We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT FOR THE PRICE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2485 Hotel Circle Place, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #141 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOR THE PRICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I will preface this review by saying that this hotel was our "second choice" for a hotel for our April trip to SeaWorld. We had booked a much more expensive hotel on the waterfront, and then decided that the budget for our little trip was ballooning, so we sought more economical accommodations. I was prepared to be disappointed after getting my heart set on the our first fancy choice, however, this hotel turned out to be a really happy compromise for us!

We booked directly on the hotel website, and were able to get a discount with our BCAA (AAA) card. Our room was a King Suite with bunk beds. It was perfect - two separate sleeping areas (door that closes between) with a TV in each room. The kids bunk room was towards the back of the suite, which is great, because then the parents have access to the bathroom and the door out to the hallway, without having to tiptoe past sleeping kids. The suite was not what I would call "roomy", but it had everything we needed and lots of storage. Also, the fixtures and furnishing looked clean and fairly new. Overall, the room was just great for our 3 night visit.

Here are some things we really liked about this hotel:

1. Location: it was less than 10 minutes by car to SeaWorld, and the route was really easy to navigate - a blessing for us "small town folks" who get a little intimidated driving in big cities.

2. Nearby conveniences: as long as you're OK with eating at "chain" restaurants, there were many choices for dining within about 5 minutes. We went to the Cheesecake Factory one evening and Joe's Crab Shack another. Both times it was less than 15 minutes between the time we left the hotel and the time we were seated.

3. The Pool: I will admit that living in snow for 7 or 8 months of the year means our family goes a bit "ga-ga" every time we see a palm tree or a bird-of-paradise, but to our Canadian eyes the pool was totally lovely! Nothing fancy, but clean, lots of comfy seating, a good-sized hot tub and nice landscaping (including those beloved palm trees!). The pool is shallow on either end and deep in the middle, so smaller kids have two places to play. But note- there's not a "kiddie" area at the pool. Kids who are good swimmers and who are 4 ft. or taller will have the most fun.

4. The Breakfast: offerings included waffles, bagels, English muffins, yogurt, fruit, etc. There was usually one "hot" item each day - on the days we were there they had biscuits and gravy on two of the days, and sausage and hashbrowns the other. If you're like my husband and need protein - they had hard-boiled eggs in the cooler with the yogurt. So basically, the breakfast was super-convenient and had everything we needed to get going in the mornings. (I will confirm what has been mentioned in previous reviews - we definitely noticed that the later it got, the more crowds, noise and disorganization descended upon the breakfast area. This never really bothered us because we were finished and gone before it got too crazy).

5. VALUE: Hmmmm - a clean, pleasant SUITE, in a well-cared-for hotel, in a great location, with lots of parking, a fun pool, complimentary breakfast, nice staff, for less than $150 a night - where do I sign?

Just a bit of extra info - we used some of the money we saved by changing hotels to treat our family to the "Dolphin Encounter" at SeaWorld. We'd do that again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    215
    111
    59
    34
See reviews for
304
61
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Despite some noise problems described below, the Comfort Inn was definitely a comfortable stay with our large guest room & bathroom. The bed was comfortable. Decent mirrored wardrobes rather than the open hanging space a lot of similar motels have. Not much of a view from our room, just the I-8 freeway and ramps.

BUT, there were a lot of kids – running in the halls playing soccer including the floor above @ 5 in the morning. We found out later that there were several youth soccer teams staying in the hotel. This was over the Thanksgiving weekend. The breakfast room was coping badly with so many attending at the same time. A lot of guests were choosing their selections and taking them back to their rooms. But, the breakfast had a good selection to choose from. Cereal, eggs sausages, bagels, breads, good coffee, juices etc.

Also, hotel staff kept their cool and were very friendly and helpful.

Despite the noise, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was a very good hotel for family of 4. Easy to find and close to all of the attractions in San Diego and also to the Beaches.
Breakfast was good, although after a week eating the same thing did get a little boring (scramble eggs and sausage or biscuits and gravy) Waffles, toast or danish.
We had a problem with our air conditioner and they moved us to another room right away, excellent service!
Sadly the pool was being repaired and we could not use it, this was a real shame as our children love to swim.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a pretty awsome hotel for my family of six. Except the freeway noise that didn't seem to be reduced by the thin walls of the hotel. The room was generous size with two queen beds and a pull out sofa. The breakfast was good except for the fact that it was very crowded and they seemed to always be out of things. The pool was clean and a very comfortable temperature! The staff was pleasant and very helpful.

