We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food services change their minds in their hours. Found 3 spiders.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel") (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #139 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food services change their minds in their hours. Found 3 spiders.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling with our dog so we were unfortunately placed on the bottom floor when I was planning on asking to pay for an upgrade to a suite with a nice view. Our room was convenient and right next to the back door closest to the doggy area of the parking lot. It was upsetting we couldn't hang out on our patio cuz out dog could wonder to the neighbors patio PLUS there were cobwebs everywhere intertwined with the vines along the ground. During our stay we had to kill 3 spiders that somehow got into our room!
Being in the hospitality industry, ultimately things about the room did not bother me as much as the customer service. In the room the book said that room service was until 11pm after the restaurant closed at 10. I never saw the restaurant seating open. We were forced to sit at the bar. The food was ok the first time and was still able to order from the restaurant menu. The second time we went at 9 they said the restaurant closed at 8 and that we couldn't order the food. I couldn't even get a side of fries with my drink. I was really annoyed on that Saturday night.
The location of the hotel was difficult. There are no convenience stores or quick food places within 10 min and we always had to take the highway almost anywhere. The only upside for us is that it was easy for our small dog. I don't think I would stay here again for how much money I put in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear AshSaxton,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconveniences during your stay. We are a pet friendly hotel and not only do we want our guest to have a great experience here but also for their pet! The appropriate actions have been taken place to ensure future guest do not experience the same inconveniences as we have shared your comments with management and staff.

We hope you stay with us again so that we can provide the service we wished you received in the first place. Please let me know so that I may handle any requests personally.

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    222
    99
    61
    43
See reviews for
152
113
32
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

First, I normally don't take the time to write reviews. But I wanted to for this hotel! My family and I were originally booked for three nights because I had never stayed at a CP. I had read the reviews and was a bit worried about the noise and the guests but thought I'd give them a try anyways. After two nights, I booked the rest of our week stay here. The best thing about this hotel is its staff. Everyone we've encountered have been so friendly, helpful, gracious, and genuine. From management to house-keeping; Total class acts. Plus there is someone to help with a random question anytime of day or night it seems. The grounds are nicely kept and our room was very clean and user-friendly. The pool and jacuzzi felt nice and not "toxic" or over chlorinated. I almost never swim in hotel pools but my husband, son, and I have swam here each day. I also like the "greeness" of this place. You can tell they've made all sorts of energy-efficient updates from lighting to appliances and bathrooms. There are recying bins scattered throughout the floors. I haven't tried the restaurant yet but the little cafe is very convenient. The location is perfect, its a 5-15 minute drive to most any of the sites and beaches in the area. The shuttle here is awesome, for when we don't feel like driving the rental car. So thoughtful.

About some of the negative reviews, we didn't hear any noise from the other guests and I believe there is a convention crowd staying. And some have complained about the sheets and I will agree with them on that one, they are crisper than one would like but it's not that big of a deal to us. At least I know they are well-laundered.

Overall, I have been absolutely comfortable staying here. What more can I say, I am very picky about my facilities, I love this Crown Plaza. My family and I will stay here anytime we're in San Diego from now on.

B.Thomas

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, and I must say I was very pleased. Not only with the service and the friendliness of the staff, but it was very comfortable. The property is kept up beautifully. I would definitely stay here again. Very close to Old Town and not too far from the other attractions as well. We are frequent San Diego visitors, and this hotel will definitely be on my list to stay at again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Was pleased with over all stay. People were extremely nice (except one server in the restaurant) and helpful. Bed was the only disappointment. should be upgraded. Breakfast buffet was average at best, but was ample. Grounds were very clean. Beautiful landscaping and plantings through out. Also wasn't thrilled with the $12.00 per day parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

What kind of hotel that does not offer free parking for customer. I read some review here and people claim they have free parking. However they DO NOT GIVE YOU FREE PARKING. it is 12$ per day
If I knew they don't offer free parking I wouldn't stay here.

Room Tip: Find other hotel has free parking lot. Even 44$ per night has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear MikeDelfin0,

Thank you for your feedback. On the hotel website we do advertise the $12 parking fee. There are some exceptions for certain conference groups and Priority Club members that are Platinum/Gold that receive a discount on parking. The majority of the hotels in San Diego do have a parking fee while motels do not.

We hope that your stay was exceptional overall and we welcome you to stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights for a nearby conference, and was quite pleased with the experience. I was upgraded to the executive floor (free happy hour and continental breakfast included), which was a nice surprise. Rooms were good and quiet - the maids actually do not clean or disturb the guests on the exec floor until after 10 am, which is a very nice policy. There is good working space, bathrooms are functional, and air conditioning worked very well. Security is pretty good - you cannot access the executive floor without a key, and parking is limited to those that have a parking pass. Overall, I thought this was a pretty good hotel and I would stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get the executive floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear 55xxx,

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a comprehensive review on your recent stay. We are delighted you took advantage and enjoyed your upgrade to the Executive floor. We hope to see you again soon and keep providing you with exceptional service.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is not a good hotel. The crowd is sketchy, the restaurants are bad and staff inconsistent. Some of the front desk staff is great, one of the guys is terrible. Complaining the entire time we were checking in. Towels and sheets were stained and the carpet so filthy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear EricWB,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please accept my personal apologies for the disappointments you experienced with the quality of your room, coupled with the lack of service. These clearly did not meet the standards we strive for. We would love to welcome you back and have the opportunity to not only meet your expectations but to exceed them. We hope to have the chance to do so. Please don’t hesitate to contact me so that I may handle any special requests personally.

Sincerely,
Daniel Miranda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Address: 2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#90 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN)and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions. Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches. Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital. Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types. During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mission Valley
Crowne Plaza San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.