We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too crowded to care” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save More!
Ranked #73 of 268 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Too crowded to care”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This time of year, San Diego is full of tourists. This hotel is family friendly and the complimentary Breakfast is good. The suites are worn and dtired in appearance. The hotel is very crowded with vacationing failies. The elevators are slow, the housiskeeping staff is lax in their duties. I would avoid this hotel in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    171
    48
    30
    11
See reviews for
187
98
13
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Embassy suites downtown San Diego has been the go to place for San Diego Comic Con for me for 4 years this year the hotel seemed to have changed. It actually began before I checked in. On Wednesday the parking for non guests was 10.00 per hour not to exceed 40.00. On Thursday for Comic Con attendees not staying at hotel it was a flat fee of $ 75.00. (Did not pay it). On Friday when I checked in everything went fine. However around 6 that evening I smelled cigarette smoke in the hallway and my bathroom. This is a total non smoking hotel so thought it was my imagination. 2 hours later my daughter in law came to my room and made the same comment. Hallway,bathroom and noticed in bedroom. I called downstairs and the person told me if someone else complained they would look into it. On Friday evening late when I returned to my room same issue phone call number 2 and the comment made was as long as I wasn't bothered by it there really wasn't much any they could do about it. On Sunday at 8am daughter in law and bellman both found cigarette smoke in hallway outside, bathroom and bedroom. Have no idea what if anything was done. People next door checked out and no more problems. The breakfast staff that I delt with on Saturday morning was just plain rude to everyone. Only reason I did not make a big deal out of everything is because there was no more rooms available anywhere. I can not in good conscience based on this stay, I am hesitant to recommend this hotel to anyone. Customer service amongst some of the staff is severally lacking. With San Diego Comic Con 2015 next July I have some time to thing long and hard about coming back here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this beautiful property for one night on a business layover. Great location in downtown San Diego, and the hotel is very nice, compared to many other Embassy Suites I've stayed at across the United States.

My suite was on the top floor (I believe the 10th) and the rooms were spotless, carpet clean and free of stains, and mattress clean, free of stains and quite a comfortable sleep.

The complimentary breakfast in the morning was fantastic, even compared to other Embassy Suites properties. For instance, small things like preparing and making available actual shredded hashbrowns instead of breakfast tater tots (Embassy Suites Lubbock) makes big difference.

I also visited the hotel restaurant and ordered a few items to bring back to the room, the one that stands out to me was the grilled cheese on artisan bread...the food was great.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to any travelers in the San Diego area, as you'll be thoroughly happy with this property and what it has to offer.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

View from our room was excellent. Location was great. Walking distance to a lot of things. Room was clean. I was not impressed with breakfast buffet or evening appetizers. PFC restaurant had great food. we enjoyed their happy hour specials.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, yesterday
David S. Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed the view from your suite and found our location convenient to all of the great attractions in down town San Diego. PFC is the perfect restaurant to take the family for lunch or dinner with a wide variety to choose from. I will definitely follow-up on the complementary items that are offered dally at breakfast and our evening reception. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

R Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This location is fantastic, we didn't need a rental car for anything. The front desk staff was very friendly and super helpful. The atrium gets loud, even at 2am. The pool isn't always warm enough to get in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville Hunt Valley, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good location. Able to walk to Petco field and good restaurants nearby. Do not come here with a car. Parking is a disaster when hotel is crowded. $39 per day, and you can not get your car back for quite a while due to congestion in narrow arrival circle. Rooms are nice

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments. Thanks for mentioning all of the items that make our hotel great including your spacious room and our great location to Petco Field. I am glad you enjoyed. I regret that you found our parking system inconvenient. I will follow up on your comments with those responsible for parking to see if there is anything we can change to make it more convenient for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed there for one night, the hotel has a great location, nearby Seaport Village, walkable location to to the Gas lamp district and the USS Midway. The rooms were clean. They have a decent complimentary breakfast. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is suited for families more than bachelors. Valet parking was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Address: 601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#66 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the downtown bay front district across from the quaint shops and eateries of Seaport Village, Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown is convenient to all that San Diego has to offer. Our hotel is just three miles from the San Diego International Airport. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or casual dining at the Pacific Fish Company Sports Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.