We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price but poor accomodations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Triangle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Triangle Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Triangle Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5550 Clairemont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #193 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
seattle, United States
1 review
“Good price but poor accomodations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The price was very good for this hotel but the amenities were poor. Could not get the A/C temperature right, way too noisy of A/C, always off and on all night. Shower was good, lighting was awful and room almost stark it was so empty of decor. Toilet ran all the time, had to close the door. Not the best area of town. Good location if going between La Jolla and San Diego. Staff was indifferent, not very friendly. Breakfast was better than I had anticipated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    33
    16
    9
See reviews for
35
16
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Rafeal, Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel room was decorated all right, but the hotel is a cement block with no view, dark, no outdoor area except some really uncomfortable iron chairs by the main road in the parking lot. They had no newspapers. I did like the waffle maker in the breakfast room. Some were nice, others chewed gum and lacked any kind of professional attitude. I am grateful to the afternoon manager letting me leave and not charge me. The morning person did not want to refund me, even when I told her I felt unsafe. SOme dicey drunks banged up, walking around and in the elevator.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Very good value for the price. Personal very friendly and accommodating. Came in very late from Hawaii, 10:30 and was met at the desk by Jesus, very nice and funny guy, answered all our questions gave us a great room (212) not too noisy, and very clean. The breakfast is Best Western standard fare, waffles, cereals, coffee, cocoa, doughnuts,bread, muffins, etc. Room was kept very clean, and well stocked. The grounds are well kept and no "strange" people hanging around. Room cleaning is great, the supervisor checked it 2 times during our 7 day stay, asked if their was any thing that could be done to make it better, not really! Well worth it. Some people say you get what you pay for, we got more than! Aloha

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I'm sorry, but strong bleach odors don't make for a pleasant or healthy environment! We asked to change, but were told there were only smoking rooms and there were plenty of them. We ended up in a room on the street and because of the extremely strong bleach smells, we had to leave the window wide open to the street noise just for some relief from the smell. Altogether, this was s terrible experience! I wish I'd packed it up and gone to another motel! I want my money back and they should make this room a noisy storage room!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you are looking for BEST value for your buck...try this hotel! The guy who owned the Porsche in the parking lot did as did we, there in San Diego for business! Yes it may look a bit tired and worn from the outside but the rooms are large, very clean, obviously updated, lovely beds and a very clean and fresh looking washroom. Certainly not your boutique classy place, but very easy to stay at for a few days. Perfect complimentary continental breakfast...gotta love the waffle making machine and a price you can't beat! Try to get a room in the back area.

Room Tip: Choose room at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Triangle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Triangle Inn

Address: 5550 Clairemont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Triangle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Triangle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Triangle Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Triangle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.