We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under renovation ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save More!
Ranked #142 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Under renovation ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Didn't find out this hotel is under renovation until checked in and stopped by elevator. Better if notify customer earlier, cuz somebody might have allergy to the dust and paint.... Inside room is above average, clean n functioning. Not sure when the room service start do rounds. The room was not clean up until 5:30pm. Staff are friendly.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    232
    72
    62
    56
See reviews for
258
139
16
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here during the National Safety Conference in 2014. What a Great Hotel. It is within walking distance of the conference center and the Gaslamp District plus it offered a beautiful view of Coronado Island and the bay.
The remodeling others complained about was completed and everything was open for use. The hotel offers a cooked to order breakfast which was a big plus for us...we like to hang out and get a late start so we can enjoy more of the wonderful nightlife San Diego has to offer
Great place, Good food, close to everything ...includint the rail line so you can get around without a car.

Room Tip: Pick a bay view room....watch the boats come and go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We've stayed at this branch before and was very happy with the service and accommodation. This last stay was disappointing. The hotel was being renovated. The lobby and atrium area was all torn up. I asked about the renovation, check if the pool/spa are operational, she said yes and that the renovation is only at the lobby area. The breakfast area was moved to the mezzanine. The breakfast service was very poor. They were constantly running out of food. The chefs cooking the omelet are very nice and apologetic.

After visiting SeaWorld for the day,my family and I decided to enjoy the pool/spa. When we got there, the pool was cold and the spa was not hot at all. I spoke to the front desk about it and was told they will send a maintenance guy after he's done with a leak problem. Maintenance guy never showed up. A person named KIM showed up to tell us to get our of the SPA and that the pool/spa is closed! Very rude. I told her that the spa is not heating up and she completely ignore me.

The next day, the same incident happened again. My husband and kids decided to use the pool and spa earlier...maybe it will work. No luck, the SPA was not hot at all. On checking out, I mentioned this incidents to the front desk. There was no response, they handed me a business card that says "Spread the Word" share your experience on our Tripadvisor page. Needless to say, a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here over the weekend to celebrate my daughters birthday. I was very disappointed with my stay. The hotel is a mess, due to construction, and also very noisy. We had hoped to use the hot tub while visiting and it was closed off due to the construction. I was charged double for parking and had a mystery charge on my card that wasn't listed on my invoice at checkout. I called to clear up the charges and the gal I talked to seemed annoyed with me, she said she would credit back one of the parking charges (still waiting) and she couldn't tell me what the other charge was. I had stayed here on a previous visit and enjoyed the location, but, was very disappointed with my stay and the level of service.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here Jan 2015. The entire middle of the hotel is under construction so it is off limits. You have to listen to work being done and the breakfast and happy hour is in a moved to a small ballroom. You also have to valet parking for $42 per day. There is no self parking. The staff was very friendly, and did a lot to make our stay more enjoyable. I wish I would have read it was under construction, I wouldn't have stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've stayed at this hotel before and it's usually been nice, but this time there was major construction in the entire main area of the hotel. This made it very unpleasant and loud during the day, with workers chipping cement off the floor with a loud machine. It may seem unfair to penalize this usually nice hotel due to a temporary construction period, but I feel they should have described the potential discomfort better than they did. They still had the free cocktails and appetizers in the evening, in a couple small meeting rooms. That helped.

Room Tip: Wait until the construction has finished.
See more room tips
Green Features: This is not one of my main concerns. They do the normal Hilton thing, re-using towels and sheets unless you request them to be replaced.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Rojayya, Cocktails and snacks always make for a pleasant ending of the day. Especially when they are complementary like they are with Embassy Suites. We hope that you will come back and enjoy our nightly reception in our brand new atrium. On top of our new look we still have our great location that is walking distance to many great attractions in the downtown area. We look forward to welcoming you back.

R. Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel in downtown San Diego. Good rooms & bathrooms.
Good view.
U can hop skip & jump to sea port village. Hang around & have fun. Not to far from glasglam quarters.--- full of eateries.
Good breakfast.... Which is a rare thing in the american hotels... B&b.
Silver lining----In the evening there's a managers cocktail- one can have couple of drinks for free........ Which we never missed in our 3 days stay.
Heated swimming pool.
Overall very pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Address: 601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#67 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the downtown bay front district across from the quaint shops and eateries of Seaport Village, Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown is convenient to all that San Diego has to offer. Our hotel is just three miles from the San Diego International Airport. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or casual dining at the Pacific Fish Company Sports Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.