We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our high expectations were met!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #11 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our high expectations were met!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wish all of our hotel experiences were as great as this one! This is by far the cleanest hotel we have been in when visiting San Diego, and we have stayed at several different price points up to $300/night. The staff are super friendly and helpful, even the GM was present and working behind the desk! We even had a little mix up with rooms when we first arrived and they had the whole ordeal straightened out in less than 5 minutes and were more than generous with the comps they provided to us (totally unexpected but super impressive; usually we have to argue with people to just make things right but they went above and beyond even for such a minor issue). We have 2 kids, one an infant, so cleanliness of the bathroom and floors are really important to us and this place exceeded all our expectations at such an amazing price. This will be our ONLY choice from now on. Our tween loved the size of the TV and hubby enjoyed the well equipped gym. Great location for us; we like to frequent La Jolla and the bay area plus there are plenty of shopping and eating options close by. The only slight criticism would be that breakfast time is pretty crazy, though they do a great job of trying to keep up amidst the chaos. We did notice several groups of people coming across the parking lot from the Ramada next door to enjoy the free breakfast so this seemed to add to the overcrowding (management may want to look into this). Nice pool, free parking, little "store" with snacks/supplies for sale. Great hotel with great staff, will come back again and again!

Room Tip: King size room with the sleeper sofa gives you more floor space during the day, then pull out at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    92
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
104
62
20
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
concord, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is very nice hotel. It is very close to Chinese restaurant. close to University of california at San Diego. Free breakfast is good. the free internet has weak signal. swimming pool is not big one , but fitness center is fine. room is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Brand New hotel with great amenities. Luxurious accommodations and lobby area. I highly recommend for business travelers and families alike. The breakfast service quality is great and staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel has very nice rooms and is in a good location. Enjoyed our stay very much. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was very good. Easy to get around San Diego from this location. Would stay again with family definitely!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Ideal hotel for visiting San Diego. Although a little out of centre, access to the near by freeway means that all key attractions are 10-15 mins drive away. This hotel seem to offer better value then many of the other hotels down town. Provides ample free parking.

Front desk-staff very welcoming and freely provided local information. Special thanks to them for arranging for my daughter's camera (which we had left behind and thought was lost) to be shipped promptly to the UK for us. Brilliant service.


Disappointed with cleanliness of rooms - i.e. dusty.

Good hot and cold choices for breakfast and coffee always available from lobby. However cramped lobby area for breakfast.

Room Tip: Over looking pool away from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here to attend a friends funeral. When making the reservation
I spoke with Sara.. Right from the first conversation she was great, very personable, accommodating, and knowledgeable with directions to different locations. The hotel is so clean which is a credit to the supervisor of housekeeping. Everyone is friendly, taking pride in the
work they do. It is a older hotel but does not look like it from the moment
you step into the lobby until you go to your room. Beautiful! The Aquarium in the lobby is an added feature. Stay there again in a minute!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The place is easy to find. The staff wonderful. The room very clean and bed sooo comfortable. Love the laptop table stand! The breakfast was great. The hotel so clean. love it!Cannot wait to come back to san diego and stay at this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
Hampton Inn San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn
Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.