We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay, good service, decent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle to your Saves list
Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area) (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Glyndon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay, good service, decent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel met our needs nicely. It was average in price and quality. The room was clean. The location was convenient for the activities we did in the San Diego area. The complimentary breakfast was good and had tasty and healthy choices for adults as well as teenagers! The beds were comfortable with a couple of pillow "choices" soft or firm. We booked one night to see how it was and ended up staying two additional nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful to us as well as other guests. The couple ahead of me were from out of country and were trying to navigate the bus system which it appeared did not come to the hotel area. Staff got them a cheap "taxi" option for their group and they were on their way to the closest bus stop with knowledge of what buses to take to get them to where they were going!

Room Tip: The rooms on the east side are near the freeway. We are not light sleepers, so it was not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sonia W,

Thank you for staying with us. It's great to hear that you decided to stay 2 additional nights with us. We appreciate you mentioning that we offer a few pillow type options to fit the preference of each guest and that you and your teenagers enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet. We are also pleased that you found our healthy choices tasty, as we do our very best to offer a wide variety of breakfast items. Thank you for your wonderful comments on our exceptional customer service! We certainly look forward to delivering another comfortable stay along with great service on your next visit to San Diego. Thank you for your review.

Best,
Chetan Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
las vegas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I used to stay at this hotel all the time -- because our family loves the Hotel circle area --- but we haven't been back to this hotel in a long time. We always liked this hotel because of the location and the free breakfast in the morning.

This stay we were not that impressed -- they charged us $8. per night for parking -- which is ridiculous (and we were very disappointed with this fee) - but I guess it covers their free breakfast now -- room was below average --- could of used a really good cleaning --- we were just disappointed in the place now -- maybe new ownership?

The motel staff at check in was very friendly -- which is always a positive thing when we travel !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bev l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear bev l,

It is very disappointing for us to hear that your recent experience did not exceed what you have come to expect and enjoy at our hotel. Please know that our parking fee is quite competitive in our area. Also, our housekeeping staff continuously strives to keep all our guestrooms and public areas fresh and up to par and we are disappointed that it did not reflect on your experience. Your feedback is extremely important to us as we are committed to delivering the best stay our guests can enjoy. We want you and your family back as our loyal guests! If there are any further details about your recent stay that you would like to discuss, please contact me directly at the hotel. We are all looking forward to the opportunity to deliver an improved stay on your family's next visit to San Diego.

Best Regards,
Chetan Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights from 2-5 march.ignore the bad reviews-it's a great budget hotel with most things thrown in except $8 for parking -you can easily park on street outside as its a dead end road but uk visitors be careful which way you are facing-I got a ticket as didn't realise you can't pull across and park.rooms are perfectly functional-let's face it its not the bellagio but for $89 dollars a night for a room that sleeps 6 it has nice heated pool,jacuzzi and towels,breakfast,free wifi and has great access to old town,sea world and zoo (or free shuttle if you don't want to pay sea world parking) you can't complain!i never understand why people book budget hotels then carp on about the rooms and facilities-if you want big rooms and upmarket then stay in mission bay and be prepared to pay $200 plus a night per room and extra for wifi,parking and breakfast.personally I thought this was a great hotel-staff were fantastic and guests all friendly and hotel so convenient.hunters restaurant next door is super and any of the old town restaurants serve great Mexican but cafe guadelejara has fun mariachi and nice atmosphere.the tv channels were also great with movies and kids channels so our 3,5,8 and 9 year olds were more than happy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darkfavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Darkfavour,

Thank you for bringing your entire family to stay at our hotel while visiting San Diego. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback on your stay. Your insight is extremely important to us, as we rely on your input to inform us of where we are succeeding and where improvements are needed. We are thrilled that you had a great experience and enjoyed our exceptional customer service and amazing location. We hope you and your family will be returning soon!

Best,
Chetan Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

the inn was a very nice place to stay ,rooms are just right ,and the beds ,pillows were better then most ,breakfast was good ,and over all ,the hotel was a ten ,staf was aso very informtive ,about the area,.would stay again if in diego

Room Tip: they do charge for parking ,which to me is BULL CRAP,they have lots and lots of it ,but now charge 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear buzzman12,

Thank you very much for sharing with other travelers that our rooms are just right, pillows better than most and our complimentary breakfast buffet is tasty. Thank you for giving our San Diego hotel a 10! Our staff looks forward to delivering another outstanding experience on your next visit!

Best Regards,
Chetan Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel was convenient for our trip to Sea World and then on to the Los Angeles area. The room had been renovated & was nice. The bed & pillows were quite comfortable. We had a kitchenette in our room which was also convenient. There is an $8 charge for parking. The breakfast was plentiful & good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear zee4,

Thank you for sharing how conveniently located our San Diego hotel truly is! It's great to hear of your comfort in our beds, as well as how plentiful and tasty you found our complimentary breakfast buffet. You are exactly right; all of our suites include kitchens that are, indeed, convenient for any traveler. Thank you for your review. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your return to California!

Sincerely,
Chetan Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just got back from a week stay in san diego.Hotel was clean and the staff was super friendly.The breakfast was very good and well stocked.It was very close to old town but you cannot walk anywhere from the hotel since there are no sidewalks and they dont recommend it.The only other draw back were the paperthin walls,we could hear everything from the other rooms nd it woke us early every day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kadyb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear kadyb3,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We appreciate your wonderful compliments on our exceptional staff, delicious complimentary breakfast buffet and our unbeatable location! Your review has been shared with our staff, as it is very rewarding for all of us to receive excellent feedback on our constant efforts to deliver superior service to each of our guests. We hope that all that you enjoyed will bring you back to see us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Chetan Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed for five nights, (just a note, parking is 8 dollars a night extra!)
Bed was comfortable, lots of little pillows, there was a coffeemaker, ironing board, iron, hair dryer, wifi (slow).
The breakfast was so crowded on the first day that I avoided it until the last morning. It was a decent breakfast, scrambled eggs, make your own waffles, sausage patties, yougurt, both low fat and regular, three fruits, coffee and juice, bagels and toast, dry cereals, milk... nicely adequate.

Second floor was quite a climb up metal stairs. Bathroom was about as small as one could make it, but adequate.

One night I did have noisy neighbors, but that was that was the exception, not the rule.

The staff were decent and friendly. I didn't run into any problems during my stay. The best part of this property was that it was a short drive to Old Town and was easily accessible by HWY 8 (Taylor Exit).

Room Tip: not all rooms are easily accessible to the pool or the breakfast area because it is on a hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Kelly B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. It's always great to hear that beds and pillows are comfortable and that our amenities are enjoyed by our guests. We do apologize for the noise disturbance on one of the nights due to a neighboring guest. We certainly hope you will keep in mind our comfy accommodations, friendly service and amazing location on your next visit to the San Diego area.

Best,
Chetan Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#50 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#160 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Address: 2201 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room, top-to-bottom, is brand new! Located on San Diego's famous Hotel Circle, just five minutes from SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, Old Town, Downtown & Beaches. Family and group friendly amenities include a huge outdoor heated pool, spa and kids wading pool; barbeque grills and picnic tables, poolside and coin-operated guest laundry facilities. Free deluxe breakfast buffet includes an assortment of pastries and muffins, toast, fresh fruit, choice of hot and cold cereals with milk, espresso, coffee, tea and a variety of juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Hotel Circle / Seaworld
Comfort Inn Circle Seaworld
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing