We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Handlery Hotel San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Handlery Hotel San Diego to your Saves list
Handlery Hotel San Diego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Massachusetts
1 review
“Just what we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

We LOVE the Handlery! It was just what we needed, VERY easy to get to, wonderful informative help, easy parking, comfortable clean rooms very nicely renovated with lovely landscaping AND affordable!

Not knowing the area, it's central location was PERFECT! everything we needed was right at hand yet a nice peaceful setting to sit back and relax after a busy day.

Lovely and well maintained hotel, pool and Hot tub! you can not go wrong by booking your stay here.

The only downfall was the internet service was a hassle but was informed they are in the process of changing the service to better suit their customers needs AND adding a business office!

We took a gamble not knowing the area and WON!

Thank you Handlery!
Denise and Michael Morgan

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    239
    197
    88
    53
See reviews for
270
236
36
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new haven, ct
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

Stayed at the Handlery for a week and found the accommodations better than we expected. The hotel staff was very accommodating, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the pool and pool area were enjoyable. Its location made accessing many of the San Diego attractions easy to get to. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to friends.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, MT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

The staff was fantastic before and during our stay 2/21-2/23 and again 3/2/08. The hotel staff was great with reservations and answering all of our questions. They took their time and were very friendly. The shuttle was also perfect, we were able to take the shuttle to and from the cruise ship terminal, Sea World, the Zoo and the Mall. The mall was a 15 min walk after shuttle hours. The property is a little dated and second floor room are a little difficult if you have lots of bags. I would stay again. The room rates are good and the staff really goes above and beyond. From from desk, to reservations to the shuttle drivers. Thanks Dirk.

  • Liked — Shuttle
  • Disliked — Dated
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

My first trip out to San Diego CA
and I was lucky to have stayed at the Handlery hotel and Resort.
The friendly staff was Excellent in ensuring prompt, customer service, the check in process lasted 10 sec. I highly recommend this hotel and hope your experience in San diego is what you dreamed.

  • Liked — Friendly staff/ Resturant
  • Disliked — visit was too short
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

My boyfriend surprised me with a 3-night stay in San Diego at the Handlery Hotel Feb. 7-10. The hotel was easy to find right off I-8, though even in the lobby (that is just a block from the highway) there was no street noise. We requested a pool-view room, and had a nice, quiet little balcony that overlooked the Jacuzzi. The room was spacious, with an especially high ceiling, and the bathroom was clean and looked as to have been recently remodeled.

The Handlery’s complimentary shuttle to area attractions was GREAT, saved us the parking $ when going to the zoo, and provided a good little overview of the city from the driver. It was very nice to have a shuttle that left on time from the hotel and picked us up at EXACTLY the time they said. We have found this to be a seldom occurrence with other free shuttles.

Our first night we had dinner at the hotel’s Postcards restaurant and were pleasantly surprised by the sophistication and elegance of the menu options! The salads were wonderful, and our steak was top-notch. Good atmosphere and décor as well. Also had breakfast at Postcards one morning and were just as satisfied!

The Handlery Hotel was overall a great value and a great stay, and the best part was its location. Close to the Zoo, the Cruise Ships and Whale Watching Harbor, Gas Lamp District, even the suburbs! We were very happy that the Handlery was centrally located for everything we wanted to do, and every staff member we encountered (front desk, restaurant, transportation) was especially friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

The Handlery is located on Hotel Circle, which makes it centrally located (by car) to the zoo, Old Town, Fashion and Mission Valley Malls, Sea World and so on. Check prices on the hotel's website, since they offer discounts there only, not available on other sites. But be aware that, like much of San Diego, there is a separate parking charge - $12 a night. I need to emphasize that this is very much the norm in San Diego, although there are some places, even on Hotel Circle, with no separate charge. You positively need to have a car. No car? Check out hotels in Old Town.

The room was comfortable enough but not exciting and adequate in size, but not sumptuous. Heat and AC both quite comfy. Skimpy on the amenities: one bar of soap and no replacements over our 2 night stay. I can't speak to the pool - it was rainy and about 45 F much of the time.

  • Liked — Comfortable and quiet
  • Disliked — Room too far from restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

We were welcomed at the hotel by very friendly reception staff who quickly and efficiently had us checked into our room.
Once we arrived at the room we were glad to see there was a balcony but very unhappy to see (and hear) the highway located almost right outside.
A quick trip back to the reception desk along with a small upgrade charge and we were moved to a much quieter room with a great view over the pool and hottub.
The rooms were comfortable although I'd love to see in room safety boxes added to them.
All staff members were friendly and helpful especially in the Lounge Bar where we dined most nights (love the bar menu try the Calamari)
Overall, I wouldn't recommend booking the base room type due to road noise, it's only a little extra to get the pool view and we loved the complimentary shuttle.
We'll be back!

  • Liked — Complimentary Shuttle
  • Disliked — Not many restaurants within walking distance
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, February 12, 2008
Dear Austraveller01 ,

Thank you for choosing the Handlery Hotel and Resort and for sharing your feedback. We greatly appreciate your kind comments.

We are glad you enjoyed our excellent customer service, wonderful pool area, and the complimentary shuttle transportation. While we recognize that there are limited restaurants located within walking distance, we do encourage our guests to utilize our complimentary shuttle and explore the dining choices San Diego has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Handlery Hotel soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Handlery Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Hotel San Diego

Address: 950 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Hotel San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Diego's Mission Valley, the family-owned and managed Handlery Hotel is just minutes away from Sea World, the famous San Diego Zoo, Old Town, museums, shopping, and miles of breathtaking beaches. The hotel is known for its convenient location, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Handlery Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Handlery Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Handlery Hotel San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.