We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handled Well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save More!
Ranked #88 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wool
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Handled Well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I recently stayed here for San Diego Comic Con, considering the amount of people they have to deal with, this was a very good stay, only downside, we booked two double beds, and got a king, which means someone had to sleep on the floor, not me so overall good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Another great comment from one of our satisfied Comic-Con guests. Thank you. What a fun week in San Diego. I am glad that you all enjoyed. Please come back next year.

R Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    196
    61
    40
    16
See reviews for
217
111
15
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We regularly stay an Embassy Suites when traveling because the room fits our family of five and the breakfast is great. This hotel is in a great location and we were generally pleased with our stay. Some things to be aware of: the breakfast lines are LONG; waits for the elevators can take forever; and the parking situation is a mess. I was fine paying the mandatory $39 a day for valet service (there is no self park), but the parking area at the main entrance is too cramped for the volume the valets deal with. The valets hustled, but the wait for cars was painful because cars can't move easily. One tip (which we discovered half way through our stay): meet your car where it comes out of the garage and go out the entrance to avoid the traffic jam at the lobby door.

Room Tip: Pay the extra cost for a bay view -- it's worth it! Our room looked out over the USS Midway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Fivefomco thanks for your review. You are right. Summer time is a very busy time in San Diego. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. Our rooms are perfect for a family trip and our location is ideal for venturing out to see all of San Diego's attractions. Our parking is busy when everyone comes and goes at the same time so planning ahead should be considered. We look forward to your return.

R Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed here in December, for our company Christmas Party. I loved it, checkin was super fast, the hotel is beautiful, but the highlight was my suite, absolutely impressive, it was a mini apartment, and the view was absolutely gorgeous, at night and day. We also dined in the restaurant, I can't remember the name, but the food was delicious, great fish tacos, my daughter had the burger, simply delicious, but favorite was desert, the Salted Chocolate Fudge Sundae!! I'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed. I agree, the fish tacos are quite good and are very popular. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

R Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Lots of peeling paint, worn carpet, broken cabinets in room. Don't bother going into the pool. The heater in the pool was either broken or just turned off. Telling staff did no good. I sat and watched about 20 people attempt to use the pool. Very few actually went in. The hot tub was warm, not hot. Ventilation in the pool area was non-existent. I guess that's why the doors were kept open. This is only day one of our four day stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Kim444444

I see that you are just joining us. Thank you for letting us know about your experience at the pool. We are checking it now as I type this response. As for your room, we will be happy to address these issues while you are still here. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay.

R Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Embassy Suites, Downtown San Diego has the perfect location!!! Close to Seaport Village, Restaurants, Petco Park (quick trolley trip away), Midway Museum, Gaslamp Quarter and the Amtrak station. Beautiful bay view, both from the hotel and walking around. Great complimentary breakfast and reception. We have two boys age 15 and 12 and they were bummed that the pool was only 5ft deep. Our biggest problem was the pull out couch. It is very uncomfortable. We requested a padded topper and one was brought up quickly. We would definitely go again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you so much for recognizing all of the great things about staying with us. I am glad that you and the whole family enjoyed. I am also happy to hear that the team responded quickly to your needs.

We hope to see you back soon.

R Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Embassy Suites was just okay. Used to be they were gorgeous hotels, but this one is suffering from age. The bathroom cabinets were all scratched up, the granite was water stained.
BUT the morning breakfast was outstanding and so was the concierge "Janet"! What a kind, courteous and helpful person! The $39 nightly car valet service was a bit over the top, considering all they did was park our car, but this is San Diego in the middle of the summer.

Room Tip: Choose a high rom with a view! It is worth it!
See more room tips
Green Features: Love the fact that they will make a donation to a charity if you take advantage of their environmentally friendly practices. Unfortunately we did not notice the sign until the next morning. You had to have the card outside your room before you went to bed.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
AZfamily852, just because we are a little old does not mean we cannot be gorgeous. Thanks for your comments though. I will follow-up on the items mentioned in regards to your room. Also, I assure you our valet is competitively priced against the local market, especially due to our excellent location. We do display the cost of the valet on our website for guests to review prior to staying. I am glad that you enjoyed the great service of our concierge Janet, as well as the cooked to order breakfast you received every morning. We look forward to when you join us again.

R Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was my first time staying at an Embassy Suites and I would book another one based on the one we stayed at in downtown San Diego. It's perfect for a family of four with two double beds and a pull out sofa...though we usually don't use the bed on the pull out, but rather just sleep on the sofa itself. The hotel was swamped as it was the end of Comic Con which over 100K people attended! There was a bit of a wait to check in, but everyone at the desk was very professional and friendly and the line moved swiftly. The suite was very nice with a separate bedroom and roomy enough for 4 adults. My only complaint about the room were the pillows...they felt like they had no stuffing in them at all. If they want to use a soft pillow like that, I would suggest a firmer one for underneath. The evening reception was packed due to Comic Con so we just grabbed a quick drink and some veggies before heading out for dinner. The surrounding area was great with everything within walking distance...even a grocery store. Be sure to check out the Seaport Village across the street for great little shops and restaurants. The breakfast was very nice, but again a long line, be sure to chooses the line that makes your food as you want it, rather than the stuff that has been sitting in the warming trays, though that was too bad. All in all a great stay and I would recommend the hotel and the area. Before booking through someone else, I would check out the hotel's website since they offer various discounts and specials. I would also suggest parking somewhere else. They're are a lot of overnight parking lots within walking distance for less than $20.00. The hotel charges $40.00 for valet parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Colby1001, Traveling all the way from Baltimore, we are a lot less humid correct? You had signature San Diego weather. I am glad that you enjoyed the Embassy Suites and all that is in walking distance in the neighborhood. Besides all of the attractions surrounding us you certainly chose a very exciting time to join us-Comic-Con. We have people that specifically choose our hotel every year for that convention. In regards to parking, I know that we are competitive in the market. Thanks for the comments and come join us when you want to get out of the snow this winter!

R Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Address: 601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#66 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the downtown bay front district across from the quaint shops and eateries of Seaport Village, Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown is convenient to all that San Diego has to offer. Our hotel is just three miles from the San Diego International Airport. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or casual dining at the Pacific Fish Company Sports Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.