We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for UCSD Visitors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla to your Saves list
Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4550 La Jolla Village Drive, San Diego, CA 92122   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Rates From $139
Ranked #79 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Location for UCSD Visitors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Embassy Suites in La Jolla is a great location for people visiting UCSD. It's in a nicer area that seemed safe and well-lit. There is an up-scale mall directly across the street.

The staff at the Embassy Suites were nice. Nightly happy hour and cooked-to-order breakfast were nice features of the stay. The bed, however, was the least comfortable bed I've slept on in a long time. It was very firm. When someone in the bed rolled over the entire bed moved. I opted to sleep on the couch (not pulled out - sofa beds are rarely comfortable).

There were a couple of children's sports teams staying at the hotel during the last two of my 4 night stay. Children were running and screaming throughout the hotel and the sound carried through the atrium area. The staff of the hotel didn't seem to mind. Fortunately they'd stopped screaming by 11pm.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Anna-cedars,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to inform us of the few opportunities we have to make the guest experience just that much better. Your seniority in travel and opinions are greatly appreciated, I will be investigating into the suite you stayed in and look into the mattress as these are quite new and the new Suite Dreams mattress.

Our weekends are very popular indeed, and due to the convenience to a multitude of attractions and facilities we a do have a variety of guests, but we must ensure every guest's experience is safe, comfortable, and enjoyable. I will be communicating to our evening team the importance of politely reminding all to be considerate of other guests.

I do hope that you will allow this spectacular hotel and team to welcome you as our guest in the future.

Thank you again.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    300
    120
    46
    12
See reviews for
356
138
27
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Now that I travel with my 21/2 yr old grandbaby girl in tow, I am on the fence between Embassy Suite & Residence Inn. This Embassy Suite was perfect for our stay with the little one to visit SeaWorld...heated (really!) indoor pool, spa (outdoor), koi pond in lobby, scrumptious cook-to-order b'fast (they know how to do bacon right!), glass-enclosure elevator. For us grandparents...there is the gym (ha, did not use it), complimentary happy hour (beer, wine, cocktails) with snacks...you have to show your room key and 2 drinks pp each time but you can go back as many times as you want. It is always nice to give a small tip to the staff. Steps away is PF Chang and across the street is a mall. We did not pay for the inhouse parking. It was not diff to find street parking. No kitchenette like Residence Inn but the microwave, mini-fridge suffice. One bad design is the bedroom door and bathroom door is designed awkwardly but for a couple of days stay, not that big a deal. The pull out sofa bed could be better...the springs are pokey; not comfortable at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators...less noise, less traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Yuverlyn,

Thank you and delighted that your stay was excellent and you had the opportunity to really enjoy all the amenities, even though you did not use the fitness centre, maybe next time.

Very much appreciate hearing of the couple of opportunities we have, bedroom door and the sofa bed mattress, you will be delighted to hear that next week we have 85 more mattresses arriving and the following week should have every one replaced.

We appreciate you being our guest and we all look forward to the next time your visit San Diego.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff at the Embassy Suites went out of their way to make our lengthy stay an absolutely wonderful experience. The hotel location, the shuttle and the staff were excellent. If we return to the area, we would definitely stay at this Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear R F,

Fantastic, and thank you for being our guest, whether one night to many (in your case) the team here in La Jolla delivers exemplary service every day and I am proud to be a part of this spectacular team.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great location, safe, super close to the restaurants, night live, and also freeways.
Room is spacious, clean, and no feeling on of being closed in. Rooms are quiet, and with a good front desk assistance. Great place for my business trips.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Skye90277,

I am delighted that your stay was excellent, I just moved here and joined this team and your commentary on the hotel and it's location is perfect. We look forward to the opportunity to seeing you again when business brings you back in town.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Check in check out was a breeze. The room was on a high floor as requested. Very clean. Was not able to attend the managers reception. Breakfast was one of the best I have ever had. Loved the hotel location and personnel

Room Tip: Higher floor is the least noise
See more room tips
Green Features: Was a great experience would stay there again. This location and Philly are my favorite.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Linda W,

A seasoned traveller and sensational experience here in La Jolla, I appreciate you being our guest as I appreciate the team here that delivers the experience. I will not take either for granted and thank you again for allowing me to pass on this commentary to them.

