We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bed, room - not typical Starwood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 First Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #164 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
NASHVILLE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice bed, room - not typical Starwood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was a perfectly good hotel but not as chic as some Starwood hotels I've stayed in. I have stayed at Starwood hotels that blew this one away. That being said, I can't remember what the price difference was but I'm guessing plenty. The bed is comfortable and the room is clean. There's a convenient place to get breakfast & dinner (including mixed drinks) in the lobby which you can't beat. The food prices were typically ridiculous, but normal for So. Cal. stop and shop type items (banana, juice, oatmeal, eggs). The front desk girls were a bit ditzy in my experience, giving me the longest answers for simple questions (directions, late checkout, etc.). Could've been just the gal (she said "it's early" at 8am), but don't look for concierge service here. Nothing to complain about - didn't have to park - and the location is quite decent. We walked everywhere we went around town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REBECCA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear we were able to provide you with convenient food options at our First Avenue Grill, along with a clean comfortable room. I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay. Feedback such as yours allows us to continue to improve our quality of service, and the issues you stated have been corrected by the staff. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back during your next trip to San Diego. Please contact me if you have any questions or would like to discuss your stay further.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cody, wy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The reservation process was satisfactory. Parking at this hotel is a bit of an issue. Of course it is located downtown and that means parking in a central garage and then walking a bit to work your way to your room. This hotel is built in the shape of a cylindrical tower. Therefore rooms are shaped in wedges and were small in size compared to the price. There is no restaurant in the hotel. We were not pleased overall. The front desk staff did suggest a great place for breakfast off site.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarriorinCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet the high standards of service we strive to provide our guests with every stay. As you stated, we are located in downtown San Diego, a central location for many attractions, restaurants and more. I am glad the staff was able to give you great suggestions for breakfast and hope you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations during your next visit. Please contact me if you have any questions or would like to discuss your stay further.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Srinagar, India
Level Contributor
201 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It is a shame that good hotels don't get as many reviews as the bad ones do so it is important to highlight the hotels that actually do a good job. This place is one of those. as an SPG gold member I always have high expectations from the Starwood brand and they almost always meet my expectations which is an absolute delight. This hotel has one of the best hotel staff I have ever met...Extremely helpful and knowledgeable staff members.

There was some confusion about the parking charges so please be aware that they actually charge you for parking.

rooms don't have much of a view unfortunately as the surrounding skyscrapers block that; however, you can still see a bit of the Bay Area from the higher floors. As with most downtown hotels in the US rooms are but small and the restaurant timings are a bit off. Good location it is both close to the waterfront as well as the downtown core. Overall, loved it and definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: FREE WiFi but paid parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingjkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and glowing review of our hotel and staff. We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and are delighted to hear we accomplished that goal and met your expectations. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and thank you for your continued support of the Starwood brand.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a little biased because we usually stay at luxury hotels but my father booked this room for us as a gift. We checked in with low expectations, but were pleasantly surprised to find our room on the 15th floor had a lovely, comfortable bed. The luxury ended there, but frankly the bed is the most important part isn't it? The shower had good water pressure, although the wall-mounted shampoo/conditioner dispensers kind of grossed me out - happy I had my own toiletries along. Parking was free (negotiated that), as was the in-room wireless and decent coffee in the morning. One lamp on the desk did not work, and the toilet was problematic (first running, then not flushing at all -- hubby fixed it). Overall, the location really made this great for us and for one night it was totally fine but on our next trip to San Diego we'll book ourselves into a 4 or 5 star hotel to get the type of accommodations we are accustomed to.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor since the hotel is right by several major roads/highways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. It is with feedback like yours that we are able to constantly improve service to all our guests. We sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. These issues have been corrected by the proper departments and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to welcome you back during your next trip to San Diego.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was a very nice hotel with very courteous front desk close to downtown San Diego. A good 1 minute walk to the gas lamp quarter. Rooms were very well appointed, comfortable and a high standard of housekeeping was evident. Carpark is secure and floors alternate with vending machine and ice machine. The gym is small and great for an extrovert ( glass windows ), but this seems to be all the fashion now. Nice small pool. A coffee shop next to reception is quite good and free coffee in the foyer. They seem to have quite a few seminars / business presentations etc there and would also work well for Corporate stays. Can't really fault this hotel in a town that you have to be very careful where you stay. Thanks Four Points - we would definitely stay with you again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davealex67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel is in a great location if you like to be just close enough, yet away from all the action. One of the staff there Amanda, was exceptionally courteous and helpful. The hotel would have gotten an excellent, but I had an issue at check-in. Even so I called the general manager Tim and I was very impressed with how he handled the situation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TimothyCraney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, as feedback like yours allows us to constantly improve our service. I have shared your feedback with the staff, and am glad to hear I was able to assist you with the issue you encountered at check-in. We hope to see you again soon and have the opportunity to exceed your expectations and earn that excellent mark during your next trip.

Tim Earp, General Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The location is good. It's very close to the airport and all tourist attractions while being in downtown.

Rooms are well managed and clean.

The staff is very friendly. The rooms are nice (a little small for 2 adults and 2 kids) but excellent value. San Diego is a fun city. We really enjoyed our stay and the Zoo in particular was spectacular.

The room service was good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordic1681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#141 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,441 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#117 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Address: 1617 First Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently-renovated Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown is located minutes away from Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, and Seaport Village. We also offer a free shuttle to/from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing