We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comic con stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel") (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #147 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A comic con stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel website shows the beautiful lobby not the room buildings. Don't believe the website front page. The rooms are accessible as if living in an apartment complex. We stayed 3 nights. The queen sized beds felt as it needed to be replaced. You could feel the bed bend when you sat down to lay on it. The rooms were average. Not fancy or deluxe. There isn't a refrigerator for this deluxe room. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful with information. The staff gets 5 stars. The hotel room gets an average 3 stars. There is a pool, but I didn't get a chance to try it. There is a parking fee per day stayed of about $12. There isn't any security for the parking lot. There is a sign that states that they are not held responsible for theft of your vehicle or belongings. Parts of the parking lot are dark at night. Not enough lighting. The free breakfast felt like you were eating at a cafeteria in elementary school back in the 80s. Canned fruit is what I heard a lot of complaints about. Not worth being free. The overall visit was that we didn't stay here to be there all day. It was chosen because of availability during comic con.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Chris L,

We hope you had a great time at Comic Con 2013! Thank you for your 5 star rating of our excellent staff, and we appreciate your feedback about the property as we are always wanting to improve the guest overall experience.

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    233
    107
    69
    44
See reviews for
158
119
32
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is outdated, dirty, and generally terrible. They charge you for everything... Parking, computer usage. I'm a Platinum points member with holiday inn and I will never stay here again and plan to complain

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear spdrcr4278,

We are sorry for any inconvenience you had during your stay. If you never contacted management I encourage you to do so, we would like more information regarding your stay. As an IHG Platinum member you definitely qualify for free internet, parking and breakfast throughout your stay. We would like to look into your reservation as to why you never received these complimentary services. We hope you contact on us so we can make things right and invite you back to our hotel.

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a night because. It was great to go to the hotel the staff was nice. The hotel was fun, inside it had Tiki's, water fountain, and a fish pond, my kids loved looking at the fish. It was nice because I was traveling by myself with the kids and I felt safe with the gated area for parking. I was a little bummed about not having the internet connection, however, I was really to tired to even go on. I would definately go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear basketchix,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay! We were thrilled to read that you and your children had an excellent stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Diego.

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Be sure to stay in newer part of hotel because the older rooms smell like mold. Even the nice spray gift can't mask that scent.

Good breakfast buffet.

Sushi Bar was a surprise and decent.

The maids come super early (8am and 9am) so be sure to sign up if your on vacation

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear AdventurerMN,

We appreciate your feedback. The Director of Housekeeping will be looking closely into those rooms to ensure they are being ventilated and staying fresh.

Warmest Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I always try to stay in a Holiday Inn or Crown Plaza to take advantage of free internet and I am a Priority Club member. I stayed here for 5 days; booked through Expedia. Check in was smooth despite Comic Con.

I needed to get up-to-date information off the internet for a presentation the following day, but could not connect without paying a $10 fee per day to AT&T. First time not to have free internet at Holiday Inn or Crown Plaza.

Visited the front desk and politely asked for free internet and said I was a Priority Club member. She said if I was a Gold member I could get free internet. I presented my card which clearly shows I am a Gold member, but she entered my number and told me I was a Club member and presented me with a package to two cookies. Disappointed but not worth a $10 tantrum, I returned to my room and tried to log on.

Could not connect so I called the AT&T help desk. After a 45 minute wait, a polite representative took me through the steps needed to connect, but did not get a connection. After another long holding wait, I was told AT&T would not be able to get me connected that night.

All this kept me awake long into the am hours and still did not have the data needed. Poorly rested, I muddled through my presentation. But, the cookies were good.

Generally I give high ratings to these Hotels. Beds are comfortable, rooms clean and staff friendly. But this time the internet was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Nickolas Z,

We are sorry for the inconvenience you had with internet connection during your stay. AT&T is our internet provider and unfortunately they do not inform us when they install updates. We do offer free internet to all hotel guests in the business center which could have been an alternative while the WiFi was currently down. In January 2014 we will be providing free WiFi to all guests which will be the standard for all IHG properties.

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Came for Comic-Con and had 4 people. Our online reservation said 1 king bed but we called and easily switched to 2 queens. The front desk staff was nice in the morning but would not let us check in early. Came back that night and the guy at the desk was super helpful. We were pleasantly surprised to see a balcony over the pool area, a fridge and a microwave!
The first sheet on the bed did feel weird, kind of like paper, but the rest of the bedding was comfortable. The room was clean and tidy.
The middle of the hotel area is real pretty with a waterfall and greenery. The elevators are glass and in the center so you get a pretty view while using them.
I liked that if you don't want any maid service they will slip a $5 voucher under the door to thank you for being green. Of course this doesn't get you very far in their market but I love the idea.
The hot tub was the best feature, used it both nights after walking around Con all day. But they do definitely come around right at closing time and kick you out. There are towels provided for you by the pool and hot tub but the are so tiny and thin! You should bring your own or a bath towel from the room.
My only complaint is that the morning breakfast is only for 2 people and we had 4. That meant everyone could only go and eat together one day. Also, paying for parking really sucks but it saved me money to park there and take the shuttle, rather than parking by the convention center.
Also, by signing up for their free loyalty program they gave us a code to get free wifi which you would otherwise have to pay for.

Green Features: The hotel rewards you for opting out of maid service during your stay
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Amanda E,

What a great review! We appreciate all of your feedback and recommendations you give to future guests. We hope to see you again soon.

By the way, great picture of our waterfall!

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

First of all the front desk staff was very helpful. Nice 7th floor balcony overlooking the pool, spa, palm trees, and 8 freeway! Affordable, edible room service pizza deal. I liked the incentivized go green $5 voucher for not taking housekeeping. Pool/jacuzzi hours were a bit too restrictive for my liking. Maintenance and grounds workers were Johnny on the spot with issues of that sort. Easy access to other parts of San Diego. Entrance to property was challenging.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
Green Features: They at least give you something for being mindful.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear TehachapiWarren,

Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to read that you had a great stay and look forward having you stay with us again!

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Address: 2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#90 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN)and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions. Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches. Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital. Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types. During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mission Valley
Crowne Plaza San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.