We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off Lowest Rates
Ranked #34 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My second stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Love this resort! The property is beautiful, location perfect, staff awesome. Can't wait to go back. Rooms aren't overly fancy, but nice with great balconies...I'll be back soon. I luv luv luv San Diego!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    754
    453
    205
    90
    50
See reviews for
523
384
49
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

San Diego Magazine had our sales retreat in the penthouse of the Catamaran Resort & Spa. We had such a wonderful day. We had the best view in town, watching the sail boats and kayaks play in the bay. The staff at the Catamaran (including Taylor Nassar) took such great care of us. We had the healthy breakfast which was a delicious spread that we all enjoyed throughout the morning. For lunch they prepared delicious boxed lunches for us that we took down onto the grass and enjoyed under the palm trees. We had the perfect day with productive meeting time and a lot of fun. We ended the day with stand up paddle boarding. We all felt very spoiled and loved the opportunity to be out of the office spending it on their beautiful property!

I actually had such a great time, I returned within a week with my sister and kids. A great way to feel like you're on vacation in our own backyard. We paddle boarded and had lunch outside by the bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room: 9th floor of the tower, deluxe with king, decent size for two people, lighting wasn’t great in the room, noisy a/c. Balcony had a great view of the ocean and the hills.

Resort grounds: Absolutely beautiful! The bay was nice and clean. The birds, ducks and fish were beautiful, plenty of things to see and explore. Nice pool & spa.

The location: close to plenty of stores and restaurants, a block away from the beach. This is probably the only thing that made it worthwhile, this is what you are paying for.

Key card didn’t work a couple of times so I had to take it to the front desk and have them make it accessible, but it didn’t work either time. The front lobby staff wasn’t overly nice, not like I have read in other reviews, housekeeping didn’t arrive until 3:00, elevators are small and extremely slow.

I emailed their sales person a week ago but have not received a reply yet.

Overall, I was really disappointed in the room. It was not worth $570 for two nights. This is a great place to visit, even to just explore the grounds. Bay is open to the public. Probably won’t be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had a quick stopover here while on a tour of California. Great place! The bay view room was awesome. THe night lfe was also excellent! Lawrence (the concierge) was a highlight - he's a great guy and nothing is too much trouble for him! Really enjoyed our stay and would be very happy to go back again if we visit California in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of out 2 week honeymoon. On arrival after driving from LA we were pleased to find we could check in earlier then advertised. However once we got to our room we found we had 2 single beds, we returned to reception to explain this was our honeymoon and asked for a room with a double bed, we were told they could do this but only by basically downgrading us so we would have a view of the car park only and no self catering facilities! Needless to say we kept our single beds, kitchen and view of the bay. The hotel rooms are dated but were clean and spacious, though the air con unit was extremely noisy and had to be turned off at night in order to sleep. The reception area and grounds are lovely, the pool was quite busy with children but nice. The hotel location couldn't be better. The hotel bar was nice with a good cocktail menu but come the weekend was very busy and noisy with large groups. There is a nearby restaurant called World Famous that is worth visiting for breakfast/lunch/dinner/cocktails, food there was amazing! When we came to check out of the hotel we were disappointed they wouldn't do a late check out as we didnt fly until 9pm and advised we could pay to use the gym facility's if we wished to have a shower or just the one outside next to the pool. We would consider returning here but mostly for its location, I was overall slightly disappointed after having read some really good reviews prior to going.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I flew into San Diego early on Monday, they had upgraded us to a top floor king suite which was awesome! Honestly I love the location and the birds, tropical plants/flowers, the vibe of the room and the staff at the front desk! I disliked that they didn't have a designated swim time for adults only (couples with no kids can understand the need for relaxation and quiet without having children running and jumping into the jacuzzi) the blonde waitresses working breakfast were slow and rude since we had free breakfast coupons they didn't even bother with us, people with families used up the chairs that sit out at the bay by putting them out for their kids and using the towels as chair keepers but hey we all know kids love sitting in chairs, right?! The front desk staff were really nice and sent up a cheese and wine platter to our room for our anniversary and always asked how our stay was going. The bicycle shop across the lobby was nice also but it felt like I was signing my life away with all the rules and payment agreements. Overall I think I will return but in an off season where the room rates will go down and I can get a room with a bay view. The price was a little steep for us but we enjoyed the resort enough for it to not be an issue. I just hope they get the rooms cleaned up (furniture, bed linens, towels, curtains, and use some better shampoo and conditioner) before we go again because this is a nice place to stay but for the rate people are paying they want to see more quality products.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I loved the location perfect for walking to beach and dining, the grounds are beautiful, yes the rooms could use a remodel, but our room was clean, There is a nice bay area to sit, with beach chairs, and activities, This is where the problem was, we, me and my two daughters rented a sun fun small motorized boat for $40.00 and hour, the boat would not go forward only backwards and to the right or left by the time we realized it wasnt something we where not doing wrong we where in the middle of the bay, trying to get back to shore, we had to do this backwards, dodging sailboats and paddleboards, the guy at the dock saw us when we where 20 feet from shore and brought us a new boat, by then we where spent just trying to get back to shore so we just went in, When i checked out the next day and told then how awful it was, There answer, we have nothing to do with the water sports you have to talk to them, Really its on my bills so it dose have to do with you. NO HELP AT ALL!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Hotel
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego
Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
#97 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.