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay. Feedback such as yours allows us to continue to improve our quality of service, and the issues you stated have been corrected by the staff. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back during your next trip to San Diego. Please contact me if you have any questions or would like to discuss your stay further.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, wy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The reservation process was satisfactory. Parking at this hotel is a bit of an issue. Of course it is located downtown and that means parking in a central garage and then walking a bit to work your way to your room. This hotel is built in the shape of a cylindrical tower. Therefore rooms are shaped in wedges and were small in size compared to the price. There is no restaurant in the hotel. We were not pleased overall. The front desk staff did suggest a great place for breakfast off site.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet the high standards of service we strive to provide our guests with every stay. As you stated, we are located in downtown San Diego, a central location for many attractions, restaurants and more. I am glad the staff was able to give you great suggestions for breakfast and hope you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations during your next visit. Please contact me if you have any questions or would like to discuss your stay further.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srinagar, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It is a shame that good hotels don't get as many reviews as the bad ones do so it is important to highlight the hotels that actually do a good job. This place is one of those. as an SPG gold member I always have high expectations from the Starwood brand and they almost always meet my expectations which is an absolute delight. This hotel has one of the best hotel staff I have ever met...Extremely helpful and knowledgeable staff members.

There was some confusion about the parking charges so please be aware that they actually charge you for parking.

rooms don't have much of a view unfortunately as the surrounding skyscrapers block that; however, you can still see a bit of the Bay Area from the higher floors. As with most downtown hotels in the US rooms are but small and the restaurant timings are a bit off. Good location it is both close to the waterfront as well as the downtown core. Overall, loved it and definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: FREE WiFi but paid parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and glowing review of our hotel and staff. We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and are delighted to hear we accomplished that goal and met your expectations. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and thank you for your continued support of the Starwood brand.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a little biased because we usually stay at luxury hotels but my father booked this room for us as a gift. We checked in with low expectations, but were pleasantly surprised to find our room on the 15th floor had a lovely, comfortable bed. The luxury ended there, but frankly the bed is the most important part isn't it? The shower had good water pressure, although the wall-mounted shampoo/conditioner dispensers kind of grossed me out - happy I had my own toiletries along. Parking was free (negotiated that), as was the in-room wireless and decent coffee in the morning. One lamp on the desk did not work, and the toilet was problematic (first running, then not flushing at all -- hubby fixed it). Overall, the location really made this great for us and for one night it was totally fine but on our next trip to San Diego we'll book ourselves into a 4 or 5 star hotel to get the type of accommodations we are accustomed to.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor since the hotel is right by several major roads/highways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. It is with feedback like yours that we are able to constantly improve service to all our guests. We sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. These issues have been corrected by the proper departments and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to welcome you back during your next trip to San Diego.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was a very nice hotel with very courteous front desk close to downtown San Diego. A good 1 minute walk to the gas lamp quarter. Rooms were very well appointed, comfortable and a high standard of housekeeping was evident. Carpark is secure and floors alternate with vending machine and ice machine. The gym is small and great for an extrovert ( glass windows ), but this seems to be all the fashion now. Nice small pool. A coffee shop next to reception is quite good and free coffee in the foyer. They seem to have quite a few seminars / business presentations etc there and would also work well for Corporate stays. Can't really fault this hotel in a town that you have to be very careful where you stay. Thanks Four Points - we would definitely stay with you again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel is in a great location if you like to be just close enough, yet away from all the action. One of the staff there Amanda, was exceptionally courteous and helpful. The hotel would have gotten an excellent, but I had an issue at check-in. Even so I called the general manager Tim and I was very impressed with how he handled the situation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, as feedback like yours allows us to constantly improve our service. I have shared your feedback with the staff, and am glad to hear I was able to assist you with the issue you encountered at check-in. We hope to see you again soon and have the opportunity to exceed your expectations and earn that excellent mark during your next trip.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Address: 1617 First Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently-renovated Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown is located minutes away from Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, and Seaport Village. We also offer a free shuttle to/from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.