We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant Hotel ... Tired rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off Lowest Rates
Ranked #33 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
LA, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Vibrant Hotel ... Tired rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Although my "garden view" room needed an upgrade (it was a bit rundown and my safe didn't work even after purported repair), I really enjoyed staying at this resort hotel. It is in a great location with a lot of white sand beachfront on the bay. The sand was clean, the views of the bay were great, and I enjoyed the free beach umbrellas and chairs as well as the beach food service. Rentals for colorful small sailboats and other water vehicles were easily available. The ocean is one block away. Restaurants and stores are right outside the resort. The pool area could be bigger, but it had nice lounge chairs and tables for everyone's use. I loved the spa and enjoyed a relaxing massage. I also loved my Saturday evening meal, sitting outside on the restaurant patio and enjoying the free tiki lighting ceremony and hula dancers. This is a vibrant hotel with a lot of emphasis on beach, leisure, and entertainment. I will definitely return to this property on my next San Diego visit.

Room Tip: I would stay in a room on the beach - best views and best access to the beach and the hotel restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    521
    214
    98
    61
See reviews for
645
466
51
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I've been a fan of the Catamaran Resort for years but most recently they have reaffirmed my love for the hotel with attentive staff and fantastic customer service. I was lucky enough to work with Melissa Armstrong and Kim Gaines again on a corporate meeting/event. Our company chose a VERY busy summer weekend for our meeting and I was blown away by how superb the service was. As an added bonus, there is so much to do at the resort and on the bay in the warm summer. I was also so pleased with their bike shop and really appreciated the great lengths they went to to rent out 50 bikes (all at once) to our group. Hollis and his convention service staff were attentive to our every need (including the ever changing temperatures of the meeting rooms...you always have people who are too cold or too hot, but they smiled and assisted every time we asked for a temp change).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This is an extraordinary place to stay. The landscaping is just phenomenal and makes you feel like you are so far removed from the city that is so near by. The rooms are decent size, we did not have a bay view but did have a nice balcony. Short walk right out to the sandy beach area, ample parking and gated in. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Industry, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

What a great atmosphere at the resort. The tropical decor was appreciated. This resort has a wonderful location. Our bay studio had a great view of Mission Bay and the ocean. Lots of activities for families. The staff was helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there again. A bit pricey though.

Room Tip: A great view from the upper floors of the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Catamaran provides an ideal getaway, with beautiful, tropical landscaping and an excellent location directly on the bay. Their Summer Luaus remind me of being in Hawaii, plenty of delicious food! The staff is friendly and helpful, Melissa Armstrong and Charlotte Corvi are so professional and attentive - thank you!

I would absolutely recommend this property and would return to the Catamaran!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My co-workers and I attended the luau as a fun event for our business meeting. We were surprised at how authentic the entertainment was, given the fact we were not in Hawaii. The beautiful weather and view from the property made it seem like we were really there. This is a fantastic thing to do when staying at the hotel. Thank you to the Catamaran team: Melissa, Charlotte, Courtney, Dayna, Desiree and Cara for making us feel so welcome.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great venue, great atmosphere, with excellent food and a show to go along, what's there not to like. Great for the family, a relaxing date night, or a group of friends to hangout and have a great time. The staff there is exceptionally friendly and helpful and big props to Melissa for making us feel like a VIP.

This event and venue is highly recommended, and my wife and I plan on attending more events here and recommend it to all.

Room Tip: If you want a fantastic view get a room in the tower facing West. Or get a bungalow type that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#97 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.