We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Carol Stream, Illinois, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My daughter & I had a get away and we are glad we stayed here. San Diego is great- the resort is a bit old but has comfy rooms with a kitchen. The landscaping is beautiful & tropical. There are many ponds with beautiful fish, ducks & many ducklings as well as tropical birds. The location is perfect if you want to relax & walk to everything- Pacific Beach 1 block east & the resort on the bay. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    845
    490
    210
    95
    52
See reviews for
575
425
50
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I spent my 60th birthday at this fantastic resort. My husband, my sons, my daughter- in- law and my girlfriend who was also celebrating her birthday joined me for my birthday celebration. I got three bay front rooms which had great views of mission bay. I loved it. The grounds were beautiful. My girlfriend and I received complimentary fruit and cheese baskets because it was our birthdays. How special is that! Also everyone in our party received a coupon for a free breakfast the following morning. The staff were friendly and very helpful. They made my 60th birthday very memorable. We also had a spa day the following day at their fabulous spa. It was very enjoyable and relaxing. I plan on returning every year to this beautiful resort. Two Thumbs Up!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I am an avid brunch fan and recently got to try out the Sunday brunch at the Catamaran. The food selection was fantastic, especially if you're a seafood lover! The service and staff at the Atoll restaurant was friendly and attentive, making it a very enjoyable meal.

I have also worked with the Catamaran on multiple occasions for work conferences. Melissa Armstrong, the sales manager, was great to work with and very helpful during my visits. I highly recommend the resort for personal and professional gatherings and cannot thank Melissa enough for all of her assistance!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I run an annual conference and we have used the Catamaran Hotel for several of our conferences. The service has been great and their attention to detail was extraordinary. We had receptions, lunches and breaks scheduled as part of the 3 day conference and the quality of food and the professionalism of their staff was one the best I have seen in the industry. My point of contact was Melissa Armstrong, and she was an absolute pleasure to work with. She kept an open communication with me throughout the contract process as well as during the conference. I have worked with her for several years and look forward to our conference at the Catameran this October.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I've been directly and indirectly involved in attending events and hosting events at the Catamaran for over 15 years and highly recommend them and their family of hotels (Bahia and Lodge) because they treat you like FAMILY!!!. I've worked with the same staff for years (hint-it must be a great place to work) and they remember your name and treat you like royalty! My 'planning' contact is Melissa Armstrong and I really appreciate that she's been able to help me work out the details of the various events I coordinate. She's attentive to her client's needs and always been treats like I am a special customer. I'm a 'foodie' and love the Sunday Brunch! Nothing like having an event or staying at a location where you feel like you are on a tropical island (a perfect place for a 'stay-cation'!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My parents come to visit a few times a year and I always put them up in hotels by the beach. This time they stayed at the Catamaran and loved it. Melissa Armstrong took fantastic care of them and put them in a great room right by the water. The property is well maintained and relaxing. My folks have already said they would like to stay there again on their next trip.

Room Tip: Its worth the upgrade for the rooms on the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was our second time staying at the hotel and we had a total of 11 people in our party. We had coordinated a dinner in their private room with catering manager Brian to celebrate our daughter's college graduation. The service, food and atmosphere were all excellent. Fantastic job by Brian, Brad and Denise. Also a great shout out to Alan at the Conceirge Desk! Everyone in our party commented on what a nice place it was to stay and relax!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

Address: 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#98 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOT Tip: Like the Catamaran Resort on Face Book and save up to 15% off the best available rates. The Catamaran’s 313 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world’s largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. Enjoy marvelous views of the California coastline or stunning city skyline from every part of our beach resort. In San Diego, activities and local attractions are never far away. Visit the world famous San Diego Zoo, historic Old Town, and SeaWorld. Whether staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you’ll experience San Diego, one of Southern California’s most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catamaran Hotel Mission Bay
Catamaran Resort & Spa San Diego
Catamaran Resort San Diego
Catamaran San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.