We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2485 Hotel Circle Place, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #158 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had checked into this hotel after having a horrible, horrible experience of having some items of luggage stolen from our rental vehicle. This set us back hours in getting to San Diego and needless to say when we finally got there, we were well and truly over it. When we checked in we had the absolute pleasure of being checked in by Bobby, who was just fantastic. He sympathised with us about what had happened, upgraded us to a Kids Suite and gave us free parking. He also let me check use the front desks computer to check my emails etc, he was just so great. After having such an horrible experience, he really made my day by just being so friendly and helpful, he really went above and beyond. The hotel itself was nice, had a pool, a laundry, a business centre so you can access a computer, coffee and iced water readily available. Our room was lovely, a little small but it had a fridge, microwave, bath, a pretty average room, but it was lovely. The kids suite had a divider that divided the room in half so you had a queen bed and TV in one half and bunks and a TV in the other. I thought this was great as it allowed the adults to have some me time, and same with the kids. But you could still hear them, so you could keep an eye on things. The buffet breakfast that is included with the room was a nice average breakfast of bagels, cereal, eggs, waffles, coffee etc. It was packed though, lots of people, but we still managed to get a seat both mornings we were there and the food was always replaced pretty quickly if it ran out. There will be flyers under your door from the various take away joints around, and I overheard one of the other clerks telling another customer checking in that they don't endorse those flyers, only order from the hotels take out menu, so I was a bit disappointed that this wasn't pointed out to us, and we did order take out the first night we were there, just happened to be out of the hotels take out menu. It's nice and close to Seaworld and a short drive into the main part of San Diego, but it's a bit of a drive if you wanted to maybe go to dinner and have a few drinks. There aren't many restaurants within walking distance, but we had dinner in the steakhouse right next door which was really nice. All in all a nice hotel to stay in, I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    226
    119
    65
    36
See reviews for
328
72
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, CA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is over the top. From the minute I made the reservation I knew this would be a special trip. My family came from all over the United States to experience the graduation of my grandson from MCRD San Diego. We arrived Wednesday and the hotel had already arranged a shuttle to "Old Town San Diego" that evening for a meet and greet with other parents, family, and DI's of the recruits at the MCRD. The hotel shuttled us to and from the Marine base on Thursday for Family Day and Graduation on Friday. The staff was great from the beginning, they had maps and got directions for places we wanted to go. Our rooms were ready in the late morning and they allowed us to check in early. The shuttle driver, Mr. Jordan, was just awesome, always on time and extremely helpful. He was always friendly, even at 6:00 AM in the morning. The room was exceptional for a hotel room, smelled fresh and everything worked. The hotel was very well sound isolated, I completely forgot it was next to a major freeway. They had a full breakfast in the morning that included waffles, hot and cold cereal. The rooms all had a refrigerator, which allowed us to put lunches together for Thursday at the Marine Base. The staff had a freezer which we could put our freezer packs in to keep our lunches fresh on Thursday. We all had a great time and I will never stay at another hotel in San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmediacoord, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to contribute in making the special event of your grandson’s graduation a great experience. On behalf of Mr. Jordan, and the rest of the staff here, we thank you for your kind review and hope to see you again soon on your next trip to San Diego.

Eric Pipitone, General Manager 619-881-6200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had not stayed at a Comfort Inn hotel before so this was a nice surprise. Everything was just fine. Nothing fancy but very clean, quiet, comfortable with friendly helpful staff. The breakfast was above average and included eggs and sausage. I would definitely stay here again. Though there is a charge for parking, it is not unusual for the San Diego area and is modest compared with some other hotels.

Room Tip: Only four floors in this hotel; ask for a room on one of the upper floors which are usually more qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Pros: Bed was comfortable and staff was helpful.
Cons: Right next to the noisy freeway. No stores or decent restaurants nearby. Parking was tight and the breakfast area was extremely noisy and dirty. No micowave in our room. It's just a little above a "get by" place. Needs some loving attention. On a scale of 1 to 10 I'd give it a 5.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very average and what can be expected from the chain. We keep on coming back because of the awesome bunkbeds and close proximity to seaworld. the elevator situation needs help, there are two slow ones, in strange places.

Room Tip: Its noisy near the breakfast area and elevators, some rooms are a bit of a walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Next to the freeway so easy access to other destination although hotel directions can be a bit hard to follow via GPS. Check-in was slow. Late afternoon and rooms are not even ready. Many families were waiting for kids suite. We were sitting in the lobby waiting for our suite to be ready but were annoyed that two other guests who came in after us were given their suites before us.

Anyway, once we checked into our family suite, we were really impressed with the cleanliness of the room, the king bed and bunk beds and the two TVs. Beds and pillows were soft and comfortable. Plenty of towels provided. Good water pressure in the shower. Size of the kids suite is almost similar to a normal hotel room except that there is a sliding door separating the king bed and bunk beds. Although we were not given a room of our preference ( at time of reservation had requested for a quiet room away from the freeway), thankfully noise from the freeway was minimal. We were given a suite facing the freeway!

Free Wifi in suite was very fast.

Free Breakfast was the typical fare of most hotel chain and it was the same food every morning of our stay. Breakfast room was very crowded at 8.30 so finding table was hard. Because there were so many guests, tables and food counter tops were quite dirty and messy.

This hotel charges for unsecured parking. Therefore, we chose not to park in the hotel because there are plenty of free parking along the road outside the hotel. At check-out, we were charged for parking and when we asked for this to be taken out, the receptionist did not seemed to believe us at first and asked whether we had a rental car. We explained that if we wanted to park inside the hotel, we would have been given a parking pass on check-in to display on dashboard. So this makes me wonder whether the hotel security, if any, ever patrol their car park to check if all vehicles are authorized to be parked there?

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from freeway and breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If your expectation is for a basic option, then go for this. Do not expect too much though. Parking is not free which is dissapointing, but breakfast makes up for it a bit.

Location is adjacent to tens fo other options, so check all options before you decide.

We were not dissapointed, but not impressed either.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor and faced a road. There was some truck noise late at night and early mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area

Address: 2485 Hotel Circle Place, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's for a family vacation, a romantic getaway or when you're traveling on business, you can’t beat the friendly service and comfortable accommodations offered at the Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo/SeaWorld. This Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award winner offers a convenient location, excellent service and extra amenities, all backed by our Signature Guarantee. -Located on San Diego’s famous Hotel Circle, 5 minutes to SeaWorld, Zoo, Downtown and San Diego’s world-famous beaches -Five minutes from the new Riverwalk Golf Course and Mission and Fashion Valley Malls -Free deluxe breakfast buffet includes an assortment of pastries and muffins, toast, fresh fruit, choice of hot and cold cereals with milk, espresso, coffee, tea and a variety of juices. -Winner of Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award recognizing exceptional service, facilities and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn Hotel Zoo
San Diego Comfort Inn Suites Zoo
Comfort Inn San Diego Zoo
Comfort Inn Suite Zoo Sea World

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.