We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff of any hotel EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #56 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best staff of any hotel EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I've been staying at this Holiday Inn Express Old Town off-and-on for 8 months. The location is outstanding--very close to Old Town San Diego, USS MIDWAY, San Diego Airport and Commuter Terminal, SeaWorld, and (for salvage enthusiasts) Maidoff Brother's Nautical Antiques. Their breakfast is terrific, rooms always spotless, but what keeps me coming back is the staff!

Kylene, Vangie, and Brian (Roarke) man the front desk and are quick to help out with anything from extra room amenities, to restaurant recommendations, to tips on how to get the best deals on tickets for SeaWorld and Legoland. They've even gone so far as to print out directions for non-local destinations--better service than even the priciest of luxury hotels. They're also terrific for groups, letting some of mine use their lobby, breakfast room, and patio spaces with ZERO hassle (and more impressively zero notice). Fernando, their shuttle driver, is similarly helpful with directions and off-route stops.

Yasmine Zaya is the most engaged manager I've ever seen--I regularly see her checking up on guests and their experiences. I frequently book large groups at her hotel, and she's been able to make and change reservations without any hassle. It's the attitudes of her and her staff that keep me coming back to this HIX.

I spend about 120 nights/year in hotels, and this is by far my favorite! Vacations, business, families, students, fraternities, you name it--all will do well to stay at this Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: The hot-tub suite is worth the extra money. The hotel is extremely well insulated, so any room is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. First, we would like to thank you for your return business with us over the last 8 months. We are very thankful to have returning guests like you. We are very pleased that our staff and amenities were able to accommodate you and your guests during your stay. Here at the Holiday Inn Express, we work hard to ensure that all our guests have the ultimate hotel experience and we want to thank you for your feedback.
We train our staff to work directly with our guests, we are happy to hear that they were very helpful. Thank you again for sharing your wonderful experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    186
    72
    29
    16
See reviews for
183
145
29
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and I can not adequately express how impressed I am with this hotel and its staff. What makes it great is that its conveniently located in Old Town San Diego with a free shuttle to the airport, and to local main attractions (i.e. Seaworld, Old Town, MSS Midway, etc), they provide breakfast and have great rooms. All of this is to be expected of a great hotel, what takes the Holiday Inn Express at Old Town to another level is their dedicated staff including Yasmine, Kylene, Vangie and the entire staff go above and beyond for whatever is needed. We needed last minute changes to our reservation, they made it happen. We needed access to one of their spaces in the late evening hours, they made it available. I am just so impressed with the entire staff at Holiday Inn Express at Old Town and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Get one of the corner suites...they are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
First of all we want to thank you so much for your return to our hotel! We are so pleased that your stay was great in every way. Here at the Holiday Inn Express we appreciate your comments as this helps us be responsive and make sure we are delivering the best experience possible for our guests. We are so glad that our staff was friendly and able to help in any way possible. We thank you again for a great review and hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for one night and it was great because our primary need was to be next to the airport, and our goal was just to rest for one night and not to do sightseeing. The hotel is neat and comfortable, but if you want to do sightseeing you should better get another hotel. As we had the afternoon free, we took a taxi to the San Diego Zoo (highly recommended) and the hotel had a free shuttle back. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the zoo, but only once at about 9am. Free shuttle also to the airport, you should just arrange with reception.

Room Tip: I read some travellers complained about the highway noise, but I really did not hear a thing. Maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport Old Town. We appreciate your review and we are glad our location was able to accommodate your stay. We are glad to hear that our shuttle service was able to accommodate you. Thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had the best service that I've ever had in all my travels. The staff was the most accomodating and helpful group that we have ever had the pleasure of being around. They not only gave us the best tips on dining and travel but their shuttle service was also better than I've ever had. We were there for our son's Marine Corp graduation and time was very short on getting to our plane to leave the last day. They had everything all set up for us and were there and waiting. They picked us up and got us to every point we needed to be at in good time. They were all so very friendly and I have never felt so comfortable that I did there. They were a great group of people and I would stay there again JUST for that reason. Thank you to all of them. Josh, Alex, Kylene, Vangie, Dolores, Ferando, Roark, and a few others that I cannot remember their names. They made our stay there just so much less stressful that it would have been otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us, and sharing your feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to hear that our staff provided great service and that our location was convenient for your say. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff - they love what they do, and they had a great time taking care of you. We really appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again next time you visit beautiful South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had a great time during my stay this weekend. The staff was awesome from top to bottom. I was in town for Comic Con and the staff treated me like a guest in their home. Sounds corny but wholely accurate.

Room Tip: My room was facing the interstate and I couldn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport Old Town. We appreciate your review and we are glad our location was able to accommodate your stay during comic con weekend. We are glad to hear that our staff was friendly. Thank you again for your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We planned to spend 3 nights in San Diego and had booked at the San Diego Airport - Old Town based on the great rate and other reviews we had read. We were so pleased with this hotel that we extended our stay another 2 nights! The location of this property is exccellent. A short drive to many of the popular attractions and a 15 minute walk to the Old Town area. Or you can utilize the hotel's free shuttle van service to drop you off where you want to go and pick you up when you're done. We used the shuttle a couple of times, including to take the train downtown to see a concert at the marina. The hotel has free wifi, free secured parking, and free buffet style breakfast with the basic eggs, bacon or sausage, toast, pancakes, coffee, ceral, yogurt, etc. The breakfast wasn't the best we've had but it was sufficient. Another great benefit was the little convenience store located in the lobby. I expected the prices to be inflated but quite the opposite was true. The prices were excellent and very cheap. The property also has a small outdoor pool and hot tub. Both were clean and enjoyable. All in all, I would highly recommend staying at this location. We definitely will the next time we're in San Diego.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us, and sharing your feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to hear that our staff provided great service and that our location was convenient for your say. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff - they love what they do, and they had a great time taking care of you. We really appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again next time you visit beautiful South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our stay at Holiday Inn Express was wonderful. The staff was especially welcoming. Tylene , at the front desk, was absolutely awesome. She upgraded our room the King suite just because we liked it. She made sure we were comfortable and happy. This was our first time at this hotel and it was one of the best stays ever. We stayed only one day, left and came back a few days later and stayed for a week. Thank you for making our stay like home...we didn't really want to leave. Kudos to the Holiday Inn Express Old Town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side away from the freeway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Than you so much for your stay with us. We are so happy Your staff was able to accommodate you during your stay. Here at the Holiday Inn Express we appreciate your comments as this helps us be responsive and make sure we are delivering the best experience possible for our guests. Thank you for sharing your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town

Address: 1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#95 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.