We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #27 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
barrigada, Guam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was very impressed with the friendly staff. My first stay at this hotel, it had good amenities, and a good breakfast selection. I stayed with my young children and they loved the pool. If I stayed longer I would have enjoyed the use of their 24hr fitness center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    122
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
144
77
25
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sacramento, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

our rooms air was dusty. i kept choking when taking a breath. the beds are tiny and very squeaky. we kept waking each other up. when i told the girl at check out about these problems, she just replied "OK i will tell the maintenance staff" , she mentioned nothing about their 100% guarantee. guarantee of what? what would that do for my stay?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I enjoyed my stay. Hotel was clean and everything was what you expect from a quality hotel. I loved the value. There was a cleaning lady who made my day by being so cheery so early in the morning. I will come back to this hotel. Next time i'll try the pool. Next time I will go early for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northridge, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The facility was nice and clean. Quiet and comfortable. Conveniently located next to freeway. access to freeway and exit is very close to the hotel. The pool was a little bit cold, needs to set up the temperature to higher warmer setting. continental breakfast is exactly what it is nothing more nothing less. I liked the waffle maker although the line was a little bit annoying specially when the guests have not brushed their teeth in the morning and has not washed their faces.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is among the tops for Hampton Inns which we find generally quite good. We took our 6 y/o grandson and stayed 3 nights. The evening desk clerk was probably the most friendly, welcoming person I have met in that position. He is knowledgeable about the area and made excellent recommendations. The hotel is kept up very well and is very clean. The room accommodated us with a king bed and a pull out sofa for our grandson. The bathroom was spotless with plenty of towels. Of course wi-fi is free. The breakfasts included in the room rate were excellent, including, to our delight, fresh fruit in abundance as well as different eggs and meat each day. My only complaint, and why I only gave 4 stars, is that the breakfast room is a bit small without sufficient tables. If there were a way to get out to the pool area easily, more people could be accommodated, especially with San Diego's nice weather.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I've stayed at many business hotels, and when I bring family with me, Hampton Inns almost always guarantee me a stress free stay. Great guest service, great amenities and just a wonderful place to relax. This one in San Diego was no exception. Awesome staff, nice rooms and no issues. Waffles rule!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are excellent and very comfortable. The staff was courteous and helpful. There is a quality fitness center with easy access and plenty of cardio choices. The breakfast was basic, bagels, bread, muffins, fruit, yogurt etc...but everything you would need for a quick start. An affordable, comfortable hotel with an excellent price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.