Room Tip: Find a way to get a room on the other side away from the freeway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My family stayed here for 4 nights. It was really outstanding. I travel A LOT and this is an incredible hotel. Their breakfast one day was so well-laid-out and excellent, I paid the hostess a tip, the first time I'd ever done that--they had fresh pineapple, strawberries, two flavors of waffles, western omelets, and a huge selection of cereals, breads, juices. The family suites are great, with a big, clean and near-new mattress for the king bedroom and a private door for the kids to have their bunk beds, and a large and clean bathroom. The pool and hot tub are outstanding. I found the front-desk staff very responsive to every detail. I would definitely stay at this place again if I were in San Diego. Probably the best thing about this place was that it was 10 minutes from the zoo, 10 minutes to the baseball park, 10 minutes to SeaWorld and about 15 minutes to the beach. Anything we wanted to, we could get there quickly and easily from this hotel. It is across the road from a shopping mall and about 20 good restaurants. And the price is well worth it--even though I used Choice points for my entire stay. This is a very clean, well-managed hotel and it can handle a lot of people. I was very surprised at how quiet the rooms were. The bedding and mattress was excellent, and gave us a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments I will be sure to pass on to all of our TEAM Members how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Easy to find, parking area near our rooms, appropriate breakfast, good coffee, nice location...also near d popular Fashion Valley mall with many nice stores & food outlets...few minutes distance to San Diego Zoo and Seaworld...not too far from Legoland Carlsbad...private and comfortable...safe and secure... Front desk cheerful and helpful and accommodating...they have all you need, just ask...I would recommend to friends and would come back to stay if I have the chance to go back to USA...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a trip advisor review. We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

First the plusses-there are only a couple of them. The rate for a "suite" was economical-which I'm sure is why this hotel fills up. But "suite" isn't that sweet. They've taken a standard room, cut it in half and voila-the "suite"! The "kid's room" with bunk beds has a window and some space. But mom and dad-if small, dark spaces bother you-go elsewhere. The beds are comfortable-I'll grant them that. The bathroom sink area is tiny, with a fridge right across from it. Those are the good points. Perhaps because this is "economical"-it attracts young families and adults that don't give a hoot how much noise they make at all hours. If you want peace and quiet-check into a Marriott. The breakfast is awful. First of all, the breakfast room is too small and not kept clean. There was syrup all over our seats and the floor had milk and cereal all over it. There was no one to even tell-let alone clean up.The choices were pathetic-yet common at low priced motels. Watery eggs, microwaved sausage, white bread and cheap sugary muffins and rolls. Even the juice was bad. Fortunately I bring my own cereal, so I used their milk. This area is far too small for the size of this place. Be VERY careful about your room location. The breakfast room is on the 4th floor next to rooms. And many rooms overlook the freeway. Overlooking the pool is best-but again, make certain you are far away from the breakfast area. Would I stay here again? No way! But I don't have small kids. There's a place for this, but not for couples or retired folks who would appreciate a decent breakfast and quiet, spacious rooms. I stayed at Comfort Inn in New Hampshire and Vermont and they were wonderful. I think I'll stick to the east coast.

Room Tip: Great for families with noisy kids. Everyone else go to a Marriott.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area Hotel
Comfort Inn Hotel Zoo
San Diego Comfort Inn Suites Zoo
Comfort Inn San Diego Zoo
Comfort Inn Seaworld
San Diego Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn San Diego
Comfort Inn Suite Zoo Sea World
Address: 2485 Hotel Circle Place, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#103 Business Hotel in San Diego
#141 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's for a family vacation, a romantic getaway or when you're traveling on business, you can’t beat the friendly service and comfortable accommodations offered at the Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo/SeaWorld. This Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award winner offers a convenient location, excellent service and extra amenities, all backed by our Signature Guarantee. -Located on San Diego’s famous Hotel Circle, 5 minutes to SeaWorld, Zoo, Downtown and San Diego’s world-famous beaches -Five minutes from the new Riverwalk Golf Course and Mission and Fashion Valley Malls -Free deluxe breakfast buffet includes an assortment of pastries and muffins, toast, fresh fruit, choice of hot and cold cereals with milk, espresso, coffee, tea and a variety of juices. -Winner of Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award recognizing exceptional service, facilities and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.