We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served it's purpose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Mission Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Mission Valley to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Mission Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   631 Camino Del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #168 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Served it's purpose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

The photos make the "suite" look larger than it is. As other guests mentioned, it is one average sized hotel room with a wall and a sliding door separating the two rooms. We had a King suite. I don't know if all of the rooms are set up this way, but a downfall was the A/C was in the living room area (where our young child slept) and a wall fan blew air into the King suite. Our daughter's side was nice and cool (where the A/C unit was) and our side was a bit stuffy. Thankfully, we packed a small fan! I also took another guest's advice and packed some lavendar linen spray, as the hotel did have a "smell" (damp/urine smell). It was very obvious the first day, but it seemed to be better as the days went on. Overall, this hotel served it's purpose. We were only in the room for our daughter's naptime and to sleep at night. Thankfully, we did not have a pool view room, because it would have been very noisy. There were big kids in the pool until 10 (maybe even later) each night and they were quite loud. The bed and bed linens were very comfy and it was wonderful to see plenty of pillows and soft, clean towels available! The breakfast was ok. We are not big breakfast eaters, so a bagel and piece of fruit was fine for us. There were eggs, sausage, waffles, muffins, and pastries but we did not try any. The one thing that really bothered my husband and I was the awful water pressure in the shower! We jokingly said we hoped Shamu would splash us, so it really would feel like we got a shower that day! In summary, the hotel was clean, the staff was very friendly, the location was convenient (gas, mall & restaurants nearby).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, eCommerce Coordinator at Comfort Suites Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 24, 2009
Dear LoveThePhoenixSun,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to the San Diego area. We appreciate your time in completing the online review and giving us your feedback.

We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed our comfortable beds and clean accommodations. Our location is most definitely convenient to all the area attractions, as well as the mall and several restaurants. Thank you for complimenting our staff on our friendly service. It is always rewarding for the entire staff to hear that our guests feel they're receiving the high level of customer service they deserve! It would have been our pleasure to take care of any inconvenience you experienced in your room. Please don't hesitate to call the front desk so that we can have the opportunity to do anything we can to assist you.

Thanks, again, for detailing your experience and for noting that you would recommend us to a friend.

Come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
eCommerce Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    78
    58
    47
    49
See reviews for
150
46
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

The hotel is in a good location. Close to freeway, but not so close that it's noisy. The outside of the hotel and lobby are beautiful. The front desk staff was the best! Very helpful and professional. The pool was nice. Located in the center of the complex and surrounded with lush vegetation. The room was described as a two room suite. The room was actually a large single room divided by a sliding french type door. The a/c was located in one end of the room and once the sliding door was closed it made the other sleeping area stuffy. The king bed was comfortable, but the murphy bed (pull out sofa) was not at all comfortable. The room was dated, carpet was loose and dirty, and the worse part was the smell in the room. The smell was a urine/mold smell that was bad enough to where it woke me in the middle of the night. Fortunately, I'd packed a bottle of Fabreeze and used it to get rid of the smell. There was a $7.00 per night charge for parking. The hotel we stayed at earlier in the week didn't charge for parking. We talked to another couple at the hot tub and they told us they had the same exact room (Friday night stay) and paid $60.00 less than what we paid. The pool and staff were wonderful, but I would not recommend this hotel due to the smell and cost. We stayed at three different hotels while in San Diego and this one was the most expensive and dirtiest. Yes, they did have a continental breakfast, but that breakfast wasn't worth the higher cost of our stay. The next time we visit San Diego we'll look for a hotel that gives us a better value for our money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, eCommerce Coordinator at Comfort Suites Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 14, 2009
Dear cruiselover801,

We are so happy to hear that you thought our staff was "the best" because delivering a high level of customer service is extremely important to us. Please know that we are so sorry to hear of the few inconveniences you experienced. We always appreciate the opportunity to assist in any way we can to ensure that you enjoy your stay, preferably while we are still accommodating you. We certainly hope that you will change your mind and choose to stay with us again. Don't forget to check our website for discounts!

Thank you for your feedback and time in completing the review.

Sincerely,
eCommerce Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed here for 3 night with our two young kids. We had the room with the king bed and the bunk beds. This worked great for us and the kids loved it. The divider didn't block any noise. Both rooms had a TV and lots of dresser space. Had a microwave and fridge. Room was quiet at the back of the hotel.
Pool and hot tub were fine but very small pool towels provided.
Breakfast included muffins,danish and a toaster for bagels/toast. Juice/coffee/tea. Saw some fresh fruit on the last day (apple/bananas).
The high speed connection was free and worked well. Parking was $7/day.
Close to shopping and lots of resturants.
For the $49 a night deal we got on Hotwire this hotel was a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, eCommerce Coordinator at Comfort Suites Mission Valley, responded to this review, May 24, 2009
Dear pepsipeople,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent 3 night visit to the San Diego area! We appreciate your feedback and your time in sharing your experience with other travelers.

Our Kids Suite is truly the best choice for any family! The bunk beds are always a kid favorite, the microwave and refrigerator are great conveniences, and the whole family can enjoy the extra space. High-speed internet access is always complimentary, and so is our breakfast buffet! As you mentioned, what a great deal at such an affordable rate!

