We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, nice property and services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off Lowest Rates
Ranked #29 of 268 hotels in San Diego
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good location, nice property and services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel is about 1.5 blocks from the beach and located pretty well for the overall San Diego area attractions. Staying up here in Mission Beach I think is a great idea, because it's beautiful and not quite in the middle of too much action and busy city stuff.

The rear of the hotel is right on Mission Bay and "Sail Bay", where you can do water activities like SUP, sailing, etc. I personally didn't get into the water and I would suggest going to the real beach if you want to swim and frolic. There is lots of sand, however, for the kids and there is a long path that goes in both directions that is great for walks, running, Segway riding, etc. By the way, I always thought Segways were pretty silly devices and I admit that I was wrong. Do this with your family/friends, they rent them right at the hotel and teach you. In 5-15 minutes, you'll get comfortable and have a blast.

The grounds are nicely done, everything from the tropical lobby with waterfall to the exotic birds they have outside that you can interact with every day. Service is good, the restaurants have actually pretty decent food (though you really should try some of the great things out there!) and overall the stay was really fun and relaxing.

We had a room in the tower and it was nothing special with good comfort and amenities. The bungalow type buildings are nicer and very comfortable. Overall, a really good property, though I'm hard pressed to hand out a max rating/excellent. Nothing really wrong here, but you have to be pretty special in my book to get an excellent rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    872
    491
    206
    95
    55
See reviews for
591
437
50
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was our second stay at the Catamaran - the first was in a ground floor room on the grass looking out at the Bay a few years ago. This time we were in the high-rise on the 6th floor with a Bay view.

It was Father's Day weekend so the place was full of families and kids running around, especially at the pool. Up in the high rise it was peaceful and quiet on the small deck with a great view. My first complaint was there was no small refrigerator in the room.

The property is very nice (if a little dated) with a convenient restaurant and bar with plenty of outdoor seating looking at the water. The food is pretty good and the service is friendly and enthusiastic from the young staff. We didn't use the Spa but worked out in the exercise room there with large open windows looking out at the Bay.

My second complaint is a $17 a day charge for self-parking (in a 2 story structure with no elevator) or $22 for valet parking.

There are umbrellas and chairs on the beach, boat, paddleboard and bike rentals with a paved 8 mile trail around the Bay. Across the street is Mission Beach with even more activity, shops, bars and restaurants and a 4 mile trail to walk or ride. At 10pm every night you can see the fireworks display at Sea World across the Bay.

The location is good between the airport and La Jolla, with easy access to Little Italy, downtown or any of the other San Diego attractions.

Overall I really like the Catamanran Resort and can't think of anywhere I'd rather stay for a weekend in San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a review of the spa services only. We booked a spa treatment package special for each of us. It allowed us the use of the entire resort (sans room) from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. We arrived at 9, had breakfast overlooking the Bay. The service was 5 star and continued that way throughout the day. Every staff member we met acknowledged us or asked if we needed assistance. We were surprised at the reasonable price for breakfast at a hotel! My yogurt, fresh berry and homemade granola were delicious and more than I could eat. We checked in at the spa, each of us escorted for a tour of the facility; an oasis of eucalyptus scented tranquility. Our day consisted of an hour paddle boarding, whirlpool, heavenly massages, hanging out in the relaxation room, a facial for me, steam room for him. We wandered around the facility, shared guacamole and a glass of wine in the outdoor patio by a koi pond.
We recommend this for people who live in the area or vacationers staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was our family of four's first trip to San Diego. We picked this resort because it seemed centrally located to the attractions we were doing (Zoo, Legoland, La Jolla, Coronado, Sea Port Village). We selected a bay view room with two double beds. We had a balcony on the 11th floor overlooking the bay and we could also see the ocean....what a treat! The room was very clean and comfortable. We utilized the kitchenette for breakfast on more than one occassion.
We had one issue with a lamp in our room, but it was quickly remedied with a call to the front desk.

The kids loved seeing birds on property....baby ducks wondered all over and the macaws were a big hit. We found an excellent breakfast/lunch place within walking distance (The Mission Restaurant)....food was fantastic and service was excellent. We also enjoyed World Famous for breakfast and dinner (walking distance), but weren't as impressed with Tony Romas. The resort pool was never too crowded and we really liked being able to order food from the grill while at the pool. It was a short walk to the beach, but we were not prepared for the number of bicyclists, skateboarders and roller bladers that we encountered. If you are with children keep them on the right side of the sidewalk so those folks can pass you if needed. Lots of interesting people watching on the beach. We also enjoyed taking the kids kayaking while at the resort and we did eat at Moray's Lounge outside and the food was pretty good there.

Overall we had an excellent stay and would recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is my third year coming to the Catamaran and I fall in love every time I come here. I especially want to thank Jocelyne at the front desk for making our stays even better. Brittany was very helpful as well. The grounds and animals are breathtaking. I feel like I'm in Hawaii. The rooms are perfect in size as well as beautiful views. My grandson loves the pool and the birds. So much to do here with the water sports, pool, bay, happy hour, walking, biking, or just sunbathing under the complementary umbrellas & chairs. I feel spoiled and never want to leave. This will be our vacation place every year hopefully for years to come.

Room Tip: The bay room suites are breathtaking and perfect for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have stayed at dozens of resorts in Palm Springs, San Diego, Hawaii, Florida, and elsewhere. The Catamaran is my families favorite. The grounds are beautiful and tropical. The staff is top notch. During the summer they have great free family activities such as a free arcade, free stern wheeler cruises, and movies on the bay. The location can't be beat. It's right on the bay and 1 block from the ocean. You can walk to many restaurants and shops so you don't feel stuck at a resort. There are fun water sport rentals right on site too. The pool has a bar and food stand as well as the hotel bar and restaurant. Plenty of choices.... They have thought of everything! I highly recommend the catamaran Resort!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have been bringing my kids to San Diego for the past 15 years. Every year we stay at the Catamaran Resort. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous, the food is wonderful and the staff is very friendly and helpful. This year we rented a ski boat and driver through the on property Resort Sports venue - our driver Joe was great and the kiddos had a blast. We also rented kayaks, stand up paddleboards and the FunCat to play around in the bay. The resort is a short 2 block walk to the ocean and always a relaxing day on the beach with the waves and boogie boards. I highly recommend the Catamaran Resort when booking a property in San Diego.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bay side are a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#98 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;