We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1655 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Catania, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good for one night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at this hotel very late and the first room we were given had 2 cockroaches walking around so the staff switched our rooms to a bigger room and that was nice. The price was pretty high for the quality but overall our new room was good.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    116
    58
    27
    41
See reviews for
48
102
43
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very basic hotel, but was clean, with a comfortable bed, and helpful staff at the counter. I also had a mini-frig and microwave in my room. The other big advantage was the location. This is less than two blocks from the trolley station, and you can be down at the convention center in about 9 minutes. At about $80/night, would have paid double or more near the convention center for my conference. A great value if you are on a budget.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very basic motel, comparable to Motel 6. Tiny lobby, no breakfast, but friendly desk clerk. Good location a block away from harbor, near Star of India ship and Anthonys seafood restaurant. About a mile or two from airport, near downtown. Little Italy a few blocks away with lots of restaurants. Limited amenities include coffee maker, in room safe (fee) and quality soaps and shampoos. However, my room (217) had a door that was very hard to push all the way closed and the deadbolt was misaligned so it was impossible to lock. There is some noise from the trolley that runs behind motel.

Room Tip: Check room to make sure deadbolt works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

I'm used to trains so I'll skip that haha. I really liked that the door has a deadbolt. Wasn't cool with someone tapping on the door twice between 11pm and 2am. Didn't answer it and went back to sleep. If i could afford it i'd rent expensive rooms because lower prices attract the "elements." But other than that i think the staff, cleanliness and hotel building and room design are awesome. Beds were firm and comfortable with cushion tops. Cool place.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, md
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

A standard old 2-story motel reasonably well kept-up. Old but clean. Shower good. Staff (front desk and housekeeping) friendly and helpful.
Best is the price--a couple of hundred dollars less per night than hotels around the Convention Center where my meeting was. FREE PARKING (Con Cen area hotels wanted $30/night). One block from trolley station, 3 stops (7 minutes) to Con Cen and Gaslamp District. Can walk 3 blocks to Little Italy. Very glad I found this place.

Room Tip: Ask for one further away form the street, 2nd floor may be quieter, but then you have to lug your lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

i give this hotel props for location - super close to the airport, waterfront, little italy and 5 + 163 highway entrances. the bed and pillow was also very comfy. they let us leave our bags and car there before and after checkin AND they have free parking!

the staff was ok. not rude but not overly friendly or helpful either.

i don't give this hotel props for:
lack of info in the room - specifically check out time, pool hours, info pamphlet location
rough towels
lack of hairdryer
hot rooms (with a/c that didn't cool the room well).
angling the a/c fan up made a musty smell come out of the curtains - ewww!
lack of space in the room. my friend and i were bumping into each other all the time. can't imagine having 2 more people in the room.
no breakfast although expedia advertised it having breakfast. please update that.
paying everything up front in addition to a $50 deposit. what?

Room Tip: upstairs so you don't have car lights beaming into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

This was my second time here and my last. The first trip was kinda OK with a smelly room. The second time I had to wait 4 hours for a room. They said "after people check out we clean the rooms and wash the sheets". What hotel doesn't have extra sheets?
My reservations said free breakfast. When I pointed it out he said it was an error. There isn't enough parking for all the guests so they let people block you in. Then in order to leave you have to wait till that person is good n ready to let you out. In my case the lady took a shower first!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites

Address: 1655 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location and newly remodeled rooms. Just blocks from the Gaslamp, shopping, and San Diego Airport. Only 300 yards from the water. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Free Breakfast, In-room coffee, Microwave and Refrigerator available, Business Center, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Try our jacuzzi suites. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Inn Hotel And Suites
Pacific Hotel San Diego
Pacific San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.