We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super beach hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 15% off room rates
Ranked #29 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Super beach hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We visited this hotel for four days at the end if a lovely trip down California and it was the perfect ending.
The hotel is right on the beach and is perfectly situated and the staff are very helpful
The breakfast and meals are lovely and the rooms great.
One thing: our room wasn't cleaned one day and by the time we told them it was too late but never mind
Super.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    627
    249
    105
    69
See reviews for
746
588
68
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura County
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Location is awesome- you are right across from Belmont Park which has a cute little carnival style park, the beach and boardwalk and plenty of restaurants. On the property you have the bay and a nice little sand area that the kids can play on as if they are at the beach. Keep in mind that the bay gets deep very fast and this is not an area for kids to go in the water however you can rent water bikes, kayaks, water skiing and sailing along with paddleboards- plenty to play in the bay. The sand area is perfect for the kids to play and build castles. They have a restaurant and bar area right off the sand and in the evenings you can see the firework show from Sea World. Also the Luau is super fun and something very unique for this hotel and a great outing for the family!! They also offer a booze cruise after 10P that adults only can take around the harbor and early day until 9P the boat will take the family around the harbor- another fun added perk to the hotel.
The room themselves are a bit small and dated however I think everything else helps make this reasonable. The shower water pressure was very good (a HUGE plus for people with long hair!). All the staff was helpful and friendly.
Although I prefer suite rooms for the added space and ability to sit on a couch to watch TV at the end of the day- this hotel was very nice and I would come back and recommend it to all- romantic and families alike. It really is perfect location for tourism as well with Sea World minutes away, the Zoo about 20 minutes away and downtown convention center also about 15 - 20 minutes away.

Room Tip: If you have little kids I recommend the bay front suites as your patio opens to a nice large green b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

A garden view studio on the 11th floor with walkout patio/chairs provided a beautiful view of the sunset over Pacific Beach every evening! This room allowed my wife I and two teenagers to be in the same room with surprising space. It allowed us to eat hot breakfast every morning with the in-room kitchen. Range, micro, toaster, frig/frzr, and cooking utensils. At 2k for a peak summer 7-nights, this was a great find in the most unbeatable of locations.

Excellent pool area, Clean and helpful, and 1 block from Mission Beach/Pacific Beach. The bayside beach looked incredible and the activities the hotel put on there are endless, but we liked the Oceanside and casually spent all of our beach time there.

Our room was on the lower end $$$ wise. I would assume the upgraded rooms are spectacular. High marks all around.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The restaurant was good for breakfast as well as dinner. Really cosy sitting outside after dinner with the torches lit and enjoying cocktails. Servers were alert and pleasant. Nice pool area.There is a waterfall in the reception. It makes so much noise that it was difficult to talk with the receptionists. We had two rooms, one on the first floor and one on the ground floor in the building behind the reception. The room on the ground floor had a damp smell.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Catamaran has always been the closest thing to Hawaii and Polynesia to be found on the mainland, but their Sunset Luau was even better than any we've attended in the islands. From the Roast Pig carried to the serving area to the wonderful food to the marvelous show, this tops anything we've run across. The show was outstanding with 10 wonderful musicians and about 15 performers. The show featured dances from the many islands in Polynesia. Only the Polynesian Cultural Center on Oahu had more of a cast and crew.

Everyone in the cast or associated with the hotel was happy and smiling. As I looked around the guests were also happy. Rebecca Baumwirt made us feel very welcome and happy and made sure we were having a good time.

I've not stayed at the Catamaran before but have been to several conventions there (including a couple I helped arrange). The same friendly attitude is always present and Rebecca B. is masterful in arranging meetings and tending to the details. I've recommended the Catamaran to both friends and business associates. The entire hotel makes you feel you've left your cares behind to travel to an island paradise (but with excellent Audio/Visual and convention services).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North kingstown ri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel was fabulous!The staff was so friendly, each and every one! The guys working at the waterfront were EXCEPTIONAL! They took extra time to teach myself and the kids the correct and safe way to paddleboard,they even went in the water to help the youngest learn properly,We ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant, the food was fabulous,veiw is phenominal on patio, and the waitstaff was super friendly and service was exemplary!! I cant wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My friend and I attended the Catamaran Luau Tuesday Evening and it was Fantastic! The Bay View and the Awesome San Diego Nightime weather made the evening incredible. The Dance Performances made us feel like we were truly in Hawaii attending a Luau on the Beach. The Buffet was Delicous and the Mai Tai's were Very Good as well!
Overall a Great Night and we were only 30 minutes from home but felt like we were hours away on vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#96 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.