We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save More!
Ranked #114 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, United States
1 review
“Friendly Staff, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This location is fantastic, we didn't need a rental car for anything. The front desk staff was very friendly and super helpful. The atrium gets loud, even at 2am. The pool isn't always warm enough to get in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Stephanie L, thanks for your review. You are correct! Who needs a rental car when you have perfect weather to walk in while enjoying downtown San Diego. I am glad that the team here made you feel at home. I will definately share your comments. Thanks for letting me know about the pool temperature. I will have that worked out by the time you visit us again.

Come back soon!

R Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    226
    67
    51
    39
See reviews for
240
133
16
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cockeysville Hunt Valley, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Good location. Able to walk to Petco field and good restaurants nearby. Do not come here with a car. Parking is a disaster when hotel is crowded. $39 per day, and you can not get your car back for quite a while due to congestion in narrow arrival circle. Rooms are nice

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments. Thanks for mentioning all of the items that make our hotel great including your spacious room and our great location to Petco Field. I am glad you enjoyed. I regret that you found our parking system inconvenient. I will follow up on your comments with those responsible for parking to see if there is anything we can change to make it more convenient for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed there for one night, the hotel has a great location, nearby Seaport Village, walkable location to to the Gas lamp district and the USS Midway. The rooms were clean. They have a decent complimentary breakfast. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is suited for families more than bachelors. Valet parking was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Mohammed Q thanks for your review. I agree that we are the perfect hotel for families. Where else can you get a two room suite, cooked to order breakfast, and an evening reception so close to the great attractions that you mentioned? As for the valet parking, please know that our nighthly fee is competitive with the rest of the hotels in our market.

I am glad that you enjoyed and we hope to see you back soon.

R Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have a feeling I'm in a "back-up" room for last minute bookings. (I'm working an event in Coronado, the places there were already booked-so this was the next choice from my employers.)
The bed is pretty good, the pillows are a little flat. There is a fair amount of rust in the bath, the ceiling has some stains. There's black marks on the wet bar sink. And random marks around THIS room. The vinyl sofa is not a cozy place to hang out, but I tried!
There's a ton of room for just one person. The mini fridge & microwave is very convenient. It's only a 10 min walk to Ralph's, which is great! 5 mins walk to the convention center or 20 min drive to Coronado. I have a partial ocean view and a great city view. It's pretty quiet, unless there's a loud vehicle or fireworks.
Ps. Valet price of $39/night (as of this review date) is insane . I suggest parking two blocks north in the public parking lot. I have always found then safe. After 5pm-5am is $5.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel in the past and this time I was disappointed to find that they have raised the valet fee to $39.00!! First of all there is no other option - there is no self parking with in the hotel structure. So to handicap the guests at paying the $39.00 is wrong. ESPECIALLY when you have to wait 20 minutes to retrieve the car. The line this weekend to get in or out of this place was horrid. Last visit the hotel was not as busy so and I always valet anyway the fee was approx $29.00 which is much easier to swallow. Its either pay the $39.00 per day or park in the near by lots that do NOT allow for in & out access. If they had a self park option & the choice for valet the $39.00 wouldn't be as appalling but they don't. Then to make matters worse they no longer provide free WiFi to any member less than gold status! Wow I really enjoy the embassy suites especially when traveling with the kids because of the room set up & the convenient breakfast but now I will re think where I stay while in SD! If they are going to charge that much they should provide a much more efficient valet system and wait times.

The hotel itself is a good location and walking distance from many things to do. However when you factor in the already pricey room rates & now the valet fee I would stay in a different area. As other Embassy's the rooms are a bit out dated but very roomy. Bathroom is nice size with large counter space, beds are comfy and having the couch separated by the door is always a plus. There is also a mini fridge to cool your drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Luv-2-travel-36DD
You mention so many great things about staying at the Embassy Suites. We appreciate you doing so. I am disappointed that your title for your review is Disappointing. As mentioned, we do have spacious rooms with large bathrooms, pullout sofas, and refrigerators. We do have a great location that is close to many of San Diego’s nearby attractions. As for parking and internet, we do charge for these amenities and our prices are very competitive with the major branded hotels in the downtown market that charge for these items as well. I am sure that when you shop around before your next trip you will find out that the Embassy Suites San Diego bay-Downtown is a great value. We look forward to welcoming you back.

R Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have a work conference in San Diego every August and often bring the family. This hotel is an excellent choice for families because it has a two room suite and a refrigerator. It is ideally located right next to Seaport Village and all of the attractions. There is also a close by stop for the trolley and the bus if you want to explore the other parts of the city. You can walk to the harbor and take the ferry to Coronado Island or just tour the ships on this side. The hotel has comfortable beds and is very clean. The breakfast is the hit of the day with full hot buffet including omelettes made to order and breakfast is included with the room. The staff is attentive and the place is well run.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phx, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Next to Seaport Village, walking distance to the Gas lamp district and the USS Midway. The rooms were very clean and spacious. They offer snacks and 2 hours of free drinks including San Diego based craft beers on tap that are rotated regularly. They offer a decent complimentary hot breakfast. The staff is friendly and helpful. Overall, great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Address: 601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#66 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the downtown bay front district across from the quaint shops and eateries of Seaport Village, Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown is convenient to all that San Diego has to offer. Our hotel is just three miles from the San Diego International Airport. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or casual dining at the Pacific Fish Company Sports Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.