We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Trip and Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off Lowest Rates
Ranked #30 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Buena Park, California
1 review
“Fantastic Trip and Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The whole experience from start to finish was amazing. The restaurant and Mooray's lounge were great places to eat and hang out. The rental items were cool to go around the bay and paddleboard, take a bike to the beach or sail for a bit. Housekeeping kept our room very clean and fresh every day. I do not have one complaint about this resort for the 5 nights we stayed. We will recommend this place to everyone and will be back next year!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Bay are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    924
    504
    212
    96
    59
See reviews for
624
453
50
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clear Lake City, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We (family of 5) stayed at the Catamaran on the recommendation of friends who had stayed there a few years back. We were there 4 nights. The location was absolutely perfect as we went to Seaworld (10 minutes away) . . . USS Midway/Downtown Waterfront (20 minutes away) . . . San Diego Zoo (20 minutes away) . . . Coronado (25 minutes away) . . . La Jolla (5-10 minutes away) . . . Point Loma (15-20 minutes away) so we loved the location. The staff was very friendly and the food at the restaurant was average to above average (we only ate there twice). We had a Bayfront room and loved waking up to the sun coming up over Mission Bay and downtown in the distance. The Catamaran has been around awhile and therefore the negatives were that the room was musty smelling and the furniture dated. Onsite self parking is $17.50 per day (valet is $27.50 per day). Otherwise we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anybody with kids. Our kids loved playing with all the ducks that walk around the place. They also put out colorful McCaws & Parrots that talk and the kids enjoyed those as well.

Room Tip: Would recommend the Bayfront rooms for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just finished a week at the Catamaran Resort. The staff is outstanding, the amenities are terrific and there is NO resort fee. Excellent beach on Mission Bay with chairs and umbrellas set up each day for use. Location is great, middle of the Pacific Beach area! Restaurants were nice and well priced. The grounds are maintained beautifully with tropical birds brought out each day for viewing. Ducks roam the property all day long and there are multiple koi ponds. Pool area is large and well staffed.

We had a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I am rating my spa experience. Mariah assisted me in the spa and she was amazing! I highly recommend the catamaran's resort and Spa. The ambiance is tranquil and the customer service is above and beyond!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The location, service, price, and room was great. I have nothing bad to say about this place! Although I was there for a Board Meeting, I felt as if I was on vacation when I went back to the room. It was awesome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We would like to express our gratitude to all the staff especially Amber Kelly, Director of Catering from the first meeting to the evening of the reception did a magnificent job in bringing our Daughter's Wedding Reception to full fruition and making it so memorable for us and all our Guests. All your staff were so helpful and attentive.The Hotel was very inviting and theBay view was absolutely indescribable!! Thank you so very much, Amber for such a magnificent job!! I would certainly recommend choosing the Catamran for a Wedding Reception!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay are priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I recently spent two nights at the Catamaran and was blown away by the room we stayed in. We could step right out to the beach and bay, relax on our patio and could walk to many close destinations in the area. I loved the Polynesian vibe it had and would definitely stay there again. Big thanks to Charlotte Corvi and Melissa Armstrong who helped accommodate our trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#97 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.