We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat it for the price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Head Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Diamond Head Inn to your Saves list
Diamond Head Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   605 Diamond St, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't beat it for the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

We recently stayed at the Diamond Head for five nights with our two year old. We booked a promotional rate on the website and ended up paying $69/night, an unbelievable price considering the amenities, neighborhood and proximity to the beach. We requested a one bedroom suite and mentioned that we would be two adults and one child. They accomodated us well by putting us in a room with two queen beds (I didn't even see this option listed). I thought that was a nice touch. The lobby area isn't impressive, but who spends time in the lobby. The rooms are very nicely decorated and clean. The kitchenettes are very newly remodeled and have granite countertops and table. It was a very comfortable room (despite the lack of air conditioning). It was in the low 50s on the first night and we couldn't get our wall heater to work. A maintenance person came within minutes of reporting the problem and it was fixed immediately. The temperature ended up in the high 80s on the last day of our trip and to be honest the room was uncomfortably warm. I was glad we were packing up that day. The continental breakfast was muffins, awful coffee, and "juice." Fortunately, we went to Trader Joe's on our first night and stocked up on breakfast items, so just used the muffins as a snack. The kitchennetes have a stove-top, full-size microwave, a small fridge, and sink. I think that adding pantry staples such as cooking spray, salt, and pepper would be a good idea, because cooking eggs on old teflon pans isn't always tasty. We never had a problem parking within one block of the hotel during our six day stay. I'm sure this becomes more of a problem during the late summer, but it wasn't an issue for us at all.

The only major complaint that I have is that there was no internet AT ALL. The website lists "wired" internet as an amenity. This would have been a serious problem if my husband couldn't connect his computer to the internet through his Blackberry. I wouldn't have booked there at all had I known they didn't offer internet. This oversight needs to be immediately updated on their website. I'm glad however, that we stayed at the Diamond Head Inn. The price was exceptional. I've paid far more to stay in far less luxurious accomodations and this was a fantastic surprise.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach, nice rooms
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    54
    25
    11
    18
See reviews for
30
43
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

We were very surprised with this little wonder. We stayed at The Diamond Head Inn last weekend and for the price and location I would say it's tough to beat for something so close to the beach. Parking is not that bad if you know when most of the surfers come and go. We got a great spot and walked to every destination the rest of the weekend. The picture that is on their website is actually not of the hotel but of the vacation rentals located directly behind it. It's a very small place but the rooms are big, kitchen is great and the bathroom was not that bad. Only problem we had was that our remote did not work but that did not bother us much since we were in and out of the room often. There were some weekend partiers but it didn't seem to bother me. We will be back next time!!!

  • Liked — Easy access to the beach
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

We stayed here for 5 days and found it very decent. Our room overlooked the beach and boardwalk. It was cleaned well every day, had a small kitchenette with the basics. Close to shopping, eateries and bars. Parking can be a problem but you can park for free 2 blocks away at a sister hotel.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azusa CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

we got into town late after 9:00 pm and were looking for a place to stay. our local favorites were either booked or $275-$440 a night. so we stopped at the Diamond Head Inn and spoke to the night manager who was waiting for some guests to show up. they were all booked up except for the arriving late arrivals. did Becky simply send us away? no! she took the time to call around and find us another hotel that was not only close but very reasonably priced. mind you, this was late at night and this is what I call going the extra mile with a smile. Becky deserves a big raise. oh...the rooms and grounds looked well updated and well-kept.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

As previous posts stated, this place is in a great location: turn left and the promenade is right there! Pacific Beach in winter was pleasant, not crowded but not deserted. The bed was comfy, and there was extra seating and an old style banquette in the kitchen area. Small bathroom and a tub that needed reglazing, but it was all clean, and we were pleased enough to stay 5 days.
Ground floor units have a rear door that lets you out between buildings, and it was a plus one morning when we had to retrieve our parked car, about a block away. I'd stay again.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Oh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

We had a one bedroom suite with kitchenette. What a great location!! So good there were never any parking spaces. I noticed there were cars parked for the hotel that never left the entire time we were there (work trucks etc). Would lead me to believe there were residents in the neighborhood using the lot. As we had to wake up hour on the hour to try to find a spot!! One night we even said FORGET IT as we couldn't find anywhere to park (yes in January) and gambled with being towed!! It would be worth the owners time and money to find alternatives for his guests.

Rooms were great, staff was horrible. I don't think I got two words from front desk during checkin or check out!

  • Liked — Location/Kitchenette/back door for bottom floor room
  • Disliked — Comfort of room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We visit San Diego several times a year and always stay at Diamond Head Inn. We love having a kitchenette plus being so close to the boardwalk. The rooms are large and convenient to places in the area. Walking the board walk is a must both for exercise and experiencing the "culture". GThere are great restaurants along the way plus great coffee places. The continental breakfast isn't much but at least something to start the day.

  • Liked — Reasonable and convenient
  • Disliked — Getting a bit tired and needs some renovations
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Head Inn

Address: 605 Diamond St, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diamond Head Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Diamond Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Head Hotel San Diego
Diamond Head San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.