We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save More!
Ranked #170 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Camarillo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

I'm currently spending my last night in California at this fine establishment and I am in love with the view of the bay outside my window. The hotel is right across the street from Seaport Village and a very short distance from just about everything. The street parking is a little difficult, but if you don't mind paying $39 you can easily park at the hotel. I didn't want to pay that (even though I got an amazing rate on the room by making a mobile purchase) so I circled the block a few times and found a spot a short distance away. At any rate, there is a complimentary evening reception every night from 5:30pm-7:30pm with drinks and snacks AND complimentary made-to-order breakfast from 6:30am-9:30am. I checked in late due to a flight cancellation, so I missed the soiree (I was pretty sad about it too) but Yves, at the front desk, certainly went above and beyond to ensure my comfort. He offered me some water, presented the available options for food, and asked if I needed to view or print off any of my new flight information. Welcoming staff members help to solidify this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I spent a week in the suite with my wife and three sons. The breakfast, happy hour, and great location were only topped by the top notch customer service by every employee! Nice consistently high levels of quality interactions all week long!

Room Tip: Bay view is worth the upgrade
See more room tips
Green Features: They have given a nice amount of attention to using green-conscious practices.
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was built in 1986 with a recently okay renovation. 12 floors of double room suits with separate bathrooms. We had the city view King suite which still gave us a view of the waterfront and the USS Midway. Room has refrigerator, two tvs, microwave, and dining table. Bedroom has tv and amoire/settee with sliding glass door to a small balcony. If you are afraid of heights or have vertigo don't go over 3rd floor. The glass elevators and interior space is all open and vertigo inducing. There is an indoor pool and hot tub, business center, and small fitness center. They have an inclusive full breakfast 6-9:30 am. You can get omelets made, pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, ham, waffles, and more. Also has muffins, bagels, toast, fresh fruit. From 5:30 -7pm they have a beer/wine/cocktail with veggies. Parking is valet only and costs $45 a day! No on street parking is nearby. You are walking distance to USS Midway Museum, Seaport Village, The Headquarters, San Diego Maritime Museum, and waterfront. They have a nice restaurant/bar onsite but it only stays open to 11pm. Also has snack/gift shop inside. There is a Dunkin Donuts/31 flavors ice cream store outside along with a small grocery store. Concierge and staff were helpful. Breakfast gets crowded after 8 am and you may have to wait for a seat to eat. Easiest way to get around was with the San Diego Trolley. Taxi from the airport to hotel was $22, going back only $18. There is some train noise as you are 2-3 blocks from the train station.

Room Tip: Our room was near the laundry room and vending machines located on city side 12th floor. Great views...
See more room tips
Green Features: Good water saving toilet systems and a/c. Water bottles are $2.50 each
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Buzzsaw22, If I had an opening in my sales department I would give you a call. You have been very helpful in describing why guests love our hotel. They will love us even more now that our $8.5 million renovation is done which includes our lobby/atrium space, pre-function meeting space, guest room corridors, and lots of nice upgrades to our rooms. Thanks for your great review and please come back soon.

R. Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Took almost two hours to get towels and fresh clean glasses. employees looked over worked, one of my worst experiences at this hotel. Location was great though! room was spacious however the toilets dont double flush very distraught

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dhan C.,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We regret that you experienced an undesirable level of customer service and assure you we have addressed the problems you mentioned with providing fresh towels and clean glasses. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue. We hope you will give us the opportunity to make it right if you return to our area in the future. We have just spent $8.5m on upgrading our entire appearance including our atrium/lobby, atrium sky light for a much brighter atmosphere, our guest room corridors, and our exterior façade. We have a great new look and same great location.

R. Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel offers valet parking only for $45. That made my room 50% more expensive. Quite an impressive margin I should say! Fifty. Percent. More. For parking. I'm taking a star off.

Well, let's look at the bright side. They give you not one, but 2 room suite, and it's squeaky clean, shiny new, with super comfortable beds, and the views of San Diego harbor are just breathtaking! Then, the neighborhood! Downtown is 5 minute walk, Seaport village shopping is 1 minute walk, the Harbor with USS Midway is 5 minute walk. Balboa park 10 minutes drive. Awesome.
And! A fantastic full breakfast is included. And. There are free drinks at the reception 5-7pm.

You can't go wrong with this. Stay there. Just don't drive, they have no parking.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Alex M thank you for your review and your thoughts regarding our $8.5 million upgrade to our lobby and atrium as well as work done in our guest rooms. You are like many others that enjoy Embassy Suites San Diego Bay-Downtown for all that we have to offer as well as our great location. As for parking we are certainly not the only hotel that only offers valet and we are not the most expensive either. We are very competitive with the downtown market. None the less we appreciate your four star review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

R. Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay. Everyone was nice. The construction was kind of a site of sore eyes but they were not making any noise while I stayed there. Just kind of plan enterance and main common area.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Stacy S, I am sure that you also loved our weather compared to the winter you are having in Kansas City! Thanks for your great review. Our $8.5 million renovation is complete and we have a great new look along with our fantastic location. I hope you got to enjoy San Diego while visiting on business. Please come back soon.

R. Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kırklareli, Türkiye
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location near san diego port, high level standart hilton services. Breakfast is usual american style, other nationalities could find it simple. san diego convention center 10 minutes away from hotel walking. Generally, you would have good accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Tabaru, Many of our guests agree with you that we are the perfect hotel pre or post cruise. Very close to the port and walking distance to so many of San Diego’s downtown attractions. Please come back soon as we would love to provide you with another great experience.

R. Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Address: 601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#68 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the downtown bay front district across from the quaint shops and eateries of Seaport Village, Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown is convenient to all that San Diego has to offer. Our hotel is just three miles from the San Diego International Airport. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or casual dining at the Pacific Fish Company Sports Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.