We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2013 SUMMER VACTION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #27 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GLENDALE,AZ, United States
1 review
“2013 SUMMER VACTION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

MY 2 DAUGHTERS LOVED THE WEATHER,STAFF RECOMENDED: La Jolla Cove. swimming with sea lions,tide pools,most BEAUTIFUL SUNSET EVER. At breakfast the staff was so attentive it seamed like we were at a restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    123
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
144
77
25
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very Good on the Room. Bed was very comfortable as usual for Hampton Inns. Room was very clean and everything in working order. Now for the things that made it just average (I am being kind) for this Hampton Inn. When we went down for breakfast it was VERY crowded. They only had one waffle iron so the line was horrible and we opted to not have a waffle (which is one of the things we look forward to having). San Diego can by a very busy place. Not sure why they would not have an extra waffle iron ready for those mornings when it is very busy and lines are long. We have stayed in enough Hampton Inns and have seen two waffle irons set up during breakfast. Seating was also very bad. The business center is right in the middle of the eating area so when we went to print out our boarding passes, we had no chairs to sit on at the computer tables because people had taken them to sit on to eat breakfast. Not a good set up. Plus the computer screens are there open for everyone to look at what you are working on. No privacy at all. When we went to print, it would not connect to the printer. The front desk kept asking us to close down and retry. After 3 tries the front desk finally helped us out and did it through her computer. If she was busy, I could understand her asking us to keep trying, but she wasn't, and as soon as there was a problem, she should have helped us out right away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very happy with all that the hotel had to offer. Most of the staff were very helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. Had a day at the pool which was kept clean and tidy. Our only niggle was that the water in our room was charged at $2 per bottle which we didn't realise until we checked out and was charged for it. At other hotels the water was complimentary.The breakfast is amazing and is well stocked and fresh. Great location for getting on the freeway . Would definitely stay here again if holidaying in San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, MA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great Breakfast, clean, extremely satisfied except the ac didn't seem to cool the room down. Otherwise it was an excellent stay. If you are a smoker there are no bins outside to put your cigarettes out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel while visiting my sister and her family in San Diego. It offered the typical Hampton Inn good value with clean rooms, fast free internet, and a free breakfast. We did have 2 issues this trip: 1. It was impossible to regulate the shower temperature which went from freezing to scalding without our touching the dial, and the shower shut off completely twice on my husband and once on me. 2. The free breakfast, while good, was swamped because there was not enough seating available. Otherwise, good stay, love Hampton Inns!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great hotel, location, customer service, and breakfast. We will definitely stay here every time we are in San Diego. We stayed during memorial weekend and we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean, the facility was clean. The breakfast was really good and filling. There was 24 /7 coffee and lemonade. Considering it was a holiday weekend the room charge was reasonable, although we would have preferred a lower rate - don't we all. Anyway, the location was central to a lot of good spots such as Del Mar, gas lamp and others. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit San Diego. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. It would be nice if they had a jacuzzi though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Clean, nice ammendities, friendly helpful staff, wonderful breakfast, very nice rooms, large space parking lot, well run Hotel. Could not ask for more, just wish other Hotels were run as good as this one! Enjoy your stay....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.