We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In middle of Expressways” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #139 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“In middle of Expressways”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed here with wife for one night and met up with sister who lives in LA.
Good location for seeing Old Town San Diego and waterfront. Downside is that the hotel is in middle of expressway so no walking to restaurants or stores. Room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the included breakfast which offered many choices including fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not on the expressway side of hotel as there is continual traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear scuba312,

Thanks for your feedback from your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Hotel Circle Sea World Area. I am pleased to read that you found our rooms clean and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. Our location adjacent to the freeway does have pros and cons. It provides the convenience of a central location with easy access to the freeway but limits the options for restaurants within walking distance. Thanks again for staying with us on your recent visit.

Kindly,
Adam Lund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    121
    81
    28
    15
See reviews for
151
64
7
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trail, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hi. We really enjoyed our stay at 2201 Comfort Inn. It was just what we needed for our stay. The staff were very friendly, courteous, and helpful, especially Joel and Jade. They were awesome!!!
Also the room maid "Susana Nambo" was very nice and did a great job of caring for room!
We also really enjoyed the great breakfast every morning...it had a good variety of food, fruit, eggs, and meat. This location is very close to the Old Town transit centre and most of the major attractions. Good shopping nearby at the Fashion Valley Mall too. We are definitely planning on staying there again next year. Just one thing we noticed....the window coverings[sheers & drapes] could use replacing soon. Overall a good place to stay and good weekly rates.
Please reply to us at mjmakaroff@gmail.com.

Room Tip: We would take a room in the 3100 block because it is closer to the office and the pool. Sorry...co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear mjmakaroff,

Thanks for your positive review. Jade, Joel, and Susanna were very excited when I shared your comments with them. Our staff truly enjoys connecting with our guests and providing great customer service. Susanna was especially pleased to hear that your wife was feeling better. Our staff, location and breakfast offerings get a lot of positive feedback from our guests. I am glad we were able to accommodate you with a weekly rate and save you a little money. Thanks again for your kind words.

Hope to see you again soon,
Adam Lund, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

OK so my husband and I booked this hotel last minute as we did not arrange any bookings in our vacation to San Diego. Had to wait 20 minutes to check in there was only 1 attendant at front desk and the people in front of me took for ever. There was hair in the white sheets of the bed the bathroom would flush on its own every once in a while . At some point the walls were shaking from God knows what the people next door were doing and I mean literally shaking ! The walls are extremely thin you can hear the people next door having a conversation. The room had funny musty smell and the carpet extremely old. So with that said you decide. The good thing about it was that its close to main attractions but I had rather payed the extra $30 for a better experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear honey moon a,

Thanks for your feedback from your recent last minute visit to San Diego. I am please to hear you found the location convenient for your adventures. I would like to apologize that we missed the mark on several issues and that we did not exceed your expectations. Your feedback will be utilized with the team to insure others do not encounter these types of issues. Thanks again for your comments.

Kindly,
Adam Lund, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We flew into San Diego on our way to Palm Springs because it was super cheap. Got there almost midnight on Xmas night and needed a place close to the airport that was inexpensive and clean. This fits the bill. It's a 1950's motel that's been somewhat upgraded to make it passable. The bathroom has a granite counter top, there is flat a screen TV with a sleep timer (always my litmus test!). But the carpet was pretty awful and the mattress was barely passable. Linens and so on were OK. The Continental Breakfast was so crowded that it would have difficult to make a waffle given the number people present. The food did not look very appetizing, however there was some fruit that was easy to grab and go. We ended up going out for breakfast because it was just too chaotic at the motel, and we were eager to get on the road.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Luanne S,

Thanks for spending your X-mas night at the hotel before heading to Palm Springs. I am glad to hear we passed your "litmus test" with our bathroom countertops and new 32" flat screen TV's. I apologize that some aspects of the room did not meet your standards. Also, I am sorry you weren't able to fully enjoy the breakfast experience but am glad you were able to grab something before you hit the road. Thanks again for your comments and hope to see you the next time you are passing through.

Kindly,
Adam Lund General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our family of three stayed here while visiting a family member who is attending San Diego State University. This Comfort Inn has several buildings all with outside entrances to the rooms which works in San Diego. Our room was next to the swimming pool and a short walk to the breakfast room which was large and pleasant. The room was average, clean and comfortable. The staff was courteous and helpful. The location was great. The service road in front of the hotel was only 1 mile to Old Town San Diego which is a great tourist thing to do. The Trolley can be bordered here for a high lighted tour of San Diego's things to see. You can jump on I-8 and in minutes be to the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the pool and breakfast room is a nice location. We had room 4101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Herb O,

Thanks for choosing the Comfort Inn for your recent visit to SDSU. The Hotel Circle area is a great location to base your vacation from. With easy access to the I-8 freeway and public transportation it makes getting around San Diego easy and stress free. We are also glad you enjoyed your clean accommodations. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to your next college visit.

Kindly,
Adam Lund, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Biggest, Best Continental Breakfast I've ever seen! Hotel is clean and comfortable and very affordable. We were there for spring break so it was pretty busy; But the breakfast room was so large, it accommodated everybody. The old town trolley stop is at the hotel next door; so we used it to get around to see the sights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Christine m,

Thanks for your positive comments about our Hotel. We are centrally located which allows easy access to all the near by attractions. I am especially pleased you enjoyed your breakfast experience. We take great pride in this and enjoy starting our guest's day off with a satisfying meal. I will definitely share with the team that you thought it was the "Best Continental you had ever seen". Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to having you back the next time you are in San Diego.

Kindly,
Adam Lund, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We got a good rate online only to find an $8 parking fee when we arrived? Ridiculous! If you've been to Hotel Circle before, you aren't parking anywhere other than your hotel, so this is B.S. that they charge you to park. Maybe additional vehicles, but the first one should be included in the cost of the room - especially when the parking lot never got close to filling up.

When we got to our room, the air unit was obviously broken (it was missing the on/off knob) so we had to switch rooms (too cold a night to stay without a heater). The maintenance guy was quite nice and apologized that he did not have the correct item to fix it. He said that he would let the front desk know that we needed a new room. The evening staff couldn't care less and first just offered to give us an extra blanket. When we asked to switch rooms, they did so quite easily, but they didn't apologize for the inconvenience and rather rudely asked if the room needed cleaning again. I get the impression more people will be subjected to this room before it is fixed even though there were plenty of vacancies this weekend.

As others have mentioned, thin walls, sloooow wifi and smokers were other detractors. Skip this hotel, because Hotel Circle has better options for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear CPBliss,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unfortunate mishaps that you experienced during your stay with us. We are disappointed that we missed our mark on this occasion, and have followed up with both our maintenance and front desk staff to ensure this staff miscommunication does not happen again. Also, please know that our parking fees are listed on our sites and are always reviewed with each guest during the booking/reservation process. Thank you for completing the review and giving us your thoughts and opinions. We do hope that you will reconsider staying with us again. It would be our great pleasure to have the chance to deliver the enjoyable experience that you deserve.

Kindly,
Adam Lund, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area

Address: 2201 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room, top-to-bottom, is brand new! Located on San Diego's famous Hotel Circle, just five minutes from SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, Old Town, Downtown & Beaches. Family and group friendly amenities include a huge outdoor heated pool, spa and kids wading pool; barbeque grills and picnic tables, poolside and coin-operated guest laundry facilities. Free deluxe breakfast buffet includes an assortment of pastries and muffins, toast, fresh fruit, choice of hot and cold cereals with milk, espresso, coffee, tea and a variety of juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Hotel Circle / Seaworld
Comfort Inn Circle Seaworld
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.