We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU WANT A RESTFUL TRIP” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 269 hotels in San Diego
california
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU WANT A RESTFUL TRIP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel June 8 through the 11th, 2013. It was recommended as a great place for families, however, its a place for loud, obnoxious partygoers. Upon arriving, the grounds were reminiscent of Hawaii (very nice). The pool was well maintained, but once we checked into our rooms we realized that maintenance was lacking. The tub wouldn't hold water, scuff marks all over the walls and corners, toilet needed to be replaced (scratched, worn and peeling), and worst of all...the showers only provided mildly lukewarm water. The first night of our stay, the noise of the parties started around 12:15am (probably after last call at the bar), the screaming, laughing, banging of doors, running around didn't stop until 4am. We called the front desk 2 times but nothing was ever done to stop the noise from our neighbors and their 20+ hotel room guests. They should book families into rooms certain areas so we don't have to hear the loud "middle of the night" partying. My only compliment was that The Atoll restaurant provided great service all 3 times we dined there. Never again, will we stay at this place and we certainly can't recommend it to anyone else. Oh, we mentioned the noise issues and lack of hot water issues for both of our rooms to the front desk, their response was indicative of employees who have "heard these issues before" and were dismissive of our concerns.

Room Tip: ask to be in a corner room, far away from any noise
See more room tips
Green Features: the only environmental-friendly advertising was that if you hang up your towel, they'll not change it. Hello, that was a practice in the 1980s. I can say, that my dirty robe that I spilled soda on and left on the floor was simply picked up by housekeeping and put back on the rack dirty
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, General Manager at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are terribly sorry we were unable to deliver the restful experience you were hoping for on your recent visit. We do staff 24/7 security to maintain a peaceful, secure environment for our guests. Unfortunately there are times we are unaware of particular disturbances until we are notified. We are sorry we were not there when you needed assistance.
Guest Room maintenance is a priority for our staff. In addition to call staff to repair items that malfunction, we perform complete preventative maintenance 1.5 times a year for each room.
It saddens us we were unable to meet your expectations I hope we may provide you a higher level of service on your next visit. Please feel free to contact me or the hotel directly so we may discuss your observations further. We look forward to hearing from you.
Mike Staples, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    845
    490
    210
    95
    52
See reviews for
575
425
50
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Catamaran is in the perfect location in Mission Beach. The resort is on the bay and its across the street from the ocean. There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance. Another plus is a Ralph's grocery store is no more than a 10 minute walk. The resort grounds are beautiful and well kept. The staff is excellent! The walkway around the bay is really nice. The hotel room was very clean but the decor needs updating...they have a retro feel from the 80's. Overall, i would recommend the resort...you just can't beat the location!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

From the moment we arrived until checking out we were treated with the utmost professionalism and courtesy by the well chosen and well trained staff. Our room was in the tower and the view was amazing. Tracey Amernick and the banquet staff created two gorgeous wedding events which we witnessed from our balcony. We saw them in action and everything was impressively orchestrated. No wonder the Catamaran is such a popular wedding venue and not just for the view.
Can't wait to return. Until then, we can picture the view of the Bay in our minds.
Frank J and RR

Room Tip: Tower rooms facing the Bay have amazing views even on lower floors.
See more room tips
Green Features: As good as I've seen anywhere. Encourages towel and linen re-use and has recycle container.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Second time I have stayed here...fantastic experience both times. Friendly staff, great location and excellent value for money.

We arrived late and were tired. It was a lovely surprise to find out that we had been upgraded. Will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

For my birthday my sister took me to the Catamaran Hotel Spa to get away for a mini vacation. It was one of the most relaxing days I've had in a while since it's hard for me to get away from my little ones. I loved the tropical ambiance of the hotel from the moment we walked in and I saw the beautiful waterfall/pond in their main lobby. Even though it was a little bit of a walk to finally find the spa it was well worth it. We checked in before our appointments so we could enjoy the day by the pool/beach. We were checked in very promptly and given a nice little tour of the facilities then escorted to our lockers. My sister had a facial while I had a massage from Sara. The massage I had was extremely relaxing and made me feel like a new woman. After our treatments we just lounged around the spa and by their pool. The pool was a little too busy so we mainly stayed by the jacuzzi inside of the spa. Once it was time to go we took showers and got ready for dinner. I really liked the fact that the receptioist Nicole remembered my sister and I without having to ask for our names again. Their staff was very attentive; including the young lady in the locker rooms (I can't quite remember her name but she had short black hair). I definitely recommend their spa espeically if you live in the area!

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel, I live in La Jolla.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Beautiful resort, great accommodations, and a room with a koi pond outside the patio. Very enjoyable, food and drinks at the restaurants were great, wonderful views and very friendly people. Cruised in the Bahia Belle around the bay at night, very fun. Would highly recommend staying at this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the bay, or the tropical setting around the koi and duck ponds really add value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

While in San Diego for our granddaughter's college graduation we stayed at the Catamaran Resort. There were 13 of us including two very young children. This was the perfect spot for a family with different interests. The grounds are beautiful. It is located on the bay which makes it nice for paddle boarding, sailing, etc. There are rentals of bikes and other "toys" on or near the property. The staff is friendly and very helpful arranging transportation etc. We really enjoyed the Macaw show. You really feel you are on a tropical vacation when you step into the lobby, or stroll through the grounds.

Room Tip: A garden view room on a higher floor in the tower will still give you a wonderful view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#98 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.