We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property and fun events” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off Lowest Rates
Ranked #30 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
1 review
“Nice property and fun events”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed the night after attending their Luau even though we're San Diego locals. The room was comfortable and decently appointed though a touch dated and lacking in creativity. It had a very "hotel room" look to it. Similarly priced and appointed hotels we've stayed at recently present a more "designer" look, i.e. Washington DC 'W', Willard and San Francisco 'Meridian'. The Luau was excellent and a lot of fun. We had an amazing time. If you stay at the Catamaran you NEED to attend the Luau. Food was great, music was too, the dancing was very good and it's suitable for the entire family.

Room Tip: Bayfront Rooms are key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    539
    221
    99
    61
See reviews for
659
484
52
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Catamaran is one of the most beautiful properties in San Diego! The location gives you access to the ocean, the bay, the beach, and their pool- great choices all around for a family, couple, or friends! Plus a kitchen included in your room, who doesn't love that?! Treat yourself to a summer luau- we went to the Tuesday night luau and had such a fabulous time. Melissa Armstrong was just one of the super sweet staff members who made sure we were enjoying the night and we certainly did.. the show, the food, the drinks, the atmosphere! Be sure to enjoy the happy hour EVERYDAY and try the delicious food too while people watching along the Bay. You surely will not be disappointed in this hotel!

Room Tip: If you can, splurge on a beach front room with a patio leading out to or balcony overlooking the Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Personally, The Catamaran holds a special place in my heart. In Sept 2012 we stayed here on our wedding weekend, along with family and friends from out of state. We also hosted a welcome dinner, and got ready for the wedding here, so I have a lot of special memories that will always make me a little partial to this beautiful property.

Professionally, The Catamaran is a meeting planner’s paradise. You’ve got beautiful scenery, an awesome location, tranquil ambience, delicious food, flexible meeting space, and excellent service. I’ve helped plan my company’s annual conference here twice, June 2012 and June 2014, and we will be back again June 2016. Zach, Charlotte, and Kim are like family now! Kim (convention services) is absolutely the best! She is professional, experienced, and I really enjoying working with her to iron out all the minute details that go into planning a week-long event for 300 people. The banquet team that includes Hollace, Ralph, and Mike, were amazing. They went above and beyond to make sure meeting rooms were set correctly, kept clean, and that our meals and receptions ran smoothly. I can’t say enough good things about the staff - they were all friendly and provided exceptional service. The food was great this year, many compliments from our attendees. The bell staff were wonderful as well, helping me unload boxes to our “office” and then transporting upstairs for registration.

Bottom line: If you are considering planning a business meeting of any kind here, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I've stayed at the hotel a couple of times, worked with the staff on planning a corporate event, and attended one of the summer luaus. The place is great. It's different than the chain hotels, seems more genuine and friendly. Melissa Armstrong, Cara Usher and the staff are terrific - very helpful and accommodating. Location is tough to beat, and the experience is always fun. Would highly recommend The Catamaran.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for nearly 2 weeks in June, the rooms were a good size, could do with a little bit of updating, but overall really good and very clean. The restaurant had a good happy hour, and tasty food. Service was friendly and generally very good. Particular highlight was our housekeeper Luz, she was always so happy and friendly, keen to help and made my stay extra special!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I had the opportunity to experience the Catamaran's Luau last night (Tuesday) and it was absolutely fantastic! The setup, décor and ambience that they created was exceptional! Melissa Armstrong made it a point to find us to say hello and make sure we were VERY well taken care of! Jake, the bartender was also very professional and friendly during the event. I greatly appreciate the staff going above and beyond to transform the bay to a tropical island! A special thank you to Melissa! I will be sure to tell many more to check out the Luau!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sola Municipality, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Location is great and the beach is great, but the hotel is at best a 3 star hotel, more 2,5 stars.
Rooms are worn and needs an upgrade badly. The fridge in my room looked at least 25 years old, rusty and with food stains. The whole room looked like it was from the 70's.
The other thing i find as negative is that the hotel doesnt welcome kids after 9pm at night. Me and my family had dinner at the hotel restaurant just before 9pm, and right after we had made up the bill, we were told that kids were not allowed out after 9 pm. So much for enjoying an evening out at the "resort hotel". So if ur here with ur wife or husband, girlfriend or boyfriend its fine, just dont bring ur kids, if you plan on staying at the hotel in the evenings.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#96 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.