We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families of Marines, not so much others” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #58 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for families of Marines, not so much others”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We chose to stay at this property because of its proximity to the Marine station where we would be attending our son's graduation from boot camp. If you're just there to spend as much time with your son as possible, and don't care too much about where you stay, then this is a great place to go. We were greeted very warmly at the front desk and given materials pertinent to boot camp graduation. One could have walked to the station's front gate almost as fast as driving (heavy traffic on graduation mornings). The cost was not bad either.

But that's where the utilitarian goodness stops. The location is pretty miserable: jammed between a very busy highway and a narrow city street in a rather shabby neighborhood. There's this wonderful deck outside the front office where you can sit and look out over the bay, but with all the cars whizzing by less than 25 yards away, it is way too noisy for any comfort. The room was very basic, a couple average comfort double beds. The jacuzzi was comfy and a little shielded from traffic noise, but also looked right out on the parking lot with lots of passers by.

Nothing wrong with the cleanliness or service. It is just a budget hotel for those with business nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport Old Town. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We are glad that our hotel was able to accommodate you during your stay. We are sorry that you were not too pleased with our location, but thanks again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    169
    69
    28
    16
See reviews for
169
135
28
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great hotel. Service is very good. Very convenient for USMC graduation and a great rate. There is a shuttle if you need to USMC graduation at MCRD. Parking is free, covered and safe. Would def stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback. We are pleased our hotel was able to accommodate your stay. We are happy to hear that our staff was friendly and we hope to welcome you someone soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Overall it was Ok, but on Sunday E did not want to drive and the hotels web page it says they have a complimentary shuttle service, to airport, attractions, cruise ship dock and convention center, when I asked for a ride to the cruise ship dock, I was told we do not go there but we can take you to the rapid transit station and you can catch the train, on the way back it was pouring with rain and although they did pick us up from there we were already soaking wet, when we returned they were going to pick up someone from the airport and car rental place, I did ask if we could get a ride to close to the airport and was told, we had to make the reservation 3 hrs before we go. So not a pleasant day at a very over priced hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport Old Town. Unfortunately, we are sorry that there was some misunderstanding with the shuttle service. We do ask that you give us a heads up as to when and where you would like to go, to refrain from confusion. We are sorry that you had to experience this on your stay and we will work to improve. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Pulled up to this hotel for a one night stay. Parking out front was tough, but plenty of good parking in the garage. Front desk staff was amazing, very friendly. We are Platinum members so we got the room upgrade to the jacazzi suite. The room was beautiful. the bathroom was huge. It all appeared very nice and clean.
We were happy because restaurants were close, in fact we ate at a Diners, Drive-in and Dives restaurant. Came back to the hotel watched tv on the nice flat screen. We had a great night sleep. Note to remember Wednesday morning is garbage day and the truck is noisy. Got up in the morning getting coffee and such ready. There is also a sink in the leaving area of the room, I my husband was on his way to fill up his water glass and what is crawling out of the overflow sink hole... a COCKROACK!!! That changes everything. I went through all my luggage, purse, backpack everything. That did me in. I will not be back. It is a beautiful hotel,but I can't do cockroaches.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear leahtots,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel on our way to take a cruise the next day. The check-in staff person was pleasant and helpful, The shuttle driver took us to Oldtown and recommended places for dinner, and he came back and picked us up when we were finished. We had the same excellent customer service experience the next day when we were taken to the cruise terminal. The front desk manager also went the extra mile in providing photocopies for me as well as faxing several several business documents that had to be done that morning. Oh yes, even the employee restocking the hot breakfast buffet made a point of being especially pleasant.
The property was clean and well cared for and the price was right. I will certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the freeway sign and check that the A/c works. Our "room service" was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are so happy you had a great stay at our site. We are so pleased that our staff was helpful and polite. Here, it is our duty here at the Holiday Inn Express to make sure our guests have the best experience and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Surprising to see a Holiday Inn on the edge of a residential neighborhood. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was what you would expect. There is a small but nice outdoor pool. The rooms are small and the air conditioning is old school but it worked with not too much noise.
To get to the historical Old Town, it is quite a walk. Over 7 blocks, so for the elderly, you need to get in your vehicle and drive to access parking at Old Town. Old Town is a unique historical village which is surprisingly intact. The history buff will enjoy the buildings and there are plenty of shopping opportunities that range from touristy to excellent. The leather shops had some excellent deals. There are plenty of eating establishments in Old Town and most focus on Spanish food. They do a nice job of presenting a party like atmosphere at most of these places. So the Holiday Inn Express is a long walk but it does put you in close proximity of the airport, San Diego and the interstate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport Old Town. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed Old Town; it is a nice historic place. . We thank you for your business and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Compared to other holiday inn expresses the room was less than good. Bathroom smelled of mold. Looked dated-rusty fixtures pealing paint. The beds were comfy and everything else was fine, but disappointed in the esthetics....a little over priced for things above!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylene s, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are very sorry you were not happy with your room. Here at the Holiday Inn we appreciate your comments as this helps us be responsive and make sure we are delivering the best experience possible for our guests. Again it is very unfortunate that your stay was not as you hoped; however, we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town

Address: 1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#95 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.