We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoking allowed at pool” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Smoking allowed at pool”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Although the hotel has been remodeled, the airconditioning units are quite loud, interfering with sleep. I assume they did not replace the units.
The fitness room is great and open 24 hours.
The pool, however, is unusable for nonsmokers. The hotel allows guests to smoke at the pool which I think is irresponsible given that secondhand smoke is a known cause of cancer.
Also, when I complained that I was not able to use the pool because of their policy, I was not given even a token discount. I complained as soon as the issue arose and again on departure. Hampton Inn has a 100% satisfaction guarantee. I wasn't expecting to not pay at all, but a small discount would have been nice since I was unable to use the pool due to their own policies.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    130
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
147
83
26
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
414 helpful votes 414 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Not close to downtown, but if you have a car and can overlook that ... there is no reason to stay anywhere else. Downtown hotels charge to park.
We arrived at 10:00 AM after an all night flight, and a drive down from LA. Kristin checked us right in. The room was standard-issue Hampton, but clean and comfortable. The TV was huge, although we didn't really watch it.
The pool looked inviting, but again, we didn't find time for it during our one night stay.
We liked: Souplanation, just down the street, the service (smiles from EVERYONE), the breakfast, the cleanliness, the lobby (great fish tank), the ample parking just outside the door.
We didn't like: Noise from Miramar until 9:00 PM. Not Hampton's fault ... and nothing they can do about it - just something to be aware of if you are a light sleeper.
I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed for four nights and enjoyed the location, the breakfast, the pool, and the comfortable rooms. We would stay here again. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and appropriately furnished.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

The hotel is very clean. The beds are very comfortable. The breakfast was more than adequate, and there was daily variety. The front desk staff was always welcoming, helpful, polite, and ready to serve. We would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Just returned from this hotel for family visit. Very good rate for San Diego, not too far from attractions, My only complaint is there are no blackout drapes on the window. The parking lot lights kept the room too light at night Bed very comfy nice flat screen TV. Had breakfast at Original Pancake House excellent is a few miles from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonsdkmgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
Thank you for your feedback on our property. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the lights in the parking lot and were unable to find the blackout curtains. I wanted to take a moment to clear up any confusion regarding them. They are available in each room, and are the third layer of window covering right after the sheers, they sometimes get tucked pretty close to the wall and are not very obvious. If you have any questions regarding them while you are a guest here, there is someone always available at the front desk to assist. Once again thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

I came to San Diego to bring my boyfriend to the Zoo - we go to the zoos around us all the time and I decided this would be a nice treat. The front desk man was very nice and efficient, and gave me my keys and told me where my room was located.

The room was much more than I expected it to be. Comfortable and HUGE bed, clean sheets, a sofa, a huge TV, and a giant bathroom were waiting in my room. There were plenty of towels, a bit of a small closet, but overall a great, spacious, clean room. No funky smells or anything of that sort, and no sounds from any rooms around us (which I know were occupied).

In the morning there was a breakfast buffet, which wasn't really impressive, but it was a "free" breakfast and it was all you can eat. Check out was easy and convenient. Overall, no one poked and prodded me too much, they weren't overwhelming and they accommodated me as I needed. I definitely like this hotel because of the location, the rooms, and because everything went very smoothly.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed here from 5/4-5/6. This was wonderful place to stay. I have never stayed at a Hampton Inn before and never intended on staying at one. After reading the reviews I figured I would give it a try. I was glad I did. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly at check-in. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. It had a big flat screen television. I was impressed with the free morning breakfast that was served each day. It included cereals, pastries, fruit, juices and there was also egg and sausage. This hotel is not close to any major attractions but is close to the freeway. I usually stay at Courtyards so this was a pleasant surprise. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.