We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can do better for the price. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2485 Hotel Circle Place, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #156 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Can do better for the price. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The rooms were clean. The staff was friendly, but the breakfast buffet is more aggravation than it is worth. Every day it is overcrowded in the small room where the buffet is. And every day they were out on something. One day tea bags, next day bananas, next day bagels. We ate out twice just to avoid the hassle there. They also charge 10.95 for parking a night in their cramped parking spots on site. The negatives made this a negative experience. Try elsewhere

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello Packmule92,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay with us in San Diego. I am pleased that you found the rooms to be clean and the staff friendly I know that is a make or break for a hotel stay. Our staff strives to provide exceptional service and comfortable and clean rooms. I apologize that breakfast did not meet your expectations.

I hope that you choose to stay with us again during your next visit to San Diego.

Hospitably yours,

Stephanie Downs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    249
    145
    72
    39
See reviews for
366
91
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

For my honeymoon we stayed here for just one night. The service was quick and easy. The price was reasonable. The location was perfect and the hotel was in good condition. We got to watch free fireworks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Jessica,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Congratulations on your wedding I hope you had a great rest of your honeymoon.

We look forward to having you be our guest again during your next San Diego visit.

Hospitably yours,

Stephanie Downs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Hotel had plenty parking space. The room was clean and comforters were not so generic, bed and pillows were real comfortable. We had two tv's and didn't have to fight over watching a certain channel. the restroom was real clean too. The complimentary breakfast was good but, not great. I even saw two guys taking trays full of apples and other items out of the breakfast room. Overall the experience was good can't complain.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Good Afternoon TheOneOn,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us in San Diego. I am glad that you found our property to have a good value for the price paid. We are excited about our bedding and I am glad that you were able to enjoy it. We just recently installed it in all our rooms and we are very happy with the added comfort it has provided.

We look forward to having you be our guest again in the future.

Hospitably yours,

Stephanie Downs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, TN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, traveling with two tweens. The separate room with bunk beds and a TV, separated by a lockable, sliding French Door, was a nice feature for privacy and space. The windows of the French door are 90% covered, with a gauzy fabric. Space is a little tight compared to what would usually be called a "suite," but it would be hard to find this layout at this price point anywhere else.

If parking in the hotel garage was free, I would have given this hotel four stars. As others have noted, breakfast is decent at this slightly older property, the bed was comfortable, and the hotel was clean. We would have parked on the street, but the hotel across the street looked pretty sketchy, and we didn't want to park our rental in front of it. The only other drawback to our hotel was the somewhat confusing layout of "Hotel Circle." Thank goodness we had a GPS!

I would stay here again, because even though you pay for parking, the hotel rate is still substantially less than at other chains in San Diego, and you do get free WiFi. Having some privacy was also important to us. Still, having to pay for parking in a hotel location that is not anywhere near a downtown or heavily-trafficked tourist area really rankled me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our "Kids Suites" are definitely a HIT with the families everyone seems to love the added privacy of the French doors and the additional TV provided and speciousness of those rooms.

I hope you choose to stay with us again during your next visit to San Diego.

Hospitably yours,

Stephanie Downs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

A decent place to stay, clean, centrally located, reasonable price but don't expect fancy. The breakfast was decent as well, food seemed to be replenished quickly and was included in room rate. Pool available. For a couple of bucks more, I might opt for a hotel that offered more. Paid parking a huge negative. Wifi worked well and is free.rooms are what you would expect but very clean.

Room Tip: King room was large with large bathroom but no sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We only stayed for one night but the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful! My kids thought the desk clerk staff was a hoot! He gave us a good recommendation for pizza. Parking is an additional cost. Bed and room was spacious and clean. Never even saw the pool and breakfast was hearty yet crowded! It was a nice place to stay and easy to get to/centrally located. It's not much to look at from the outside meaning you will not have a view of anything special but it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our property and that my TEAM was friendly and met / exceeded your expectations. I wish you would have gotten the opportunity to enjoy our pool area it Is one of our most popular amenities.

We look forward to having you be our guest again in the future.

Hospitably yours,

Stephanie Downs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso viejo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We came down for a last minute adventure to San Diego and decided to find a room once we got here. Unfortunately there was a convention happening, so all the hotels were rather pricey. This hotel quoted us $135 for a room with 2 full beds. So when the desk attendant told me it would be $167 I was surprised. Turns out they charge $10 for parking!!! Why are you charging me to park at your establishment when I've just paid you to rent a room? That's ridiculous!!
Otherwise, the room is very nice and renovated. The pool area is great, as it has a large pool, plus a 1 foot deep pool for smaller kids, and a jacuzzi. Overall the experience was good, but I wouldn't come back simply because of having to pay to park.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area

Address: 2485 Hotel Circle Place, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's for a family vacation, a romantic getaway or when you're traveling on business, you can’t beat the friendly service and comfortable accommodations offered at the Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo/SeaWorld. This Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award winner offers a convenient location, excellent service and extra amenities, all backed by our Signature Guarantee. -Located on San Diego’s famous Hotel Circle, 5 minutes to SeaWorld, Zoo, Downtown and San Diego’s world-famous beaches -Five minutes from the new Riverwalk Golf Course and Mission and Fashion Valley Malls -Free deluxe breakfast buffet includes an assortment of pastries and muffins, toast, fresh fruit, choice of hot and cold cereals with milk, espresso, coffee, tea and a variety of juices. -Winner of Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award recognizing exceptional service, facilities and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn And Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area
Comfort Inn Hotel Zoo
San Diego Comfort Inn Suites Zoo
Comfort Inn San Diego Zoo
Comfort Inn Suite Zoo Sea World

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.