We look forward to your next visit, should your travels bring you back to this lovely area, and deliver excellence again.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a good time but room service pricing with automati gratuity was to much. I should decide the gratuity amount. The location of the Hotel is excellent and the staff was very helpful. The internet connection in the Business lounge needs to loosen it controls, it allows you on facbook but does not let you type keyword "Golf"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Kevin D,

Thank you for being our guest and delighted that you had a great experience. I will ask our IT support regarding the challenges you had during your time in the business centre to see and determine the search word dynamics.

I also apologise for not allowing you to determine the service charge for your suite service due to the 22% automatic amount that post's to the cheque, although there is an additional space to add to this amount, there is not one to reduce it, however if your food or service were not perfect then any of the team would be able to correct that.

Thank you again for being our guest and we look forward to the next opportunity.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Embassy La Jolla. The drive from OC to La Jolla was horrendous (3+ hours on a Friday afternoon) though due to it being a busy graduation and SD County Fair weekend! It was worth it though as upon arrival, we were able to enjoy the Manager's Reception. Just basic drinks and snacks, but the setup and seating/spacing are bigger than other Embassy's I've stayed at. It is conveniently located across the street from the mall which was nice for my nieces to walk over safely to do some shopping! It is also located near the main freeways (805/5) and close enough to main attractions with easy hop onto freeway or to downtown La Jolla/UCSD.

We got a corner suite and it felt very spacious! The "kitchen" space also felt very modern with the marble countertops. The bed was comfortable and it was nice having a tv in the room as well as the living room. The bathroon seemed separate from the bedroom even though it was in the bedroom, giving one (especially when travelling with family) more privacy when entering the bedroom to get to the bathroom! Breakfast selection (pancakes, sausage, potatos, eggs, cold cereals, pastries,..) was plentiful and the omelette were very good! I don't usually like to eat omelettes but it was very tasty! I like how all the food was not crammed into one area, making it seem less crowded. It was very spread out (sectioned) so those who wanted drinks would go to the drink area...those wanting hot food would get it in the hallway area...etc. The breakfast seating area was spread over near the koi pond area, the bar area, and a dining room area which made it seem like you were having a nice breakfast at a restaurant (although plenty kids around), not some free breakfast!

The only minor annoyance was the elevators were slow at times (only 4 total). I think it would make sense if they had elevators at the other side of the hotel too, so it wouldn't feel so crowded waiting/riding on the elevator! I would also recommend they are clear about how to exit the parking garage each time. I didn't know if we needed a room key to exit each time or what the parking permit was for as it stated to show to parking attendant when leaving (there was no parking attendant at exit)...and rang for help and the gate automatically lifted (perhaps they have a camera and saw my permit). On the day of checkout, I called to checkout, the lady told me to keep my room key to leave garage. Overall, it was a great stay and I would stay here again! Even though it may be slighly higher priced than other places in area, the breakfast and amenities make it worth it. Internet though is not worth it at $11.95 per computer, although you may ask them to waive your 2nd computer fee after you pay for it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJolla-ES-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear FairFoodCritic,

Thank you for being our guest and taking your valuable time to make mention to the brilliant time you had during your recent visit. We are very proud of our hotel and the legendary amenities the Embassy Suites Brand delivers to every guest, and especially as you mentioned in the very spacious Atrium.

You are indeed correct we have five elevators and when occupancy is rather high, having twelve floors can, at certain times, delay the process of getting back to your suite. I would certainly love additional elevators, but in all honesty during the majority of the time they are quite speedy.

I again truly thank you for being our guest and very much look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you down the coast again.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla

Address: 4550 La Jolla Village Drive, San Diego, CA 92122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#38 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#50 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the beautiful beaches of La Jolla, CA, the Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla offers unparalleled comfort for business and leisure travelers. Hotel guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and refreshments with light snacks at the complimentary Evening Reception. The hotel's 340 suites are 100% non-smoking and feature a private bedroom, living room with sofa bed, two HDTVs, MP3 player/clock radio, workspace with ergonomic desk chair, and Internet connection availability. Additional on-site amenities include meeting and event space, business center, fitness center, dry sauna, and indoor pool. Dine easily with room service or at one of the on-site restaurants, P.F. Chang's China Bistro or Indulge Restaurant and Lounge. Ideal for business travelers, this La Jolla hotel is conveniently located near the offices of Ernst & Young, IBM, and Pfizer. Leisure guests enjoy close proximity to La Jolla beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland California, Torrey Pines Golf Course, and Westfield UTC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Embassy Suites La Jolla
San Diego Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.