We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Handlery Hotel San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Handlery Hotel San Diego to your Saves list
Handlery Hotel San Diego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
A TripAdvisor Member
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2006

This hotel had a nice pool but was a bit tacky and tired looking. You really need a car if you are stopping here! Nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    227
    189
    85
    51
See reviews for
258
218
36
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

This hotel was in the package that I received from the travel agent. I was nervous about going to this hotel after reading the reviews. The hotel doesn't look like it does on the web site of the hotel. The Handlery is somewhat run down on the outside and the hotel lobby is outdated with furniture from the 70's.
I was surprised that the room we had was nice with balcony. The worse part of the entire trip was the parking,they charge 9.00 per day and I felt that was outrageous. There are no elevators in the building and you have to carry your luggage to the room up stairs. Iam sure in it's hay day it was upscale but it needs some remodeling. A elevator should be installed and ice machines should be at the end of each hallway.The staff was nice, but if I travel again I will not go back to this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

We pre-booked to stay here three nights. We arrived after a long day driving in heavy freeway Traffic from Los Angeles. Kids were tired and we appreciated the huge pool and large spa. The Fitness Centre also looked the part. The hotel is on a huge parcel of land with three lots of two storey units so no lifts to carry bags to the upper level. The room had a balcony but ours overlooked the pool pumps so some noise was evident 24 hours a day.

The Handlery is located out of San Diego and is in an area where there are many hotels on both sides of the freeway. There is pretty much nothing else there except hotels so you need a car to get there. To be charged $9.00 a day for parking was a bit much – I doubt many people would arrive at this hotel without a car. Also no breakfast provided – of course you could dine in at their restaurant. Many other hotels we saw in the area advertised Continental Breakfast provided. We did have room service for dinner one night and this was fine and good value.

Probably better hotels available in the same area known as Hotel Circle

Pros: Pool and Spa and balcony off room

Cons: Location – nothing there and having to pay for parking in the suburbs

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2005

We stayed at the Handlery for 3 nights from Oct 27 to Oct 30, 2005. Our family of 5 loved it. The room was a tad small for the rollaway cot but we made it work. I did tons of research before we left because we are a family of 5 ( 3 kids - 7, 15,18) and I work at a travel agency so my family expected me to get the best I could to fit our budget. They were impressed. I had wanted to get a hotel on the beach because it would add to our 'California Experience" but we really didn't have any extra time to spend on a beach, and for the price of a beach hotel we were able to rent a car and drive to Anaheim and see beaches there. Our patio was a great extension of our room, but a screen door would have been nice so we could leave it open nat night. Our view was ugly ( the roof around us) but we didn't really spend much time in our room. There was a small fridge and no microwave so making food in our room was not really an option. Internet is available - at a cost of $10 per day. The location of the hotel was perfect. In hotel circle, right at a City Trolley Tour stop ( we highly recommend taking the tour, it is a great way to see all of San Diego and the land/sea tour was great!). The hotel has a shuttle to Sea World, the return shuttle was at 4:30 and the park was open until 6, so we caught a cab back to the hotel and it only cost $7. The pool and hot tub were very nice. The restaurant has a great breakfast buffet although it is a bit pricey. From here we went to Anaheim and stayed at the Best Western Park Inn and Suites. If you found this review helpful and are heading to Disneyland, check out the other review too.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2005

Recently spent 3 days in San Diego and stayed at Handlery Resort, found the rooms and service the best we have ever stayed at. The staff couldn't do enough for us. We are definately returning and will be staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2005

If we had read the reviews before booking we would have stayed elsewhere. As it was we went with low expectations and most of them were met. Uk prices are not as favourable as US so we paid too much for too little. Our package included an upgrade to a deluxe room and the staff had no idea what a deluxe room was (and we certainly didn't get one!)
Standards of cleanliness left a great deal to be desired and the restaurant's idea of cleaning a table was to wipe all the crumbs of the previous diners on to the floor! Rooms were superficailly cleaned. Staff were well meaning but poorly trained. There was no evidence of anyone giving them guidance. We asked the reception if there was a happy hour and were told they didn't know, the bar was 20 feet away and they didn't seem to realise that it might be good idea to find out for the future. The girl working behind the bar was great but we just wanted to drag the rest of the team to the computer to show them what Trip Advisor reviews were saying about them. Once again the parking fee now $9 a day is excessive since others don't charge one!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2005

Having read the previous reviews of this hotel we were really concerned and contacted the Hotel directly. Their response was rapid and gave us the reassurance we were looking for as we were two families travelling to San Diego for the first time. The Hotel and the staff were without fault. The rooms were spacious and cleaned to exceptional standards every day. The pool area was fantastic, safe and very clean. Food was great quality and the staff always willing to help and advise.
The location of the hotel was also great for exploring every area of San Diego with trolley buses, shopping and restaurants all within a close distance. would srongly recommend this Hotel and would return without hesitation.
Special thanks to Jimmy, a great help !

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Handlery Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Hotel San Diego

Address: 950 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Hotel San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Diego's Mission Valley, the family-owned and managed Handlery Hotel is just minutes away from Sea World, the famous San Diego Zoo, Old Town, museums, shopping, and miles of breathtaking beaches. The hotel is known for its convenient location, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Handlery Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Handlery Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Handlery Hotel San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.