We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mission Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mission Bay to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2575 Clairemont Drive, San Diego, CA 92117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #128 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great value budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and for the price we paid, considered this a very good value. In addition to an inexpensive on line rate, we also got free wifi, free breakfast and free parking. The location cannot be beat as it was just off I5 (like 1 minute) off the freeway and just as easy to get on the freeway. Located less than 10 minutes north of the downtown area and maybe 5 minutes south of La Jolla, the location was also very convenient to the Mission Beach area and we had lots of meals there. Check in was very easy and Bob (or was it Bill) was very helpful, even recommending some local restaurants.

The breakfast consisted of at least several "hot" items such as bacon, sausage and eggs,
sausage mcmuffin another day and egg,cheese and ham omelet another day. The choices also include the waffle station, donuts and cereals as well. Three types of juice, coffee, hot chocolate, yogurt and fruit round out the other breakfast offerings. This is a very good, complementary breakfast.

Check out was just as quick and pleasant as check in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariel D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I was so happy to see you were happy with our property and staff. We work hard to provide a superior guest experience, and I'm glad we were able to provide that for you.

If I can be of further assistance in the future, feel free to contact me directly at 619-275-5700 x 393 or mdonovan@hotelpros.biz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    111
    58
    18
    11
See reviews for
144
56
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We arrived 3 hours late due to a plane delay and the hotel was more than accomodating. We had requested a 3rd floor room on the end and wound up with a 3rd floor room four doors down from the end. The room was clean and looked just like the website. Breakfast was fabulous! We had egg and cheese omlets, fresh doughnuts and pastries, waffles, sausage, bacon, cereal, fruit and toast. It was included in the room rate. We also had to leave very early and they arranged a taxi for us at 4:45am. It arrive 10 minutes early which was nice. Overall, we would stay here again. It was a good location, price and experience.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor was the best because it was quiet and you did not see the headlights as cars pulled in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariel D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with our staff, breakfast selection and rooms.

If you decide to return to San Diego, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 619-275-5700 x 393 or mdonovan@hotelpros.biz for your reservation needs.

We look forward to your return,

Mariel Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Was in San Diego for my grandson's graduation from Marine Corp graduation and stayed 2 nights. I picked this hotel because they were close, reasonable and accepted small pets. I had to travel with my puppy because she had not had all her shots and couldn't be boarded, however she was kennel trained. The room was on ground floor, very clean, spacious and very comfortable. Even though it appeared the hotel was full, I could not hear outside noises. The first day, the breakfast was late and I couldn't wait. The 2nd day it was early, a very nice woman was handling everything and was very plentiful and good. The ONLY "complaint" I would have about this hotel is they advertise as being pet friendly and charge $15.00 extra a day for a pet. I think the amount is reasonable, however when I asked at the front desk where to take the dog to go to the bathroom I was told across Interstate 5 at a park or across another busy street which is the yard of a church! I felt they should have a grassy area set aside for pets especially since they had a daily charge. I was very uncomfortable walking to an area in the dark I was not familiar with.
On the positive side, the elevator is nice as there is no ice machine on ground level but is right by the elevator on 2nd floor. As I stated before, the room and grounds were very clean and nice. Every employee I interacted with was very friendly. I specifically requested no maid service. Even though the puppy was kenneled, I didn't want anyone else in the room while I wasn't there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariel D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I am very happy to see you were satisfied with our rooms, staff, and breakfast area.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience of not having a grassy area for your puppy to use. I would love the opportunity to speak with you about this matter further so we may correct the situation. If you get a free moment, please contact me at 619-275-5700 x 393 or mdonovan@hotelpros.biz.

Congratulations to your grandson for graduating from the Marine Corp!

Best regards,
Mariel Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My family and i took a trip to San Diego and stayed at the best western. when we checked in Jesse and the other staff members were very welcoming. The rooms were very clean and accommodated all our needs breakfast was good with a lot of variety they have staff in the breakfast room ready to help with any assistants. Over all we felt very comfortable with our stay at the best western and will always return when going to San Diego.
THANK YOU GUYS!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariel D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I appreciate you taking time to express your thoughts on your recent stay here at the Best Western Mission Bay. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with our staff.

When you to return to San Diego, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 619-275-5700 extension 393 or mdonovan@hotelpros.biz for your reservation needs.

We look forward to your return,

Mariel Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mission Bay

Address: 2575 Clairemont Drive, San Diego, CA 92117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mission Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Mission Bay is a family-oriented, pet-friendly property centrally located in the heart of San Diego, just minutes away from all San Diego has to offer. We are a SeaWorld Vacations Preferred Partner hotel and our rooms feature soothing decor, quality furnishings, and modern amenities for entertainment, business, and traveling convenience. With Spanish-Mission inspired architecture and contemporary style, the Best Western Mission Bay’s spacious accommodations are within walking distance of beautiful Mission Bay. Relax on San Diego’s 70 miles of beautiful sandy beaches, enjoy an invigorating sail, explore Mission Bay’s 14 miles of peaceful paths, go deep sea fishing, play a round of golf or view a spectacular sunset. Our 99 room hotel delivers an inviting mix of warm, Southern California ambiance and modern efficiency. Enjoy lifestyle enhancing services and amenities – Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High-Speed Internet, Fitness Center, Business Center, Cable TV with HBO Programming, Outdoor Pool and Whirlpool Spa, Activity Desk and Free Parking. Every room is equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea maker, iron and board, AM/FM alarm clock and complimentary toiletries. With easy access to all attractions, visit SeaWorld San Diego, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Wild Animal Park, Legoland, Old Town San Diego, the Gas Lamp Quarter, Little Italy, downtown San Diego, and Seaport Village. Watch the Padres take the field at nearby Petco Park, or see the Chargers play at Qualcomm Stadium. Attend an event at the San Diego Convention Center, soak up the sun and surf at Pacific Beach and Mission Beach, take a shopping trip to Tijuana, Mexico, or take a sail from one of the many marinas along the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.