We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Palm Desert, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love This Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I stay here once a month while visiting our daughter who live in the metro San Diego area and our experience has always been excellent. The staff is pleasant and attentive. The property is well-maintained and a good value. The complimentary breakfast is always tasty and the woman in charge of that area is to be commended on her great attitude and helpful service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    130
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
147
83
26
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I am someone who travels for their work and I can say that I have never not had a pleasant experience at this hotel. The rooms are always clean, the staff is polite and greet me promptly. I highly recommend you stay at this hotel if you have reason to find a night in the area. For where I go it is in the perfect location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We just returned from a visit to Los Angeles and San Diego, spending two nights at the Hampton Inn in Kearny Mesa. While there is not too much right around the hotel, the actual hotel itself was very well maintained and affordable for San Diego area hotels. The location enabled us to jump on the highway and get to everything we needed to get to in 15 minutes or less - we went to the Zoo, as well as downtown and Coronado Island. Hampton delivers on what you expect - free wifi, free breakfast, and pleasant service. The front desk helped us with directions when needed and the overall experience was very positive. I would recommend a stay here to anyone coming to the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

During a 3 night stay over the new year 2013, we found the Hampton Inn facility and staff to be over and above expectations of a mid-priced hotel. It wasn't one person or a single incident, it was the whole place during the entire stay. We will look to travel to San Diego during a warmer time of the year, but will definitely be staying at this property again. I should also mention the location, close to loads of restaurants and an easy drive to all the local attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night and loved the hotel. Free parking and breakfast included, clean room and great bed , what more could you ask for. Would highly recommend this hotel I could not fault anything at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Was out for the weekend for a book signing and decided to give this hotel a shot. What a pleasure! It's inexpensive and yet extremely luxurious. They give you a fresh, delicious cookie when you check in. Hotel looks brand new, with computers in the lobby for guests' use, as well as a nice lobby area that doubles as the breakfast area. Great rooms, excellent bathrooms, huge flatscreen TV, great desk with LOTS of available plugs (we all know how vital that is these days), good lighting, nice amenities including a lap desk. Bed was really comfortable. One of the nicest complimentary breakfasts I've had with plenty of choices, all fresh, with fruit and coffee available 24/7. Nice, modern, clean workout room. Had no time to check out the pool, but since I plan to stay here again, will do so next time. Staff was friendly and helpful. Soundproofing is excellent -- this hotel is right off the 163 freeway and a main boulevard but you'd never know it. I thought I was the only guest until I went downstairs, it's that quiet -- and my room was near the elevator AND near the vending/ice machines and again, I never heard anything. Plenty of towels, they had my special requests on file, really just a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is right off the 163 freeway but you'd never know; soundproofing is excellent. Doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here only one night but was thrilled with the overall experience. The breakfast buffet was actually quite nice. It had hot items as well as the fruit and pasties. The hot item were eggs, ham, waffles and of course good ole oatmeal. The eggs and ham were actually good. The seating area was plentiful and the USA today is always nice to read. The room was very well appointed including a nice flat screen tv and clean, I compared prices in the area of some of the other hotels, some of them were on the "higher" priced side and I choose this one almost exclusively on price given that I was only staying one night, but to my surprise it was really nice and would not hesitate to stay again on a pleasure trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa

Address: 5434 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Kearny Mesa
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.