We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not very near the zoo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2485 Hotel Circle Place, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #141 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“not very near the zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

very spacious room and comfortable beds. Breakfast was a bit of a bun fight even out of their recommended busy times. If you want to eat in the evening it means dialling room service and they deliver from an outside restaurant. good price via expedia.com. Disappointing to have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    215
    111
    59
    34
See reviews for
304
61
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calexico, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a mini vacation with wife and two small kid. Staff was very helpful with anything we needed, crib; extra towels even helped me out on getting my money back when it got stuck in vending machine. Now for the important stuff.. Beds are oh so good; bathroom is large and very clean and great shower head. And free breakfast, what more can you ask for?/ This is a great hotel, would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Top floors always good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff was friendly and accommodating. (2-night stay) Room for 3-adults (2-queen size beds) and 2-kids (pull out sofa). Liked the fact that pull out sofa was located in seperate area with its own tv and a sliding door to close area off. Pull out sofa bed was bad. Very cheap and dirty plastic like cover. Mattress was thin, lumpy, and very bad. Two small boys rolled to center. Corners springs were broken and one had a tendency to fall through.
Bathroom door made access to (comode and shower only) hard to navigate. Did not like only sink located in room directly in front of first queen bed. This created a privacy matter when brushing teeth or washing up.
First night room had towels etc. 2nd night , no wash cloths or hand towels, just bath. Bath towels small and cheap. Pull out bed had not been touched by maid at all. No toiletries provided. Room very crowded with furniture.
Breakfast room on 4th floor carved out of maybe two previous suites? Hard to tell but traffic flow really dismal. Tables wobbled and people traffic caused spills and bumping. Food was typical breakfast items.
Did not like parking charge however all the hotels in area charge... shuttle to Zoo etc was easy and accessable.
Would definetly pick different hotel on next tripto San Diego area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmediacoord, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We are glad you found our staff friendly and accommodating, but were disappointed to hear of the issues you had during your two night stay. We apologize for the issues you encountered regarding the room as this does not reflect the high standards we strive to achieve with all our guests. If you would please call me at 619-881-6200 at your earliest convenience to discuss your stay further, I hope you will allow us the opportunity to earn back you patronage.

Stephanie Downs, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

OK, read the other reviews. They are generally accurate, so no need to repeat here. But, you weren't expecting the Ritz-Carlton, were you? The hotel is dated, every room is packed, and service is average, but the Comfort Inn is still a good value. I'll expand on a few items:

The rooms are huge. The bathroom is also huge and is among the cleanest I have experienced! The room has a FREE refrigerator, not a stocked mini-bar. The Sea World shuttle would have been nice if it wasn't completely booked in advance. So, plan ahead. Park on the street and avoid the $10 nightly parking fee! Don't stay here if you plan to spend a lot of time in the room. Go explore San Diego!

Room Tip: Spend as little time as possible in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmediacoord, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo/SeaWorld. We are glad to hear you were happy with our clean and spacious rooms and bathroom. It is with feedback such as yours, that allows us to examine and continue to improve service to our guests. We hope to welcome you back during your next trip to San Diego.

Stephanie Downs, General Manager 619-881-6200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke - On - Trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, as it says in the title close to SeaWorld and the Zoo, don't drive? The hotel provides a FREE shuttle to anywhere you want to go (utterly brilliant).

The room was great and large for the price, included breakfast which was more of a continental approach but great for an included price. Free Wifi, but had to pay for parking : (. The steakhouse next door is brilliant for evening meal. The hotels is conveniently located for San Diego and all tourist attractions in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for vacationing in San Diego, very close to many of the cities attractions.

Kudos to the staff; when we arrived at our room I quickly noticed the noise of a busy highway right outside our window. I immediately went back down are requested a room away from the highway and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We moved to the new room and found the shower curtain was missing, again they sent someone up right away to install a shower curtain. They were also very responsive to a problem we had with a clogged toilet (not a problem with the toilet, my son is famous for clogging them).

The hotel has been recently renovated; tile, fixtures, paint/wall paper, and furnishings are all newer and modern. Despite this, the hotel rooms and the hallways have a musty mildew smell throughout. At first it appeared to be just a slight odor, but it quickly became unpleasant (we stayed 4 nights). Obviously the smell is resonating from the sub-floor and walls since the carpeting and paint/wall paper is newer. I realize, with such a close proximity to the ocean this must be a common issue in this area, especially in older properties, but it could have (and should have) been addressed during the renovations. And although the room looked clean to the naked eye, the smells of mildew made if feel less clean.

The linens and towels were of low quality, clean and not excessively worn, but not soft or comfortable. The mattresses were very uncomfortable; each mattress in our room had an indention in the center so the two people sleeping in each bed were rolling into each other all night.

Breakfast was nothing special, typical continental breakfast with lots of breads; waffles, toast, muffins, biscuits, bagels, cereal, juice and coffee. They did have some sausage patties but they hardly looked edible (I did not see anyone eat them), the bananas were very green (not ripe enough to eat), and they had yogurt and hardboiled eggs. We eat breakfast outside of the hotel after the first morning.

And of course there’s the parking. The hotel charges $9 per night for parking, which I was aware of, but it still sucks. My understanding is that many hotels in this area charge for parking, and I know it’s common in big city downtown hotels where parking is extremely limited (New York , Boston, Chicago etc…), but this area does not seem to have the parking problems of those big city downtown areas. Parking should be complementary.

Although the staff was friendly and accommodating, and the property is okay if you’re on a tight budget and can get a good price. I will defiantly spend a little more for a nicer place that offers complementary parking next time I’m traveling in the San Diego area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmediacoord, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for recognizing our friendly and accommodating staff. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible service and we are happy to hear we were able to provide that level of service during your stay. I am sorry to hear the issues you experience, please rest assured the staff of each department has reviewed your comments and have taken actions to correct those issues. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope we are able to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations during your next stay in San Diego.

Stephanie Downs, General Manager 619-881-6200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We only stayed one night after a busy day at Sea World, and had to catch a very early flight. The location is close to Sea World and the airport, so it is very convenient. The room was pretty clean and well appointed. The front desk staff are friendly and very helpful. We left too early for breakfast, so I can't comment on that. The parking is very tight, and there is a parking fee. I thought the rates are very reasonable, so it is a good value. The only complaint that I have is that there didn't seem to be any restaurants close by, but that is a location issue, and no reflection on the hotel itself. Overall, a pretty good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area Hotel
Comfort Inn Hotel Zoo
San Diego Comfort Inn Suites Zoo
Comfort Inn San Diego Zoo
Comfort Inn Seaworld
San Diego Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn San Diego
Comfort Inn Suite Zoo Sea World
Address: 2485 Hotel Circle Place, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#103 Business Hotel in San Diego
#141 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's for a family vacation, a romantic getaway or when you're traveling on business, you can’t beat the friendly service and comfortable accommodations offered at the Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo/SeaWorld. This Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award winner offers a convenient location, excellent service and extra amenities, all backed by our Signature Guarantee. -Located on San Diego’s famous Hotel Circle, 5 minutes to SeaWorld, Zoo, Downtown and San Diego’s world-famous beaches -Five minutes from the new Riverwalk Golf Course and Mission and Fashion Valley Malls -Free deluxe breakfast buffet includes an assortment of pastries and muffins, toast, fresh fruit, choice of hot and cold cereals with milk, espresso, coffee, tea and a variety of juices. -Winner of Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award recognizing exceptional service, facilities and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.