We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Offering, good, but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2485 Hotel Circle Place, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #158 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Basic Offering, good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If your expectation is for a basic option, then go for this. Do not expect too much though. Parking is not free which is dissapointing, but breakfast makes up for it a bit.

Location is adjacent to tens fo other options, so check all options before you decide.

We were not dissapointed, but not impressed either.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor and faced a road. There was some truck noise late at night and early mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    243
    142
    71
    38
See reviews for
358
90
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in October in a family suite. I knew this was going to be a good choice based on all the reviews and it was. The room was lovely and modern. Big king size bed and adjoining room with bunk beds and plenty of space for a portacot. The bathroom was lovely and clean and fresh too. Breakfast spread was amazing. Only issue was that it seems the air con was not working in the breakfast room on our first morning so it was a tad stifling but the next mornings perfectly fine. Didn't get around to using the pool. All other amenities worked well (laundry, no issues with parking, wi-fi etc). For the price of this hotel (less than $80/night inc tax) we were suitably impressed. Cannot get anything remotely close to the value in Australia. Highly, highly recommend!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Let me begin on a positive note by saying the gentleman running the night desk was very polite as was the day staff.
As for some basic complaints, the elevator appeared on the brink of destruction and after riding it twice we opted for the stairs. The air in our room was stuffy as the wall fan needed to draw air from one room to another was noisy and a joke at performing its designated job. The walls are thin and other guests were very noisy, coming in/out at all hours of the night. The breakfast area was a crowded and chaotic nightmare.
But that's not the worst part. When we went to put the sofa bed away the day we left we realized the bed my daughter was sleeping on had a HUGE STAIN on it and yes, it looks like blood. I don't know what it was but knowing that they allow guests to sleep on that is horrifying, they obviously do not care and they definitely know it's there. Photo provided

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had originally booked this hotel for my week-long stay in San Diego while attending a conference. I arrived very late at night after having some difficulty finding the location. When I arrived in my room, it was very spacious and looked okay. However, I began noticing things from that moment on. The chair and ottoman in my room was torn and in rough shape. It looked like a dog had chewed on the edges and armrests. The TV remote would only work the volume and channels, not the power or the other options. The temperature control did not work from a thermostat, making it difficult to control the room temperature. There was a large space under the door - I could somewhat see out into the hallway. Internet was free, which was one of the good things. The pool and hot tub look okay, though I never had a chance to use them. Parking costs $8/day, and is not secured in any way. The breakfast was okay, but some of the selection wasn't great and the eggs/sausage didn't taste good. I decided to look for another hotel that possibly offered the same amenities, a better view, and maybe free parking. I was able to find this and checked out the next day without penalties. To add insult to injury, my sunglasses fell out of my pocket in the lobby, and by the time I had noticed less than 5 minutes later, they had been stolen!! I'm not sure about this area if things can go missing this quickly without anyone noticing! I had stopped using the Choice Hotel chain a while ago, and now I remember why. Be careful if you decide to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First, we required a room that is away from the highway, then, very disappointed, they gave a room just next to the highway, very noisy in the day and night. This hotel charged a parking fee about eight bucks but when we come back late, there is no parking space in the covered parking lot, the worse it was raining that day. The only good point is they offer a kids suite with a bunkle bed, my kids love it and it was separated by a sliding door from a king size bed. And there are two TV.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was a good property, perfect for families and as such you should be aware it's very busy with lots of kids running and screaming. The room looked to be recently renovated and it was very clean. It is a tourist destination hotel so you should come expecting lots of excited kids and a breakfast area that is a zoo at peak times. Breakfast was good and a nice perk to start your day. The hotel itself is above par and I would not hesitate to recommend it to any family. I will probably look elsewhere next time I'm in the area because I found the hotel hard to find in a sea of other hotels. My GPS was even a little confused by its location.

Room Tip: They charge for parking but if you are there at a non-peak time you should be able to find free park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and overall had a great stay. Free shuttle service to Old Town and Seaworld was easy to schedule and prompt everytime. Hotel is about a $25 cab ride from the airport (no shuttle) but not far. Hotel was in good shape, aside from the hide-a-bed in our room, which needed to be thrown out. It was in terrible shape (upholstry peeling, scraped and ragged). I really can't believe that any hotel would have even leave such a shabby thing in a room. All other furniture was in decent shape. Bathroom area was small but there is a counter top behind the vanity that came in handy for more space. There is only one restaurant, Hunter's Steakhouse, within walking distance, which was pretty good but it is a steak place, so its a little pricy if you are watching your pennies. We found out the day we were leaving that they had a special menu for delivery to the hotel that was less expensive. All in all, a nice stay with friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area

Address: 2485 Hotel Circle Place, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's for a family vacation, a romantic getaway or when you're traveling on business, you can’t beat the friendly service and comfortable accommodations offered at the Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo/SeaWorld. This Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award winner offers a convenient location, excellent service and extra amenities, all backed by our Signature Guarantee. -Located on San Diego’s famous Hotel Circle, 5 minutes to SeaWorld, Zoo, Downtown and San Diego’s world-famous beaches -Five minutes from the new Riverwalk Golf Course and Mission and Fashion Valley Malls -Free deluxe breakfast buffet includes an assortment of pastries and muffins, toast, fresh fruit, choice of hot and cold cereals with milk, espresso, coffee, tea and a variety of juices. -Winner of Choice Hotels’ Gold Hospitality Award recognizing exceptional service, facilities and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn And Suites Zoo / Seaworld Area
Comfort Inn Hotel Zoo
San Diego Comfort Inn Suites Zoo
Comfort Inn San Diego Zoo
Comfort Inn Suite Zoo Sea World

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.