We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay there again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2485 Hotel Circle Place, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #157 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Prescott, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay there again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Pros: Bed was comfortable and staff was helpful.
Cons: Right next to the noisy freeway. No stores or decent restaurants nearby. Parking was tight and the breakfast area was extremely noisy and dirty. No micowave in our room. It's just a little above a "get by" place. Needs some loving attention. On a scale of 1 to 10 I'd give it a 5.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    225
    119
    65
    35
See reviews for
323
72
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very average and what can be expected from the chain. We keep on coming back because of the awesome bunkbeds and close proximity to seaworld. the elevator situation needs help, there are two slow ones, in strange places.

Room Tip: Its noisy near the breakfast area and elevators, some rooms are a bit of a walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Next to the freeway so easy access to other destination although hotel directions can be a bit hard to follow via GPS. Check-in was slow. Late afternoon and rooms are not even ready. Many families were waiting for kids suite. We were sitting in the lobby waiting for our suite to be ready but were annoyed that two other guests who came in after us were given their suites before us.

Anyway, once we checked into our family suite, we were really impressed with the cleanliness of the room, the king bed and bunk beds and the two TVs. Beds and pillows were soft and comfortable. Plenty of towels provided. Good water pressure in the shower. Size of the kids suite is almost similar to a normal hotel room except that there is a sliding door separating the king bed and bunk beds. Although we were not given a room of our preference ( at time of reservation had requested for a quiet room away from the freeway), thankfully noise from the freeway was minimal. We were given a suite facing the freeway!

Free Wifi in suite was very fast.

Free Breakfast was the typical fare of most hotel chain and it was the same food every morning of our stay. Breakfast room was very crowded at 8.30 so finding table was hard. Because there were so many guests, tables and food counter tops were quite dirty and messy.

This hotel charges for unsecured parking. Therefore, we chose not to park in the hotel because there are plenty of free parking along the road outside the hotel. At check-out, we were charged for parking and when we asked for this to be taken out, the receptionist did not seemed to believe us at first and asked whether we had a rental car. We explained that if we wanted to park inside the hotel, we would have been given a parking pass on check-in to display on dashboard. So this makes me wonder whether the hotel security, if any, ever patrol their car park to check if all vehicles are authorized to be parked there?

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from freeway and breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If your expectation is for a basic option, then go for this. Do not expect too much though. Parking is not free which is dissapointing, but breakfast makes up for it a bit.

Location is adjacent to tens fo other options, so check all options before you decide.

We were not dissapointed, but not impressed either.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor and faced a road. There was some truck noise late at night and early mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in October in a family suite. I knew this was going to be a good choice based on all the reviews and it was. The room was lovely and modern. Big king size bed and adjoining room with bunk beds and plenty of space for a portacot. The bathroom was lovely and clean and fresh too. Breakfast spread was amazing. Only issue was that it seems the air con was not working in the breakfast room on our first morning so it was a tad stifling but the next mornings perfectly fine. Didn't get around to using the pool. All other amenities worked well (laundry, no issues with parking, wi-fi etc). For the price of this hotel (less than $80/night inc tax) we were suitably impressed. Cannot get anything remotely close to the value in Australia. Highly, highly recommend!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Let me begin on a positive note by saying the gentleman running the night desk was very polite as was the day staff.
As for some basic complaints, the elevator appeared on the brink of destruction and after riding it twice we opted for the stairs. The air in our room was stuffy as the wall fan needed to draw air from one room to another was noisy and a joke at performing its designated job. The walls are thin and other guests were very noisy, coming in/out at all hours of the night. The breakfast area was a crowded and chaotic nightmare.
But that's not the worst part. When we went to put the sofa bed away the day we left we realized the bed my daughter was sleeping on had a HUGE STAIN on it and yes, it looks like blood. I don't know what it was but knowing that they allow guests to sleep on that is horrifying, they obviously do not care and they definitely know it's there. Photo provided

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had originally booked this hotel for my week-long stay in San Diego while attending a conference. I arrived very late at night after having some difficulty finding the location. When I arrived in my room, it was very spacious and looked okay. However, I began noticing things from that moment on. The chair and ottoman in my room was torn and in rough shape. It looked like a dog had chewed on the edges and armrests. The TV remote would only work the volume and channels, not the power or the other options. The temperature control did not work from a thermostat, making it difficult to control the room temperature. There was a large space under the door - I could somewhat see out into the hallway. Internet was free, which was one of the good things. The pool and hot tub look okay, though I never had a chance to use them. Parking costs $8/day, and is not secured in any way. The breakfast was okay, but some of the selection wasn't great and the eggs/sausage didn't taste good. I decided to look for another hotel that possibly offered the same amenities, a better view, and maybe free parking. I was able to find this and checked out the next day without penalties. To add insult to injury, my sunglasses fell out of my pocket in the lobby, and by the time I had noticed less than 5 minutes later, they had been stolen!! I'm not sure about this area if things can go missing this quickly without anyone noticing! I had stopped using the Choice Hotel chain a while ago, and now I remember why. Be careful if you decide to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area

Address: 2485 Hotel Circle Place, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's for a family vacation, a romantic getaway or when you're traveling on business, you can’t beat the friendly service and comfortable accommodations offered at the Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo/SeaWorld. This Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award winner offers a convenient location, excellent service and extra amenities, all backed by our Signature Guarantee. -Located on San Diego’s famous Hotel Circle, 5 minutes to SeaWorld, Zoo, Downtown and San Diego’s world-famous beaches -Five minutes from the new Riverwalk Golf Course and Mission and Fashion Valley Malls -Free deluxe breakfast buffet includes an assortment of pastries and muffins, toast, fresh fruit, choice of hot and cold cereals with milk, espresso, coffee, tea and a variety of juices. -Winner of Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award recognizing exceptional service, facilities and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn Hotel Zoo
San Diego Comfort Inn Suites Zoo
Comfort Inn San Diego Zoo
Comfort Inn Suite Zoo Sea World

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.