We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, yet room for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off Lowest Rates
Ranked #28 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Great stay, yet room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The restaurant was good for breakfast as well as dinner. Really cosy sitting outside after dinner with the torches lit and enjoying cocktails. Servers were alert and pleasant. Nice pool area.There is a waterfall in the reception. It makes so much noise that it was difficult to talk with the receptionists. We had two rooms, one on the first floor and one on the ground floor in the building behind the reception. The room on the ground floor had a damp smell.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    555
    225
    99
    63
See reviews for
667
511
59
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Catamaran has always been the closest thing to Hawaii and Polynesia to be found on the mainland, but their Sunset Luau was even better than any we've attended in the islands. From the Roast Pig carried to the serving area to the wonderful food to the marvelous show, this tops anything we've run across. The show was outstanding with 10 wonderful musicians and about 15 performers. The show featured dances from the many islands in Polynesia. Only the Polynesian Cultural Center on Oahu had more of a cast and crew.

Everyone in the cast or associated with the hotel was happy and smiling. As I looked around the guests were also happy. Rebecca Baumwirt made us feel very welcome and happy and made sure we were having a good time.

I've not stayed at the Catamaran before but have been to several conventions there (including a couple I helped arrange). The same friendly attitude is always present and Rebecca B. is masterful in arranging meetings and tending to the details. I've recommended the Catamaran to both friends and business associates. The entire hotel makes you feel you've left your cares behind to travel to an island paradise (but with excellent Audio/Visual and convention services).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North kingstown ri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was fabulous!The staff was so friendly, each and every one! The guys working at the waterfront were EXCEPTIONAL! They took extra time to teach myself and the kids the correct and safe way to paddleboard,they even went in the water to help the youngest learn properly,We ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant, the food was fabulous,veiw is phenominal on patio, and the waitstaff was super friendly and service was exemplary!! I cant wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My friend and I attended the Catamaran Luau Tuesday Evening and it was Fantastic! The Bay View and the Awesome San Diego Nightime weather made the evening incredible. The Dance Performances made us feel like we were truly in Hawaii attending a Luau on the Beach. The Buffet was Delicous and the Mai Tai's were Very Good as well!
Overall a Great Night and we were only 30 minutes from home but felt like we were hours away on vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Although my "garden view" room needed an upgrade (it was a bit rundown and my safe didn't work even after purported repair), I really enjoyed staying at this resort hotel. It is in a great location with a lot of white sand beachfront on the bay. The sand was clean, the views of the bay were great, and I enjoyed the free beach umbrellas and chairs as well as the beach food service. Rentals for colorful small sailboats and other water vehicles were easily available. The ocean is one block away. Restaurants and stores are right outside the resort. The pool area could be bigger, but it had nice lounge chairs and tables for everyone's use. I loved the spa and enjoyed a relaxing massage. I also loved my Saturday evening meal, sitting outside on the restaurant patio and enjoying the free tiki lighting ceremony and hula dancers. This is a vibrant hotel with a lot of emphasis on beach, leisure, and entertainment. I will definitely return to this property on my next San Diego visit.

Room Tip: I would stay in a room on the beach - best views and best access to the beach and the hotel restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I've been a fan of the Catamaran Resort for years but most recently they have reaffirmed my love for the hotel with attentive staff and fantastic customer service. I was lucky enough to work with Melissa Armstrong and Kim Gaines again on a corporate meeting/event. Our company chose a VERY busy summer weekend for our meeting and I was blown away by how superb the service was. As an added bonus, there is so much to do at the resort and on the bay in the warm summer. I was also so pleased with their bike shop and really appreciated the great lengths they went to to rent out 50 bikes (all at once) to our group. Hollis and his convention service staff were attentive to our every need (including the ever changing temperatures of the meeting rooms...you always have people who are too cold or too hot, but they smiled and assisted every time we asked for a temp change).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This is an extraordinary place to stay. The landscaping is just phenomenal and makes you feel like you are so far removed from the city that is so near by. The rooms are decent size, we did not have a bay view but did have a nice balcony. Short walk right out to the sandy beach area, ample parking and gated in. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#97 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.