We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly lackluster” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #71 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Surprisingly lackluster”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location of this Embassy Suites property is wonderful. The walk over to the Bob Hope parklet, walk through the mini naval memorial, view over the water -- wonderful. But the hotel itself, and the slightly downcast in-house restaurant and somewhat tired buffet were disappointing. Then there is the $39 valet fee, the $12.95 internet fee.... Worn down, tired -- no sparkle, fun, felt overly expensive. Bed was comfy, slept well -- there's that!!!

Green Features: The hotel's commitment to environmental friendliness was not particularly apparent. Nothing out of the ordinary that I saw.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    138
    36
    24
    8
See reviews for
154
76
10
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for here for 3 nights while getting to know San Diego better. A few days before we had flown to San Diego and then took Amtrak to Anaheim (Disneyland). Then back on Amtrak to San Diego. After spending two weeks in Switzerland last year riding the trains we thought we would try it here. It worked out fine, but you can't do it in many places in the US.

The hotel is well located for sightseeing. It's a very short walk to the Seaport Village, which is also a stop on the “Old Time Trolley Tours” (Hop-On Hop-Off). There is a regular trolley stop (really a light rail line) two short blocks from the hotel. It's also close to the waterfront.

Amtrak is about 4 long blocks from the hotel. while you could walk it, and we later did, we took a taxi to the hotel since we had luggage with us. It was still $15, I think he took the long way!

We have stayed in many Embassy Suites and it is a pretty standard layout, which we like. Having a living room and separate bedroom is ideal, especially when you are staying a few nights. Internet was fast enough, but not fast enough to watch MLB at night when the internet was heavily used.

Breakfast was OK with all the things you would want. Well, they didn't have bananas the last two days we were there. When I asked for them on the third day I was told they were real busy the day before – too bad they didn't have any the day before either!

There are restaurants about a block away and there is a new Dunking Donuts/Basking Robbins at the hotel which is nice for a light meal, etc.

There is a charge for parking at $39 a day, which we didn't need of course. And they do charge for the internet, which is case in most Embassy Suites. Personally I don't like paying for internet, but as a Hilton Gold we got free internet.

Taxis were readily available to take us back to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Embassy Suites is perfect with a great location, amenities, and staff. The breakfast and evening reception is awesome. Our stay was effortless, simple, and quick in every way. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious. It's definitely worth the price paid based on all of the great features of the hotel and if you're going to a Padres game, it's in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel has not been updated in years, if ever. Maintenance on our room was non existant- broken toilet paper rolls, faucet that wobbled, chipped granite and dirty bedskirts to start. Then there must have been a leak so we returned to find a giant dirty fan drying out the carpet. Even though advised, no one came to pick it up. $40 parking was outrageous! Only good thing was breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Embassy Suite hotel was a great place to stay with family. It is my 4th time staying in Embassy hotel. The three previous time was in the Niagara Falls location Price is reasonable. Service is good and the location is the best. I would go again...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am reviewing this property from the perspective of someone who has stayed in many different Embassy properties. I think it is average for the chain, with a few annoying aspects. The hotel is larger than some facilities, but this makes for very long lines at the morning buffet. In recent years, they have cut back on the offerings and if you are staying more than a few nights, you may get bored with the breakfast choices. The omelets made to order are nice, but the line can get very long. I think the hotel is a bit big for the reception facilities. The manager reception choices are meager concerning snack options, and the staff only knew how to make the most basic drinks. The parking is expensive at 40 dollars for valet, and it can be very difficult to find any other options on the street. With tip, this gets very expensive if you are staying several days. The internet is another area they try to gouge you for some extra profit, charging about 13-14 dollars per day. The connection was so slow, it was unusable for my work. My speed test showed only 0.2M or 200k download. This may make it a poor choice for business. If they are charging so much for it, they should provide a quality connection. The facility was otherwise clean and standard for Embassy, but the beds were small and with the other listed annoyances, I was wishing I had considered a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When we arrived they had no non smoking rooms left to fit our family of 6 even though we booked 6 months in advance. They put us in a smaller room for the first night but to make up for the inconvenience they waived our valet parking fee for the entire stay, they gave us a free movie hire and a voucher for a meal at the restaurant. The rooms were very good and the 2 hour happy hour each day for hotel guest was amazing, it not only included free drinks they also had a good variety of nibbles. The breakfast that were included with the price was one of the best we had on our 7 week holiday of the USA.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Diego
San Diego Embassy Suites
Address: 601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#66 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the downtown bay front district across from the quaint shops and eateries of Seaport Village, Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown is convenient to all that San Diego has to offer. Our hotel is just three miles from the San Diego International Airport. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or casual dining at the Pacific Fish Company Sports Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.