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
eCommerce Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We decided to stay at this hotel for a 5 day birthday trip to Sea World for my two daughters. Booked two suites for us our two children and my parents.
Everything was quite adequate until we started having bites and itching assuming it was just mosquito bites we went home only to have to go to the doctors, pediatricians etc. for these persistent bites that proved to be mite bites. The doctor told us you can get them from bedding and assumed since we were fine when we left home before our trip it was from poorly cleaned bedding at the hotel.
Management has not been helpful and denies it could have been their hotel when they had the room checked but that was two days after we checked out and any bedding was hopefully by then changed but we obviously werent so lucky with ours.
Still dealing with the nightmare and no help from them.
Do not stay at this hotel!

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, eCommerce Coordinator at Comfort Suites Mission Valley, responded to this review, April 21, 2009
Dear melindamore,

We are extremely sorry to hear about the unfortunate incident that occurred during your recent trip to the San Diego area.

We would like to assure you that we have taken this matter seriously and have exhausted all resources to investigate this issue. Our professional outside contractor inspected our property, including the room you were staying in, and came up with absolutely no findings. The professionals also assured us that had the mites come from our property, it would have taken much more than simply changing the bedding to get rid of them. We also learned that they can actually be picked up from almost anywhere, especially public areas like the beach or even a sitting booth.

Comfort Suites Mission Valley takes pride in providing comfortable, clean and spacious accommodations. As part of a well known and respected hotel brand, we must comply with all the standards and procedures expected, including regular inspections by contracted professionals. We must also comply with all city/state health guidelines and regulations.

Again, we are truly sorry to hear about what your family had to endure. Hopefully, this unfortunate incident will not deter you from visiting the wonderful San Diego area in the future.

Sincerely,
eCommerce Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

I had a 5-night stay at this hotel during a business trip. During my stay I was interviewing people in my room and the suite part came in handy. The King suite I had was smaller than other Suite hotels but nonetheless, charming. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, especially Laura at the front desk. She always greeted me by my name each time she saw me. The lobby is very cozy and well decorated and you can enjoy their coffee bar there 24/7 as well. The breakfast was well stocked and there was plenty of space inside as well as on the patio.
My only complaint was that the air conditioner had a funny smell to it, which didn't bother me all that much since I was there in November. This hotel is in a busy area, with nearby restaurants that you can walk to but any of the outside noise didn't bother me, and I was towards the front of the hotel. I had a great experience at this hotel and I would recommend it and stay there again.

  • Liked — The central location and having a separate living room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, eCommerce Coordinator at Comfort Suites Mission Valley, responded to this review, December 26, 2008
Dear jlund,

Thank you so very much for all of your great compliments on our property. Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate your time in completing the review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience and that our front desk staff was always friendly and helpful. We will definitely make sure that Laura gets your note on how much you appreciated her superior service and for always greeting you by name each time she saw you.

You also mentioned that not only did you find your suite charming and accommodating, but you also enjoyed our lobby's 24/7 coffee bar as well as our complimentary breakfast buffet. We are so pleased that you had such a great stay with us and are delighted that you will stay with us again and also recommend us to family and friends.

Thanks again for all of your wonderful compliments! We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
eCommerce Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

We booked one of the "suites" for 4 nights with my wife, 2 year old son and a friend. The friend was to sleep in the pull out in the "separated" room. The rooms are only separated by a sliding french door, so don't really give any privacy and do nothing for sound. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is quite good with GREAT waffles that you make your self on this nifty waffle maker. The eggs taste like they are powdered eggs that were made 6 hours ago, but are still edible. Very kid friendly hotel, lots of families around. I would recommend going to sleep early as the walls, floors and seems doors are paper thin. In the morning you can hear EVERYTHING going on. You can hear the kids screaming next door, the wife yelling at the husband to get ready across the hall and the cleaning staff vacuuming down the hall. Room cleanliness is good, bathroom was quite nice and they have nice comforters and pillows on the bed. All in all a nice hotel, probably would not stay there again due to the noise in the morning. Location is good with freeway next door (no you can't hear the freeway from the hotel) so access to Zoo, Sea world and downtown is only 10 min away.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Loud in the morning, paper thin walls...
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

After reading some reviews before I stayed there, I decided to give it a try. The room was ok nothing fabulous, a little towards the old side. Service and breakfast were typical. Everything in their ad was up-to-date. The location is perfect! Only down side was the noise from the kids, but that was the risk I had to take.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, eCommerce Coordinator at Comfort Suites Mission Valley, responded to this review, November 12, 2008
Dear WilliamSDiego,

We definitely agree with you: our location is perfect! We're just 3 miles from the San Diego Zoo and only 5 miles from Sea World San Diego. Our prime location, affordable rates and great amenities all make an attractive combination for families, couples and business travelers.

Thank you for completing the online review. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
eCommerce Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Mission Valley

Address: 631 Camino Del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Mission Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re traveling on business or spending time with family and friends, Comfort Suites’ convenient location is close to everywhere you need to be in San Diego. In the heart of San Diego’s Mission Valley, 10 minutes from Downtown and most major attractions. Winner of Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award recognizing exceptional service, facilities and hospitality. Free hot deluxe brekfast buffet daily! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Mission Valley Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites San Diego
San Diego Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.