We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay in Embassy suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save More!
Ranked #86 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family stay in Embassy suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Rooms were clean and adequate, really enjoyed the nightly managers reception. Breakfast was ok but selection was limited especially if your not a fan of the hot breakfast. Valet were always very friendly and helpful. Great location and fairly good value stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad to hear that you found our rooms clean and adequate and you enjoyed the managers reception. I will certainly pass your comments regarding breakfast on to the kitchen team as we do try and cater for all tastes.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Emma S

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    184
    58
    35
    15
See reviews for
207
107
14
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, OR, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Clean, well appointed hotel in downtown San Diego. Near good restaurants and walking distance to Petco park, Gaslamp district and waterfront. Complimentary evening cocktails and snack was nice. Fitness room has a few cardio machines and some dumbbells.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I was there for a conference and did not get a chance to take advantage of all the amenities, but the free evening receptions, free breakfasts, and free internet were very much appreciated. The hotel is in a nice location convenient to several restaurants and the convention center.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel is terrific. The breakfast was excellent. My complaint was with the condition of the bathroom vanity and sink area. It looked like someone put it together with a chisel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Barry,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
I have passed on your comments about the vanity in the bathroom to our maintenance team to ensure the unit is repaired or replaced. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

On a more positive note I am pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful and you enjoyed your breakfast!

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Emma S
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Besides the cooked to order breakfast each morning and the stunning views of the San Diego Bay, the staff bends over backwards to make you feel warm and welcomed. Sandra and Ashley were so friendly and professional and greeted me each time I entered the hotel lobby. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of the light rail station and the famous Gas Lamp district as well as Petco Field and the convention center. The room was clean and is truly a suite. I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to have a view of the Bay...it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us in San Diego! We are happy that you received excellent service from our front desk team, and I have passed along your feedback to Sandra and Ashley. I am glad our guest room, facilities and location exceeded your expectations.Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.
I am happy to see we were able to take care of your needs and that your stay was enjoyable overall.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Sincerely,

Emma S
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel meets the basic requirements for what's acceptable: clean (and large) rooms, decently comfortable beds, ok location. The decor, particularly in the rooms, is shabby and dated. It's nice that breakfast is free, but the quality is middling and there are very limited options. It would have been serviceable as a business hotel if not for the terrible internet connection. My first night at the hotel, it didn't work at all and I had to call the desk several times. The staff were openly uninterested in helping - they promised to switch me to a new room with a better connection and never did. Over the course of my stay, service would come in and out unreliably, making it impossible to get any work done. I received free internet through the conference I was in town attending, but would have been irate if I had paid their standard $13/day fee.

For over $200 a night, I expect much better service and facilities and would not stay here again.

Green Features: They claimed to have some kind of environmentally-friendly programs in place, but nothing specific that I was made aware of. At the breakfast, drinks are served in disposable cups rather than glassware, which is actively not environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your most recent experience. I am glad that you liked our spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and our location near all of the downtown San Diego’s attractions. We are in the middle of upgrading our internet infrastructure which will provide better connectivity. This project will be completed shortly. It disappoints me that you did not enjoy the cooked to order breakfast each morning. Your comments are taken seriously and have been shared here with the hotel team.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

R Kravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

When I booked the hotel I wasn't sure about it, but now I can say that I will book this hotel for my next trip to San Diego. The location of this hotel is perfect, walking distance from downtown and all the restaurants. The service was good and the room was really big and clean. I recommend the happy hour at the hotel for a snack and drink. The complimentary breakfast has healthy option and fruits too. Cheesecake Factory is right across the street, if you don't want to walk couple of blocks to local restaurants.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us in San Diego . I am glad we were able to leave you with a great impression of our property! Thank you for mentioning our great location and I am pleased that it was convenient for your visit to San Diego.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip soon!

Sincerely,

Emma S
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Address: 601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#66 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the downtown bay front district across from the quaint shops and eateries of Seaport Village, Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown is convenient to all that San Diego has to offer. Our hotel is just three miles from the San Diego International Airport. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or casual dining at the Pacific Fish Company Sports Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.