We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major construction ! Service sucks ! Stay away !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save More!
Ranked #121 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Major construction ! Service sucks ! Stay away !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Went there last week...major construction going on in the lobby and many floors. Dust everywhere. No self parking available, and they charge $39 for valet. That really sucks. Service for breakfast is bad..no one picks up the plates in the conference room.
Rooms are outdated. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    227
    68
    54
    41
See reviews for
243
136
16
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The main floor and lobby was completely inaccessible due to construction. Several floors were under construction as well. The atrium roof leaked and got the handrails wet. The hotel should have been shut down during the construction instead of trying to use the hotel. Breakfast and reception were served in a conference room-- not good.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel is in a good location; across street from the Headquarters and easy access. Lobby is going through renovation and there is a lot of dust around. They make you well aware of this when you book so that was no surprise. The surprise was that the heating/cooling system didn't work even though I booked a Premium room in the second floor. We reported the issue and technician came to fix it but couldn't and offered us to move to another room; unfortunately, it was 11pm and kids were already sleeping. Ended up getting more blankets and checked out next day at 9am. Upset that they put us in a room that services didn't work. Premium vending machines -- provide free goodies for clients -- only had coke available (not even water). I would not stay again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The renovations in progress are extensive and you should call and ask questions, as the statement on the Embassy Suites website advises hotel guests to do.
We have just arrived in San Diego. It's late (2am back at home). We're tired. The water is shut off until 3am. I want to shower, or at least wash my face, and it's hard for 4 people to go potty with only one flush left in the toilet tank. (I knew I should've done my 'business' at the airport!)
The staff working at check-in were friendly and doing their best to help hotel guests under difficult circumstances. (Thank you for the extra bottled water) I am sure this place will shine like a new penny when everything is finished. This is a great location and, while not yet updated, our room and beds were comfortable. The room was booked at a reduced rate due to renovations in progress.
As Hilton Diamond members, we are accustomed to an across-the-board level of consistency in accommodations among the Hilton brand hotels. I appreciate what is being done here, but feel that the hotel should not receive guests with all this construction and while water cut offs are necessary. We will make the best of it and enjoy our trip. It's just not worth getting mad or upset over and I look forward to seeing the finished product.
I am giving one star based on the condition of the hotel when comparing it to other Embassy Suites properties. I think that is a fair score and will be happy to add an updated review when renovations are complete.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina Beach, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in a great location. Close to everything. Renovations are a bit annoying but it will be nice once that is done. Room was good but a bit dated. Ask about costs for WIFI before booking. On the whole it is a nice hotel and the service was great.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dianne R thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. I certainly hope that you went and visited our very own Dunkin Donuts/Baskin Robbins to take your mind off the renovation. There is so much to go see and do right within walking distance which usually keeps our guests busy in the day and away from the renovations. Thanks again for the kind words, Please come back and see the finished product. We look forward to your return!

R. Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My younger son and I just returned from an overnight in San Diego to visit the USS Midway and the Birch Aquarium at Scripps and we spent the evening at the Embassy Suites (Downtown). This is actually our third visit and we enjoyed it, despite the construction (supposedly ending Jan, 2015).

We arrived at 7:00 PM and dropped the car off with the valet and walked in to checkin. Despite the make-shift front desk, the staff got us checked in in under 10 minutes. Construction only runs between 9am and 5pm so everything was quiet when we arrived. The staff was pleasant and helpful, just like the previous visit in February of this year.

Our room was the standard suite and well appointed. The only odd feature was that we lacked the little dinette set that's usually in the room. Not that big a deal but I just realized what was missing when we compared our photos from the previous visit...sort of a duh moment! Room was clean, bed was turned down for us, bathroom linens were plentiful.

We were a bit tired from the drive so we didn't go to the evening reception but ordered pizza instead and ate in and watched TV till late - exactly what little boys want to do on a vacation - stay in a hotel, order pizza and watch TV. Breakfast was good and hot. Lots of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, hashbrowns, breads, muffins, fruit, etc. Everything we like at an Embassy Suites. Additionally, they opened up one of the large conference rooms so that we could sit and eat vs taking back to the room.

My son likes trains so we had the added bonus of watching a Union Pac/BNSF locomotive and freight train rumble slowly through downtown. We had a room on the 11th floor so the view was great. We opened the window so we could hear it.

Regarding all the additional charges (wifi, parking, the bottled water), this is the tourist section so just about every hotel charges this way. Unless you plan on staying north of the area in La Jolla or Kearny Mesa (we've done that) or farther inland (Escondido - very inconvenient) you're going to get charged left and right for everything. Expect it in a tourist area.

We've used this hotel three times, as mentioned earlier, and will be back again. I really appreciate the helpful, friendly staff, the food, the location, and the well appointed rooms.

We'll be back. Thank you again for a great stay.

Room Tip: We like the higher floors as the view is nicer. Additionally, Embassy Suites have those huge atrium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The ongoing construction is indeed very annoying. The dust affected our mood once we stepped into the hotel. Plus the water cut-off.

But rooms are well equipped and of a good size.

We went for breakfast at close to 920am and found that staff were already clearing away food items. We felt like gluttons, having to quickly gather any remaining food. End up buying food at dunkin donut.

The staff we met are generally warm and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
JOa88a, thanks for your review. I will definitely follow-up on the issue regarding breakfast service. We by no means intend to rush our guest through one of the important benefits of staying at Embassy Suites. I appreciate your comments regarding our team members here. I am very luck as a General Manager to have such talent. I hope that you return after the renovation to see our new look along with our great service.

R. Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Address: 601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#66 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the downtown bay front district across from the quaint shops and eateries of Seaport Village, Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown is convenient to all that San Diego has to offer. Our hotel is just three miles from the San Diego International Airport. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or casual dining at the Pacific Fish Company Sports Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.