We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #22 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Thousand Oaks, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights and were very pleased with our room, the facility and the staff. The "continental breakfast" was just right and the food was served hot. I love the "brisk coffee" to start the day. We stay here several times each year, and the facility's staff maintains a clean and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    111
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
124
70
23
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Loved this hotel. Stayed here with my husband for a romantic getaway on a Thursday evening. Went to football game at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego. This hotel was super convenient located only a few miles away from the Stadium. Easy access from the freeway. Would highly recommend!!!! Anyone looking for a place to stay close to Qualcomm Stadium this it he place you want to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fantastic staff. They were very friendly and helpful while we were there for the four days. The room was spotless, large, and was very modern. I liked how it had the thermostate on the wall next to the bed. It is so much nicer than the a/c units with the controls built into them. After a long day in San Diego, it was nice to come back to a clean room every night. The breakfast was very good each morning. There was a huge variety and it was kept stocked all the time. This was not the cheapest place we stayed at during our trip but you know what they say, "you get what you pay for." I would not hesitate at all to book here again if we came back to San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here three nights over the Labor Day weekend. We has no hesitation given the great reviews and were not disappointed. The front desk staff were excellent and so help pointing us to things to do and see and the hotel was everything we have e become accustomed to at Hampton Inn.

Despite a full hotel and a busy time at breakfast, the staff were fantastic and retained a sense of humour irrespective of all the demands by all the guests. Guy you were awesome and well deserve the award proudly displayed on the table at reception.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

When I travel for business I always look for a Hampton Inn. These hotel are always well kept, clean, and have a friendly staff. Our breakfast this trip was very good, and the coffee was great. This Hampton Inn is very close to our business location so was a perfect place to stay. It is also very easy to get to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room was spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable however, the double bed thing that seem to be the trend at many hotels should be rethought. Too small for two adults to sleep comfortably and there was plenty of room (sq.ft.) for two queens so I don't get the point. The breakfast was more than adequate with both hot and cold selections. Cold cereal, oatmeal with all the fixin's, eggs and bacon/sausage, danish, bagels, bread and a toaster, a waffle maker, fruit, a nice selection of juice, coffee and tea's. Seating was adequate and the two days we stayed there they were booked as it was move-in weekend for SDSU. The location was an easy commute, to the University, and close enough to all the other SD attractions. The pool seemed nice. I didn't use it but it appeared clean. Parking was plentiful, free, and safe. Plenty of restaurant choices nearby. Try Filippi's Pizza for great pizza and italian dishes. All you can expect from a hotel in this price category.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrigada, Guam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was very impressed with the friendly staff. My first stay at this hotel, it had good amenities, and a good breakfast selection. I stayed with my young children and they loved the pool. If I stayed longer I would have enjoyed the use of their 24hr fitness center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.