We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel") (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #146 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2005

With the prices of San Diego hotels for the summer months, we were sure that the great price we received on this hotel meant we were going to get a terrible night's sleep or a dirty, small room, or even terrible service, but we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed here with our two year old for a couple of nights for a quick get-away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Although the room may need a little updating (nothing to complain about though!), our room was very comfortable and clean. We ordered room service and the food was delicious and brought within 30 minutes. The baby had a great time in their large pool and the spa was oversized as well. We had a wonderful stay and will definately keep this hotel on our list to stay at again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    234
    107
    69
    44
See reviews for
158
120
32
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2005

Having a comfortable bed is very important to me so they did well here.
The rooms were average size but this was with two queen beds.
We had a not so great location perhaps because we had a discounted room through an online travel site.
The extra sink outside the bathroom was nice to have. What keeps me from giving them a good review is the fact that there was a problem with the drain. By the end of your shower there was a couple inches of soapy water that took some time to drain so- no taking showers one after the other. We notified them by 10:30 and assumed they would take care of it.
WE got back and went straight to bed and the next morning realized it had not been fixed and they never said a thing. They should have told us and moved us if they couldnt fix it. I don't think anyone ever came. We had to
leave before 10:30 that morning so it was too late to do anything. I should think the people before us would have had the same problem.
Two years ago we were there for 4 days and loved our room up high with a view of a golf course and had not problems. I remembered we enjoyed the pool and grounds but it wasn't the same this time. The pool area is different from the pictures. There is now a white steel fence surrrounding the whole area right up to the concrete and it couldnt have been heated.
They did provide towels though. The Peacock restaurant is rather expensive for breakfast items.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2005

we spent three nights here and were a little disappointed because as it was so close to the freeway we could not walk anywhere easily,( the kids had thought they would walk to fashion valley a big mall quite close by )however the hotel did provide a courtesy shuttle but depending on the amount of people waiting was quite long. We had a huge room which was great but the noise from next door was unbearable til 4 a.m. security tried to quieten things but failed, however again the hotel tried to rectify the situation by moving us the next night. So overall there were problems but the hotel did try to accomodate our concerns

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2005

stayed here for 4 days with 2 boys ages 4 and 8. the hotel and grounds are well maintained and layed out for any vacationing family. we liked the choice of casual dining at the peacock or couple setting at the sushi bar. employees all seemed polite and the service was fine. the room was clean
and roomy enough for 4. only the ac unit seemed to give the room a damp smell due to the humidity. i expect most places would have the same problem this time of year. would rebook for our next trip back!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2005

Visited here in March 05, chose location because of centralized site to the major tourist spots! it worked out well, our drive to several places was a short drive, no more than 15-20 minutes. which is short for us. dont go here expecting this place to resemble Hawaii though. I should know we are from HI! But I loved this place, relaxing, nice staff, I will definitely return to this hotel on our return. Although the sushi bar is small, we liked the friendly sushi chef, for us in HI the sushi selections reminded us of back home!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2005

Nice hotel, but cramped rooms--especially compared to other similar quality, less expensive properties. The must or mold in the room upset my wife's asthma. We were situated near the spa, which is pretty loud late into the evening. The cable TV had some intermittent, but annoying problems with reception too. The food in the Islands restaurant was okay. Beware: parking is $10 extra per day. The positive side is that the hotel accepts large dogs, but for the money and experience I would recommend the nearby Sheraton (which also accepts large dogs).

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2005

I loved this hotel for my second visit to San Diego. Not located next to the gas lamp but I know my way around alot better this time. Loved the Polynesian theme, especially since I went with my girlfriend. The glass elevators are a great plus. Safe neighborhood, freeway close.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Address: 2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#90 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN)and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions. Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches. Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital. Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types. During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mission Valley
Crowne Plaza San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.