We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for business and family vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off Lowest Rates
Ranked #26 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location for business and family vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last week as my husband had a conference at this hotel. The one thing that struck me the most was the location. Parking can get expensive in San Diego
(up to $40 a night for some other hotels) , so being at walking distance from restaurants, the Mission Bay and Mission beach did not require us to book a rental car. The front desk staff and concierge were very helpful. Initially we had reserved a standard room near the parking lot. We were not too happy with the view (or the lack of it thereof) so we asked us for an upgrade. They offered us a bay facing room the very next day and charged us only 50% of the regular cost for upgrade. We loved the view from our new room as we could practically walk out to the calm waters and a great atmosphere of kids, family, water sports etc. Although the hotels rooms had a dated look, houeskeeping ensured the rooms were orderly and clean.

They have a bird show and several ducks, fishes in their little botanical garden. Great place to take pictures and relax when you are checking into the hotel.

You can practically take a boardwalk to some awesome restaurants (The Mission restaurant on San Jose Pl was our favourite for brunch). Some recommendations for dinning inlude Joe's Crab shack, World Famous (their Harpoon Combination is to die or), Fat Cat (great Lobster bisque) and Naraya (Thai cuisne).

I would definitely return to this resort! Highly recommend it for a family vacation.

The resort offeres a compliemntary ride aboard their Bahia Belle. It was fun dancing to Michael Jackson's tunes during our 1 hr ride. They have a bar on board as well.
I also worked out twice at the resort's fitness center. I am not to crazy about the spa so I skipped that one. We had breakfast once at Murray's (one of the resorts 2 restaurants). It was fine but the service was a tad bit slow.

All in all a great experience. I would defunitely recommended this for family and business.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    564
    227
    100
    63
See reviews for
674
519
61
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Island paradise close to home. As local San Diegans my husband and I had never stayed at the Catamaran but wanted an Hawaiian/Island feel for our wedding so we checked out the Catamaran and are so happy we did. We had a wedding on the south lawn with reception for 75 people. The staff, especially Amber, made our plans a wonderful reality. The attention to detail, help with the ceremony/reception set up and walk through of the wedding rehearsal were ideal for the DIY wedding we had. Our wedding was spectacular with the waterfall and tropical scenery perfect for all the photo ops. I had friends who saw the pics think we flew to Hawaii for our wedding. We got tons of compliments on the delicious buffet with island luau chicken, prime rib and sea bass. Edelweiss Bakery was great to work with through the Catamaran and we got a beautiful wedding cake customized for us included in the package. Room was spacious with full fridge perfect and kitchenette. We loved our stay, only wish the wedding and the weekend could last longer.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower had the best views and as long as you aren't by the elevator, pretty quiet ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed June 2014 at Catamaran Resort 1 week for family reunion. Last-minute room shuffling graciously accommodated at check-in desk. Exquisitely maintained tropical landscape on gated grounds/ security patrol. Immaculate room had every amenity. Helpful staff met every request for extra towels, etc. with a smile. Balcony had wide view of bay, beach, lawn, boardwalk, & nightly fireworks. Free beach chairs/umbrellas, video arcade & daily kid activities. Affordable rentals, (bike, boat, paddleboard) and luxurious spa. Easy walk to groceries, ocean surf , seaside boardwalk with wooden coaster /midway, restaurants, & night life.

Room Tip: 2-story bay side rooms were close to action and still private. Quiet bedroom separated from living a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Appreciated the opportunity to be "green" while on vacation. Hotel sets good example for younger generation.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was our third trip to the Catamaran Resort and it just keeps getting better every time! We were upgraded to the penthouse floor. The rooms are the same but the view is fantastic! I say it is better than ocean view because we had both an ocean view *and* a bay view, which were absolutely gorgeous (including a downtown skyline). At night, you could see all the lights plus those of the Belmont amusement park and Seaworld. Plus, at 10 PM, the Seaworld fireworks were perfectly visible. On Saturday evening, we also had a great view of the luau dancing. For us, it doesn't get better than that!

The rooms are furnished nicely and it is great to have a full kitchen when traveling with kids.

The pool/hot tub is great and you can enjoy a happy hour drink (happy hour is every day!) while sitting in the hot tub.

There is so much to do right around the hotel that you probably don't need to venture much further for days. The beach is a block away, the kids enjoyed swimming in the bay (parents enjoyed the comfy beach chairs),and there is lots of water equipment for rent. The grounds are full of koi, ducks, parrots and such and kids meals are reasonable and have a variety of kid-friendly choices.

It was hard for us to leave and we can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: If you love a view, try to get the penthouse floor that faces the bay!
See more room tips
Green Features: I think you have the option of not having your linens/towels changed, if you desire.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed her for six nights at the end off our road trip from SF to LA. Excellent hotel well worth a visit. Great service and friendly staff made our stay even better. Would deffinately return & reccomend.

Room Tip: Happy hour from 3-6 every day. Some good beers on offer. Get a bay view room. the view is amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I recently stayed at Catamaran on Mission Bay with my husband and 3 kids(12,10,5) Very family friendly. We had a suite that faced bayside. The kids could walk out and play in the grass while I sat on the balcony and relaxed! Nice little beach, great boardwalk-not as busy as on the ocean side. Great location-we could walk to restaurants and stores. We had a fantastic view every night of the fireworks from Sea World. Staff was very friendly . We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant one morning and it was great. Rooms were clean and a good size for 5 people. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Bayside rooms offer a beautiful view and June through September you can see the fire works nightly f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Pleasant people working at the hotel, very helpful always available. Property is gorgeous well kept. Spotless grounds.
Rooms clean and spacious with king size bed. Plenty of chnnels on the TV flat screen.
Highly rexommend just for the ease of places to eat and drink cocktails.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed the garden room I had. Easy access to the front desk, restaurant and pool. Hot tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#96 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.